We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Gardens Apartments
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Roda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have just returned from 10 idyllic days at The Blue Gardens and again we were not disappointed. We haven't been to The Blue Gardens for 3 years but from arrival to departure we were treated like old friends. We were more than a little surprised and disappointed to read the recent poor reviews of this little piece of heaven in Corfu, as it certainly doesn't reflect our experiences.

The cleaner definitely always mopped our apartment floors after sweeping and our fridge was left alone just as we set it. In fact, if we left any cups not washed she would do them for us.

If the price of food is not what you want to pay, wander into the village and eat, as for walking back in the dark, get a cab back!

We have always found Andreas and Elena to be a genuine couple who are interested in their guests as people, not just for their custom. The whole family are friendly and go out of their way to catch up with you each day and ensure everything's ok.

We would definitely recommend these apartment to anyone looking for a nice relaxing time in a lovely semi rural setting.

I think the majority of reviews bear this out.

Thank you Andreas, Elena and Costas for a lovely time xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soolooSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Blue Gardens Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

arived on the1st sept. looked nice. then the family from newcastle from hell arived all 12 of them. and we were put in a appartment next door to the worst couple with one child constantly screaming shouting. hence
parents shouting .screaming swearing.and allways drunk. which leads me on to elenna.?? we complained ( a few hrs sleep most nights), after they left (cheering & claping) even the cleaner was thank god they gone to us.first week awfull. now week 2, we said to elenna we hope our second week would be better.not for us she said! elenna only likes you iff you spend lots of euros. as in crazy family. then she is hello how are you and thats that.food was ok iff you want to spend 11 pounds on a sunday roast (a few slices of beef&frozen veg. snacks ok3_5 pounds. pool very dirty(bottom). booked blue garden appartments on exellent reviews. as we have been to many expensive& cheep holidays around the world. this is by far the worst. roda is very very nice beach also nice, places to eat plenty. we went to 5 roses to every night top marks.
hired a car via elenna arrived was a shed on wheels. looking forward to roda next time but not the elenna blue garden appartments !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We chose this accommodation based purely on the reviews shown here. I had very high expectations and was really looking forward to a perfect holiday, however we were left feeling bitterly disappointed and let down.
We were put in the annexe block which is a short walk from the main complex and is nice looking. Our place was a spacious 2 bed and on first impressions seemed lovely.
After our first disastrous evening (more of that later) we went to bed. It soon became apparent that the walls are paper thin. On one side of us was 'the honeymoon apartment' try explaining those noises to a child. And on the other side was a duplex apartment- so when the guests rolled in at half one we could hear every word and were treated to them clanking up and down the metal stairs in their apartment every night.

The apartments are also unbelievably hot in August and there is no air con. We paid for the fans in both rooms but these are fixed so high up on the wall they can't be angled down onto the bed. The beds are also rock hard and I'm still suffering with a bad back now. We paid to use the mosquito nets which are in situ in all the bedrooms. They are thick polyester net which doesn't let a breath of air through once you're inside them. Add to this a plastic mattress protector under you and you're in for a sticky night or a bitten night. The net for the double bed doesn't close properly as it isn't big enough so we had to use several safety pins to close the gap. The fan is noisy but thankfully this drowns out the barking dogs in the next field. We didn't have one decent nights sleep the whole time.
.
The maid comes in daily to turn your fridge down to 1 and make your bed, the floor was swept but never mopped and made our feet black which made the bath mat pretty grim after 2 weeks as it wasn't changed. The fridge was rusty inside, had a broken door shelf and had no door on the ice box. We had to defrost it ourselves. The plug sockets set into the headboards were hanging out revealing the wiring when we arrived. We told Elena and when she came to look she accused us of breaking them. They had no screws in them!

We arrived late in the evening after a 3 hour delay and went straight to the restaurant for some food as we were tired. There were no fresh veg just a bit of salad and chips. My young son had a glass of iced water and as he lifted the straw to his lips the condensation on the outside of the glass meant that it slipped out of his hands and landed on the glass topped table causing both the glass and the table top to break. We were mortified, we'd only just arrived and were really embarrassed by the accident. Elena, who is English, rushed over and was more concerned with her table than our son. We apologised profusely and asked if we should pay for the damage. She was very cold and just said 'we'll talk about it in the morning'. The next day nothing was said but from then on Elena and Andreas were very distant with us and made us feel very uncomfortable.

We thought we'd go to the BBQ night even though it was 14€ each with no child price. I can honestly say it was horrible. A small pork kebab, tiny chicken drumstick, half a Greek sausage and a thin potato cake/burger. There was salad on a table but they ran out of lettuce and didn't produce any more for us. No drinks were included and when she came round with cake, that was extra. We then felt pressured into playing 'silly bingo' at 2€ a person - this was excruciatingly awful with Elena just asking easy questions and choosing her favourites to go up and have a shot. The whole night cost us 80€! We had some amazing food in Roda and it averaged about 45€ for the 4 of us with 2 courses and drinks.

The day before we left Elena called me over and presented me with a bill for the table top. Where was this friendly, helpful woman everyone talks about? She was cold and intimidating and all done with a fake smile on her face. We were really shocked and had no choice but to pay.
I love Roda and have been before, but there are so many other lovely apartments where you don't get treated this way and are nearer the centre. It is a dangerous road to walk down to the beach and town, especially at night. It takes a good ten -fifteen minutes to walk from the annexe too. These apartments are nothing special and if your child is unfortunate enough to have an accident and break something then they will squeeze every last euro out of you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mrs_pocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We chose blue gardens purely because of their trip advisor rating and reviews and im pleased to say they lived up to them. The apartments are just out of town but even with two small children (2 & 4) the walk down and back up was fine (5 to 10 mins) The self catering apartments were ideal for our holiday needs and were cleaned well every day. Our boys loved the swimming pool which was very child friendly and was cleaned daily, there was also a separate pool for the toddlers and inflatables available for the kids to use. Elena, Andreas, Marianthi and Costas were perfect hosts with great knowledge of the island and would go out of their way to help and make the stay enjoyable . I cant recommend Blue Gardens highly enough and the fact the their guests go back year after year speaks volumes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at Blue Gardens for two weeks with our children 11 and 6. After a difficult airport transfer (thanks for nothing, Cosmos) we received a fantastic welcome from Elena, Andreas and their daughter Marianthi, who helped our children settle in. We immediately felt relaxed and for the next two weeks our hosts, plus the two dads, were unfailingly polite, good humoured and helpful.
Our apartment was spacious with two balconies, the furthest from the pool. It was cleaned every day and had everything we needed. We hired the mosquito nets, but were still bitten - but then it's Greece in August so no real surprise there. The pool and bar area were also spotless, served great food and drinks all day and provided a safe and secure environment to potter around in for our youngest. The pool is great for children and adults - it could get a little raucous at times but there were also lengthy quiet periods and it was no problem getting sunbeds and umbrellas.
Elena and Andreas provided several themed evenings ie Greek night, quizzes, silly bingo and others. There was no pressure on anyone to take part but these evenings provided some of the happiest memories of our holidays - Rachel's 40th birthday night was unforgettable. Every night in the bar was made memorable by the great Kostas, who will serve till last person stands and is full of interesting information, from the local weather forecast to the potted history of Corfu.
Roda is a ten minute walk away down a narrow road without pavements - this is rural Corfu and if all the usual precautions are taken it shouldn't be a problem. The town itself is relatively small but with lots of restaurants and bars. We can honestly say we didn't have a bad meal, the particular favourite being Roda Park, which serves wonderful Greek food and is great value.
Roda beach is sandy and clean and the sea is warm, shallow and clear - again, perfect for our 6 year old.
So we would recommend Blue Gardens without reservation for young families like ourselves and thank all of the family for helping to give us our most relaxing holiday ever.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem great and are all within 100 yards of the pool and bar.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkGarvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Once again we have had a brilliant holiday in Corfu. Thanks to Andreas, Elena, Marianthi, Costas and the two dads. The food was brilliant and the rooms are very clean. We have been going to Blue Gardens for the last seven years and can't wait to go back next year for our Ruby wedding anniversary. We always have a great time and everyone makes our holiday superb every year. Counting down the days until we go back in 2014!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our 3rd year at Blue Gardens and it was "perfect"just like the two times before. The apartment was spotless the food was home cooked and delicious, Andreas Elena Marianthi and the two dads make you feel like one of the family from the minute you arrive. The pool though shallow in some areas is just brilliant to cool off in, and a friendly game of volleyball is a welcome change. The large mythos are wonderfully cold and refreshing especially with a club sandwich in the afternoon, though the husband would recommend the huge breakfast. The children are well catered for too. We are definitely planning to go again! Thank you all of you. Louise and boys

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobylou028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#2 of 15 in Roda
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#1 of 15 in Roda
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ninos On The Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 20 in Acharavi
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 15 in Roda
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roda Beach Resort & Spa
Roda Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Karousades
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gardens Apartments

Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Roda
Price Range: £17 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Gardens Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Gardens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Gardens Apartments Hotel Roda
Blue Gardens Apartments Roda, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing