We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V & B”
Review of Afrodite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afrodite Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“V & B”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great resort but the hotel was lacking in many areas--except it's position. Staff were surly, perhaps end of season itis?

The extras - air-con, fridge and safe were a shock--should have been included in price.

The restaurant attached to hotel (at end of road) was very good and the staff there were really friendly, serving great food.
Hardly a "kalemera" or smile from those running the store below.

Breakfasts in the hotel were "bloating". Huge white powdered baps processed meats/cheese and the inevitable BOILED EGGS--if I see another one I'll cluck.
Where do they get the idea Brits like boiled eggs EVERY morning.There was no variety at all. A simple buffet type breakfast would have been good.

Stayed on many Greek isles in similar hotels where the service & friendliness have made up for other shortcomings---sadly not here. A real shame as the position of the hotel saved the holiday for us.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms very good--even tho' on road--very little noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    98
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
176
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from a week at the Afrodite and we did have a wonderful holiday, however, this hotel we chose was quite mediocre and our week was saved 100% only by its fantastic location. Its set right on the beach and our Sea View Room could not have been nearer and the views were amazing.

The Hotel did not fulfil its promise of being a friendly hotel - indeed, the staff and I guess the management (who never did introduce themselves I'm just guessing they were) were quite surly and miserable - even in the shop they apparently owned under the hotel. We weren't made to feel welcome at any time, not even at check-in. No one was ever around on reception, the bar staff were quite sullen and the only life was the TV and perhaps the Pool bar lady. Just no enthusiasm or energy at all, or even a smile.

We were very disappointed with the quality of the breakfast (we booked B&B as we like eating around) this consisted of a table-served massive processed white bread roll, packet toast, processed cheese slice and processed ham slice with orange squash. Could have had a nice buffet table with maybe some fruit & yoghurt? We had this for a couple of days then gave up and walked the hundred yards into the village to enjoy a good fresh fry-up. We did try eating in the snack bar once next door for lunch and our pitta bread was very burnt - why didn't they see that?! No apology and the service was very reluctant to say the least - don't they want people in their bar/restaurant? We did also notice that their menu prices were higher than other tavernas/bars in the village, no idea at all why that should be, but cynically all Guests are offered 15% off in them!

All in all, in a great location, Roda is fabulous resort with some gorgeous bars and tavernas (Roxannes/Skouna/Pirates are great), but don't expect anything from this Hotel other than a base - its right next to the bus stop and taxi rank. We've experienced much better around Corfu (Costas Golden Beach in Agios Georgiou North - superb in every way and the same price).

Don't usually have negatives, but sorry Afrodite, you need to try harder.

Room Tip: Sea View room for the views, if you want sun on your balcony ask for a pool view - you can't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kitkatsunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

just come back the afro,20/sept 13.my wife and i loved it,the staff would do anything to help you have a great time.we went b/b for 7 days.cont/breaky was the biggest bread roll i have had.you can get english breaky for extra price 3.5 euros.so we ate out all the time the best food and value for money was next door.you get 15% off your meal and drink to.the skinny birds waitresses lol.eirini and alketa were realy good .they recommended the sophrito local corfu diceif u like beef this dish was wow.all the food was realy good,as was the service.rooms very nice and cleaned every day. our room was 32 road side to noisey for me,you want a seaview room lot better.the receptionist lady (was a bit on the lazy side)not realy,lol.they all work realy hard.the pool is a bit on cool side,but very nice with the weather is so hot.try the fresh fruit salad with ice cream very nice.things to hire a/con 55 euros for week,fridge 10 euros a week,no hair dryer in the room.take mossy spray you carnt see the little ******.itsnot bad with them,just a little annoying.ideal for the older couple very relaxing,no entertainment.there are so many return guest's so that tells you how good this hotel is .tranfer from airport is off putting about corfu.it takes 1hour 50 mins,but the country side is very nice see.but i have never seen so many empty house's and unfinished and derilict ones as well.

Room Tip: seaview room r best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidplumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester, uk
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went to this hotel for the last week in August, first week in September and had a great time at this hotel.
We arrived very early on the Tuesday, word of warning, night flights are horrendous, and without a doubt you can almost guarantee that a screaming child will be in the seat behind you!!
The transfer takes a long time, perhaps it wouldn't be so bad during the day as you could sit back and admire the view but at night it seems to take forever to get there.

Once we were at the hotel we were quickly checked into our room by the 'night guy', and as booked we got a sea view room which is just as i wanted, a great view of the sea just across the road, in my mind definately worth the money. I thought our room was lovely, very clean and had everything you wanted, plenty of electric sockets, fridge etc. I thought that the beds were ok. Not quite as hard as other beds i have slept in in Greece! At least my arms didn't go dead at night.
The bathroom to my mind could do with a bit of updating, i was pleased to see it had a small bath which i did use, but i do think the tiles could do with a scrub with a bit of bleach, my only real gripe with the room.
We didn't have the air conditioning as we did get a nice breeze off the sea and our room was never in direct sunlight so it wasn't too bad however,i heard that the air-conditioning wasn't too expensive and i would of had it it was a bit too unbearable.
The price for the safe and fridge was only 35euros for 2 weeks which i thought was really good. I have been to other greek hotels where the cost for this was a lot more.

The breakfast was ok, fairly standard although i was surprised that they didn't have a buffet as i can only imagine that they have alot of waste. The price for the full english breakfast if you wanted it was really cheap and it was excellent, we went next door to Big Bens one morning but thought it wasnt as good as the hotels. I can see why they just do breakfast for an hour, but then we missed it a couple of days as we wanted a lay-in after a lot of late nights!!

The afroditi pool area was ok, maybe slightly smaller than i imagined but plenty of sunbeds. Unfortunately my husband was one of the ones who got up early to put our towels out (sorry!) we did like to be in a specific area and next to our friends!
The food at the pool bar was excellent and well priced with 10% off, total bargain! You could also get a discount for food at the hotel bar at the front, also very good.
Afroditi was a lovely lady and on our last day brought as a drink! she works very hard..nice to see her daughter making friends with the hotel young guests in the pool.

The hotel 'taverna' adjoined to the hotel was absolutely brilliant. We ate there alot mainly because the food was consistent and very good. You also got a 15% discount for eating in there and it made eating out a total bargain, with an average meal and wine at around 25 euros i really don't think you can argue with that, must be the cheapest place to eat in Greece!!
We did try other restaurants around Roda but we were aware of the restaurants close to the seafront being full of Mosquitos, which did put us off a bit, as i don't like being eaten alive much!

What really made our holiday were the people we met here. The hotel is full of return visitors and it gives the hotel a real 'warm' and friendly atmosphere. We had never been here before but we can see the attraction of people coming back time and again. We met a lovely (mad) couple from Stoke who became good friends, we ended up eating out with them most nights, it was a very sad moment when they left before us.A couple of lads from Wales and a couple from Glasgow (and sunderland!!) Meeting all of these people really made our holiday special, maybe the fact that hotel mainly have Thomson 'occupy' the hotel makes a big difference, not to many Germans or russians etc.. maybe a horrible thing to say, but i do think that having mainly brits did make the difference to the atmoshphere around.

We liked Roda itself. A small village really but had a good enough selection of places to eat the usual shops and everything you should need. We hired a car from Dromeus (?) along the main strip, we got a great deal on a cabriolet to drive around for 3 days, and the lady we met when we picked up the car couldn't of been more helpful. Having driven around the to other northern resorts we feel we definatly picked the right place.

I daresay without a doubt that we will be back, why not? maybe even next year perhaps to annoy that other couple we met..!!
If we did go back, i might be inclined to make sure we get a day flight and even perhaps book a taxi transfer as i think it might be worth the money.

Room Tip: Definately pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fifitrixie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If your looking for a relaxing holiday in Corfu the Hotel Afroditi is the place to be. Just come back from our second 2 weeks this year and already booked already for 2 weeks next year,It is a family run hotel the pool has a bar run by one of the owners daughter Afroditi and does lovely snacks especially her fresh fruit salad. You are made to feel very welcome and they can't do enough for you. The Afroditi has it own restaurant and residents get a 15% meal discount and has a good menu selection. Also 10% off snacks at the pool bar and the hotel bar which does a good selection of bar snacks.

George and Maureen Dickinson
17.09.2013

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dickii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My girlfriend and I (28 & 23) stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of August. Here's our opinion:


FIRST IMPRESSIONS:

The hotel is an hour (ish) from the airport, it's main selling point is it's location - right on the beach. We had a room on the side (could see a bit of the sea) and there is a bit of a green view and wasn't too bad but I'm sure the sea front rooms would give a bit more of a 'wow' factor. We were greeted at the front desk by a nice enough chap who told us all we needed to know.


FACILITIES AND SERVICES:

Air con is chargeable at the hotel for 35 euros per week and you would need to rent the fridge for 10 euro a week (this is not a self catering hotel, do not expect self catering facilities), and there is also the option for a safe (unsure on price, believe 5 - 15 euros). There is a lift and the hotel has 3 floors (including the ground floor, of course).

When leaving the hotel you are expected to leave your key at reception, they ensure you do this by making the heaviest keyring you will come across! This would be no problem, however the reception is very rarely manned after 6pm and although I would not expect any problems (It's not that kind of resort), it just seems a bit off to me. Oh well.

There is a pool, pool bar, main bar and an attached restaurant.

ROOM

If you've ever stayed in a hotel in Greece then there will be no surprises here! Basic but clean and a perfectly reasonable amount of space. There is a good sized wardrobe with hangers, 2 bedside tables with draws and another dressing table with good sized mirror. The bathroom was small but adequate with a shower above the bath (so small that you won't actually be able to have a bath!). The rooms were tidied daily. I say tidied as they were not cleaned more than once a week (towels changed every couple of days).

The bed, however, was solid. Now, I like a firm mattress but even I struggled on this one! I need you to imagine one of those thin blue gym mats you had in senior school which cushioned your fall but with very little give! There is a thick (ish) duvet in the room that you can use for some cushioning! Worth noting the bed was actually a double, very rare around these parts!

The balcony was adequate with 2 chairs and a table but it is quite small so beware, however we didn't spend much time in the room. There is no TV, no hair dryer and no iron (might be one at reception but didn't ask and was never offered) so pack accordingly!



POOL:

Mixed feelings about the pool; it takes up the majority of the small outside space, so it is not a very relaxed area. It also has a low wall separating us from the road and the passers by which also doesn't help. There were a couple of days where the pool looked a bit dirty but for the majority of our 2 weeks it was fine and neither of us had any reactions etc despite using it regularly!

There is a bar in the pool area run by one woman whom I believe is called Afroditie (funnily enough..). 2.80 for a large beer (more expensive than most places but the full 500ml as opposed to the 400ml some places serve). There is good snack type foods on offer here also and ice cream.

One thing that really griped me about the pool and really lets the hotel down is the reserving of sunbeds. If you do this, you deserve to be punched in the face as soon as you wake up, nobody likes you........ anyway...... we did manage to get sun loungers there but if you are in a group of more than 2 then NO CHANCE.

FOOD:

The food in the pool bar is actually pretty good, much better than you might think and good value too. There is a restaurant next door owned by the hotel and as a guest you get 15% off. We ate here once and it was very good and with the discount the value was excellent.

Breakfast was included and as the reviews all say - Large sesame seed bun, small toast, boiled egg, slice of cheese, slice of ham, butter and jams. Sit down service, not buffet. Now, we only had breakfast once in 2 weeks, not because it was bad (it was fine for the low price we paid) but because of the times..... BREAKFAST IS SERVED 9 A.M UNTIL 10 A.M. 1 hour slot. Too late for the early risers, too early for the lazy buggers (us). 8 - 11 is a minimum for a hotel, regardless of rating, it's just pointless otherwise. I'm on holiday.

STAFF:

Friendly enough without being particularly memorable. We struggle to be sociable so didn't make too much of an effort but never had a problem with any of them. The gent who runs the main bar in the evenings is a tad miserable but he didn't say much and got us beer when requested so, meh.

RESORT:

A nice place with some pretty scenery where us brits are doing our best to ruin it. The restaurants and tavernas were surprisingly good, but my lord, I don't want chips with EVERYTHING! Still some greek hospitality left but, sadly, all the charm has been sucked out of here. We still managed to enjoy ourselves and so will anyone if they want too, it's just a shame about us brits! It is not quiet but is not too loud either so pretty in-offensive.

OVERALL!!

For the price, you will not do any better. The resort is fine, the hotel is nice enough, the staff are helpful. If you can't enjoy that then be richer and buy better holidays.

Would I go back? Yes. 3 stars may seem harsh but it's fair and is not a bad rating in my book!

Wow, someone attempted an actual review (ish).

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a sea view, if you are that bothered
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nes1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned form a last minute booked week's holiday at the Afrodite in Roda. A really lovely relaxed week made more so by very friendly staff and a sandy beach 15m from the hotel entrance. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#2 of 15 in Roda
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roda Oasis Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#1 of 15 in Roda
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ninos On The Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 15 in Roda
48 reviews
7.9 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrodite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrodite Hotel

Property: Afrodite Hotel
Address: Roda 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roda
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Afrodite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrodite Hotel Roda, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing