We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, reluctant to review incase it gets...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sumptuous sofas, a granite fireplace & log burner (freeview TV/Dvd & free Wi-Fi too).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sumptuous sofas, a granite fireplace & log burner (freeview TV/Dvd & free Wi-Fi too).
The cottage is tucked away in a quiet lane off the village square. The open plan lounge, with original beams, & solid oak staircase.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sumptuous sofas, a granite fireplace & log burner (freeview TV/Dvd & free Wi-Fi too).
The cottage is tucked away in a quiet lane off the village square.
The open plan lounge, with original beams, & solid oak staircase.
The kitchen was completely re-fitted in 2013.
The SMEG fridge-freezer has oodles of space for your BBQ fare, & drinks rack too!
The bright and fresh master bedroom.
Snuggle into the king size bed (5ft) with crisp Egyptian cotton linen.
Two spacious single bedrooms, (solid oak 'ledge & brace' doors lead into each room)
The second single bedroom (n.b. there are wardrobes in all bedrooms).
The west facing conservatory is perfect for afternoon cream tea.
Private courtyard garden to rear of cottage ideal for BBQ's. Church bells on Sunday mornings too!
Fairies in the garden x.
The pretty courtyard garden enjoys the afternoon sun.
The window seat is a cosy spot to watch the horse riders go by.
The upstairs bathroom has a shower over bath, shaver socket, & heated towel rail.
Meet the resident duck family x.
A double-sized powerful shower downstairs (not power shower but direct from boiler)
The cottage is close to a 15th century church, with the highest bell tower in Cornwall!
A farm shop with home-made pasties & cafe with Aga baked cakes on the doorstep
Portholland, one of many sandy beaches in the area, with wonderful rock pools too!
Full selection of local maps & guides to ensure you make the most of every moment!
Little extras await your arrival e.g. teas, coffee, milk, and a scrummy surprise too.
Our summer flower baskets at the front of the cottage are a feast of colour!
We hope to welcome you soon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Probus, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HayleySha...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, reluctant to review incase it gets over booked!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed last year and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Cornwall now. Has everything you need and more, my daughter says it's like staying in a dolls house as everything is so pretty! We love "living in a village", no other tourists around that we would spot. Playground is five minutes walk and well equipped, farm shop has amazing lamb and bacon, the Nisa had everything you might forget to buy, and the pub was a welcome retreat at the end of the day. For families we enjoyed shops in Falmouth, Springfields Pony Farm, Pendennis Castle and St Ives. Thank you Lucy for looking after us so well x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
It’s our pleasure to accommodate such a lovely family, and thank you so much for booking your 2015 summer holiday with us! We will be really looking forward to welcoming you back again. Probus is a lovely village and we are so glad you enjoy visiting as much as we love living here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Central location to explore Cornwall”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have had a great week here at Waterlily Cottage. We have stayed in Probus several times now and this is by far the best we
have stayed in. Very comfortable and clean. Many thanks for the welcome Lucy and for the cream teas. Best wishes. Paul and
Jean."

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The best holiday cottage in the village is very high praise indeed – thank you! We hope to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21Flo76
Rouen, France
1 review
“a very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Waterlily cottage is perfectly located to explore the area which offers so many pretty spots to discover. You can also very easily go to Truro for shopping.
The cottage is very comfortable and decorated with very refined taste in soft relaxing colours, but we found the lounge was a little too dark and maybe needed brighter lights. We found loads of touristic information and books that we found very useful to avoid missing interesting places to visit.
The village was very friendly and quiet.
We really appreciated the Cornish cream teas waiting for us on the day of our arrival (a very good way of making us, French people, discover one of the most famous Cornish specialities!)
I wish I could have met Lucy as she sounded so nice on the phone!
A lot of little thoughtful details made us feel at home immediately. We will surely recommend Waterlily Cottage to all our England-loving French friends.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
What a fantastic review – thank you! We would love to welcome your friends to Waterlily Cottage one day and hope to welcome you back at some point too. We are continually looking at ways to enhance our guest’s stay at the cottage and we will look at ways of improving the lighting in the lounge in due course. We are so pleased you enjoyed your traditional Cornish Cream Tea. The local village pub, The Hawkins Arms, also sell a selection of locally brewed Cornish Ales which you may like to sample on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, they've thought of everything”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

"What a wonderful cottage 'Waterlily' is! I'm sure the Owner/Housekeeper could not have thought of anything else to improve our comfort and convenience. Delightful pictures, cushions and ornaments which all add to the cottage's charm. We also enjoyed the scones and coffee on our arrival and soon the local fish and chips. Later in the week the 'pizza gentleman' provided us with very tasty pizzas! The superb scenery and gorgeous weather means we leave with reluctance! Thank you!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, the through room downstairs, and the main bedroom
Liked least: Parking outside the door could not be guaranteed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Waterlily Holiday Cottage and thank you very much for your lovely review. Next time you visit you could maybe try the homemade pasties from the village Farm Shop or treat yourselves to lunch at Time Café (recently awarded Gold in Taste of the West 2014)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V2235UUJo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Waterlilly cottage allowed us to explore Cornwall extensively.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Waterlilly cottage was an excellent base, especially to come back to after a hard day visiting the many attractions that we were able to reach. We used both our own and public transport to get around without problem. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well appointed, although my wife did say she would have liked the use of a wok and a flexible spatula. We never did get to meet Lucy but she sounded lovely on the phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments and also for the suggestions of additional kitchen equipment - which we will now invest in. I would have loved to have met you, it was just unfortunate that on the occasions I called in to Waterlily Cottage you were out exploring and enjoying Cornwall! Hopefully we will welcome you back to Waterlily again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Missing out on the Farm shop pasties because we got up too late!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
I am so glad you had such a great holiday and thank you for your lovely comments. Another great multi-use trail you may like to try on your next visit to Cornwall is The Camel Trail, which provides access to the beautiful Cornish countryside along a disused railway line between Bodmin, Wadebridge and Padstow. Enjoy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve B
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely break”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Waterlily last summer. We really appreciated the homemade cupcakes which where waiting for us on arrival, they were delicious washed down with a cup of tea!

The cottage is furnished to a very high standard, it even has a Smeg fridge/freezer. The master bedroom is spacious with a very comfortable king size bed. The house is full of its original character and has an impressive granite fireplace.

The village is very friendly, and you'll find more horses go past the cottage than cars!!!! The kitchen is well-equipped, supplies can be found in the village square shops including a farm shop (which sells amazing pasties) and a convenience store. The village also contains other essentials for a the perfect holiday, a pub, chippy, Indian restaurant and a coffee shop.

It's a great base to use for exploring Cornwall, there's so much on the doorstep. The best bit is coming back and having a relaxing drink or two in the private suntrap garden - we even managed a BBQ!

In short we had a perfect holiday and are planning to go back this April.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Having to leave!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. As you liked the village pasties so much, we have now included a pasty trail in our Welcome Folder, so you can sample some more delicious homemade pasties while you are exploring Cornwall!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing