We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gulshan - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gulshan
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Par, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Repeat visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We often go to the Gulshan for a family meal when my brother comes to visit and last night's meal didn't disappoint - tasty food, good service, friendly staff and with a recent refurb which gave more room what more could you ask for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice food, indifferent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We'd booked a table for five but this seemed to come as a surprise to the staff. We dealt with putting another chair on the end of a table for four but had to ask for cutlery etc as the waiter did not seem to pre-empt this need! However, the food was good and tasty, with substantial portions (one rice between two more than adequate). Once we had finished we sat for some while awaiting suggestion of coffee/pudding but no-one came near us so in the end we asked for the bill, paid and went.
Nice food, indifferent customer service, which is rather a shame.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank J059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Probus, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ordered a lamb korma and keema nan, nan was just edible after I picked off the burnt bits and if that was lamb I'm the grand wizard of Umigumgum land.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Started with poppadoms which came with seven different pickles, then had superb king prawn dansak. Service was very friendly, and recent refurb has lifted Gulshan to the top of my "must eat there" list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK but poor attention to detail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ordered a takeaway but the vegetable curry was left out of the order - I ordered a biryani. So my meal was spoiled and the only redress was a promise to give me a vegetable curry free next time! The food is good but the service needs improvement. I have even found the staff on the phone unable to recognise dishes that I have requested because they're unfamiliar with the menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulshan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing