We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - full marks!”
Review of Pegasus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it - full marks!”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Pegasus - I travelled with my 3yr old daughter and my mum. We had booked two rooms, and asked for them next door, although this hadnt been arranged, we were offered two rooms with an adjoining door, which was perfect as we had seperate bathrooms and balconies, but my daughter could run between the two rooms without going into the corridor. The rooms are large, modern and spotlessly clean.

We managed 3 days without aircon, but with temperatures at 39degrees, on day 4 we paid for it (5euros a day, which i personally think is very reasonable) - it's best to keep the doors shut at night due to the mosquitos!!

The pool is lovely, loads of beds available, and a slide for the children. All the staff are fantastic, my little girl loved Jana who worked in the bar at the pool, and nothing was too much trouble for her, bringing drinks to you at your sunlounger and chatting to us, lovely girl! My little girl was stung by a wasp and Jana ran around getting ice and cream for her hand and checking she was ok. Sharka is lovely, and knows the name of everyone staying at the hotel which i think is fantastic as it makes you feel so welcome and not just another guest!!

The snacks are nice at the snackbar, but it would be good to have crisps for sale, as sometimes my little girl just wanted a packet of crisps in the afternoon and not a meal.

The bar is open all night, and is reasonably priced and it isnt noisy so you're not disturbed. The road is a bit noisy at the front, but if you have aircon and your patio door closed, its not a problem!!

Roda is beautiful, the beach is a 5 min walk away and is gorgeous, really small and safe for children. The sea was warm as well which is nice!! The best places to eat are Roxannes (fantastic breakfast if you want a fry up or omelette!) and the staff are great (the two English owners - Michelle and Gina I think are lovely) and "A place with a heart" - cant remember the Greek name, the food was the best i've had. Both are right on the beach, we ate looking at the sea every night. The best bar is Pirates Bar, the staff are lovely (especially Naomi), and remembered what we drank every night, they usually have tribute acts on which is a right laugh. Go into "acropolis" and buy some jewellery and fake designer watches/glasses, I came home with a Rolex and some Gucci shades for 15euros!!!

I would recommend getting taxis from the airport as the transfer on the coach is 2 hours due to all the drop offs.

Overall, best holiday I've had, and I'll be back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarahw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    76
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

It's been a year since my first stay at the Pegasus, and so as planned we returned for our May holiday, but this time, as the resort, and hotel, had won my husband over, we did a two week stay.

This is the only place (other than Florida) that I have known my husband not to get bored, and to actually want to do a two week holiday over and over (yes, he is already making next years plans!).

Like last year we travelled from the airport to Roda with Roda Taxis, a Taxi for up to 4 cost 50 euro. Whilst we arranged this direct with Roda Taxis, we have since discovered Pegasus now offer a service where they will locate the cheapest taxi rates for you and make the bookings on your behalf if you ask.

Last year we praised the hotel, and we were pleased to find on arrival that everything we had found good about it has not changed (I wont go over these details again in depth as you can read them in my last review) - the reasonable safe prices (10 euro a week); the friendliness of the staff (these days we are in touch with some all year round via facebook); the cleanliness of the accommodation; and the great location (just a short walk from the beach and local centre).

There were also some small changes, which to us made the stay even better, just little things such as having a variety of English cereals at breakfast (including coco pops which would be great if you have fussy children), also the introduction of beans, bread rolls, and cheese spreads at breakfast too. The hotel has also set up a childrens playroom (which my husband "tested" by rearranging the wooden railway track - boys and toys!), this is great for when you want to keep the children out of the sun for an hour or two. Another new introduction, although I did not see this, is the option of a larger room - when renovating this year they joined two rooms together fro larger parties, I believe this can only be booked direct through the hotel.

Another new experience for us was the Pegasus's own Greek Night - whilst the Pegasus is B&B every other Wednesday they have introduced this event, and it was a night not to be missed. The food was as good as any restaurant, and whilst the original menu was chicken, the hotel was only too happy to swap this for a pork chop for me as I'm not keen on chicken - and boy was it a big pork chop at that (just let reception know at the time of booking if you have a special request like this!). The Greek Night was 18 euro per person and included a mixed starter of salad, tzatziki, and garlic bread, followed by rice, roast potatoes, and meat, and then a mix of home made ice creams. Drinks were additional but as with last year the prices are very reasonable (in fact with a bottle of Guinness at 3 euro 50 cents it was the cheapest Guinness in the area!), wine which was again home made was 4 euro for a half litre, and 7 euro 90 for a litre (also one of the cheapest we found), you could also get a glass at 1 euro 80. The entertainment at the Greek night was exceptional, five dancers, including some of staff who dance as part ofa local dance troupe, all dressed in traditional dresses; the night is done in two parts the more traditional dances and then the more fun dances - everyone is encouraged to participate in the dance lesson parts.

This year the first week of our holiday (13th - 20th) was a little overcast and we had a couple of days rain but we did not let this spoil our stay (just a tip come prepared for this if you travel May/Sep, a lightweight waterproof jacket in the case will suffice, as the rain showers pass quickly), on one of the overcast days we ventured to Kassiopi (which we booked via NSK at 7 euros each way, you can also do this journey on the local buses if you don't want to book in advance), this is worth bearing in mind as whilst it rained in Roda it remained warm and dry in Kassiopi.

The second week however the sun came out and we made good use of the swimming pool, which we did not have the opportunity to do last year, it only took a day or so for the pool to warm up. In fact it was so warm in week two that I woke up in the night wanting the aircon (which is a first for me) - the good thing is unlike at other hotels where you have to pay for a week at a time, or if you are lucky enough to have the option of paying daily you end up paying more, Pegasus allows this option at no extra cost (air con is 5 euro per day, or 35 euro per week, we used it for the last four days 23rd - 27th May).

Pegasus is a very modern hotel by Greek Standards, they now have an electronic card reader so that you can pay for safe hire, air con, etc on your card; and they also offer free wifi in the reception area (which whilst we are not reliant on our mobiles when abroad we found when overcast this was great as we could log onto the internet - having tried this before in Lanzarote and the Redsea, this was by far the quickest and most reliable Wifi I have experienced abroad).

During our stay we had a little problem with the toilet seat which had become lose, and we have to give the staff 10/10 for this....We reported it on our way out for food at about 21:00hrs, as it was "night" we were asked would it be ok until morning, which we said it would be, and sure enough the next morning whilst we were out having a stroll someone came in and repaired it.

We were more adventurous this year, as we were more familiar with the area, and used the local buses to take a trip to Sidari (the hotel displays the bus times for here, Corfu Town, and Kassiopi in their reception area, and staff are able to advise on the locations of bus stops, and the cost of travel - for Sidari this was 1e 60c each way) I would recommend taking the time to make this journey even if just to see the cove at Canal D'Amour.

Having now experienced other resorts in Corfu (the only resort I had been to before Roda was Kavos pre 18-30s, and I was only about 14 at the time), I now feel equipped to say that for me Roda has something special. Whilst Kassioppi maybe a very beautiful fishing village with more traditional greek scenery, and Canal D'Amour be a little cheaper and with a lovely bay, both of them didn't have that "magic" that is present throughout the resort of Roda; this "magic" washes off from the staff and other locals within seconds of arrival, and everyone is so friendly, you soon feel like part of the village.

Last year I gave this hotel 5/5 so I cant give it a higher score this year, but the one thing I can say which beats any score, is we have never stayed at the same hotel three times, the Pegasus we have every intention of doing so!

Room Tip: Sun pm - face playpark,sun am - rqst opposite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beckie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

After a terrible hotel in Malta last year we were a little aprehensive, but this hotel was great, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you, On the main road but wasnt too niosy & a short walk to the shops bars & beach.
The pool was lovley & had a great snack bar, breakfasts were good with bread, eggs , cheese , ham, yoghurt & cerial etc & irene coudn't do enough for you keeping you topped up with tea & coffee. The rooms were quite basic but spotless. the best bar was Oscars for dancing & Karaoke & there were numerous tribute acts on during the week & the DJ Dave was brilliant, if you go tell them Carol sent you, overall we had a great time in Roda.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This was a very friendly hotel with cheerful staff. Pool is great but cold in September - we left it too late in the year to visit. Big screen tv in the lounge and tv in the bar - ok if you like football, but all the bars in Roda have screens showing football. The tavernas are good value, but you must visit Roda Park as you'll get very good food and a good laugh from the owner (Costa) and Yannis. The only drawback was that there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, other than that couldn't fault it. Five minute walk to the beach with sun beds and umberellas at the far end for 7 euros.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familysmith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We booked the Pegasus for our week in Corfu based on the high percentage of good reviews it got and I would say it was exactly as expected. The rooms were adequate, beds a bit hard but you get used to that! They were cleaned regularly and bedding and towels were changed daily which was a pleasant surprise. The staff, especially Sharka, the proprietor, and the ever-cheerful lady at breakfast, were always there with a smile and to help with anything and everything. The breakfast is a little repetitive but there is something for everyone and it is tasty and fresh.

The pool was a good size; there was no territorial ownership of sunbeds as there were so many and the grounds were very nice.
We didn't spend a great deal of time at the hotel as we hired a 125cc motorbike (Euros 70 for 5 days) and tended to go out and explore the island, which was lovely - Kassiopi is wonderful and it is worth toiling up Mount Pantakorata (3000ft) for the views. So the hotel was more of a base than a place to stay all day and it was 100% perfect for this.
The only negative point is the proximity to the road, which is noisy and busy most of the time. All in all, for the money, it is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitevanw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Lovely clean rooms, pleasant staff. Short walk into Roda. Served as a fantastic base for exploring the island by hire car.

Would stay again.

Only problem is the main road that can be very loud.

Overall thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantreadamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Just returned from the Pegasus, a family run hotel, with staff that cant do enough for you and in a pleasent and freindly manner, which in the past i have found hard to find, magnificent pool, never a problem getting a sun bed and never crowded even with the open acess to the public, breakfast is of typical continental style, snack bar outside is as it says a snack bar, but you get good quantities, Roda town is 5 min walk, highly recomend Roda Park restaurant great food and staff are entertaining, if you are partiel to a fry up in the morning most places do them, i chose to eat in the Pirates bar opposite the beach, Sidari is worth a visit as is Kasiope. would highly recomend this hotel, and all going well will return next year.......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank para21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
18.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
33.4 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
20.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
502 reviews
15.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
4.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel

Property: Pegasus Hotel
Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Roda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Roda, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing