We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pegasus - OK- but 'groundhog-day' breakfast”
Review of Pegasus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Roda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just back from Roda - and Pegasus hotel... Its everything that 'it says on the tin' - very clean, nice grounds (but tennis court are delelict) - which is a shame.
Public areas are very clean and staff and probably as friendly as you can get.
The bedrooms are very basic... but you don't spend much time in them.
However... the breakfast is the low point... if you book a hotel, you certainly expect more than boiled eggs, greek cornflakes, bread, ham, cheese and cucumber?? for breakfast - oh yes you also get toast and jam and cake... the repetative nature of this drives you mad, and we found ourselves going out for breakfast on two occasions just to escape the monotony of it all - a cooked breakfast can be found andwhere in Roda for only 2 euros, 20 cents - including tea, coffee or juice.
Come on Pegasus- everything is good - apart from breakfast....
Roda itself needs a lot of TLC.... unfortunately we cannot invest again - and 'we're out'...

Room Tip: Dont get a room overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have just returned from another brilliant holiday at the Pegasus, this is the second year we have holidayed there. The staff are great the greeting from Irene every morning is lovely, the rooms are clean and spacious and the pool area is lovely lots of sun beds and there is no need to rush down at 07.00am to get a bed. We met alot of people who have returned year after year to this hotel and after 1 visit you will know why.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Can't really add much more to previous reviews as had a fantastic week's stay here last week. Highly recommend and the staff are very helpful and welcoming!!
Haven't ever considered coming back again to somewhere but will seriously consider returning next year...good time guaranteed!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schonbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

After reading so many great reviews about this hotel i could not help but feel a little disappointed by certain aspects of our stay and feel the hotel could be so much better with some minor changes.
Sure there are positives, a great pool, comfortable loungers and a great location away from the main strip so passers by don't see you sunbathing like the case would be with so many of the other hotels in roda that are right on the main strip.
You would think then that you might expect a degree of peace and quiet but none was awarded my family. Doors were constantly banging in the corridor. Every time someone closed their door there seemed to be a draught which would make your own door bang. Now i dont expect silence but it was practically constant from late afternoon if you were trying to have a nap til about 1 am.
Perhaps outside the school holiday season this might not have been the case but i have never experienced noise like this in 20 yrs plus of holidaying abroad from 2 star to 5 star and that includes many visits to corfu and the greek islands.
My wife and i were also pretty fed up with the bathroom and towel situation. The shower tray and curtain are inadequate at keeping water off the remainder of the bathroom floor which ends up wet through and dangerous. We had nothing in the room to help deal with this other than to use the bath mat type towels to dry it up. However you are only given clean towels every three days! Everywhere else i have ever been the policy was always to leave towels you could use again on the rail and dirty towels on the bath or shower and they would be changed. We arrived on a Monday and finally after asking got clean towels on the Thursday Despite very hot weather our bed sheets were not changed for 5 days either and i think the penny pinching service of the towels and sheets really let the hotel down.
On the face of it , its a really lovely looking hotel with a nice bar and public areas that could not be faulted. Our complaints and misgivings with it were not raised with management as they were at the end of the day the hotel's policy.
Finally a word about the breakfast. POOR! The juice or should i say weak dilute squash was awful and another example of the penny pinching. Bread slices were really not suitable for toasting but i did partake of the bread rolls and yoghurt with honey. Although breakfast is self service you are often served your hot drinks (and you better get the tea or hot chocolate as the coffee is awful ) and have then to ask for another tea/ coffee which i found a bit bizarre as everything else is self service.
I suppose it doesn't matter to the management that breakfast is so poor after all most unwitting holidaymakers will then spend their money on bacon rolls at the snack bar later on.
Overall the pegasus is a nice hotel that in my opinion has let itself down and could be so much better with a few changes.
We had a good holiday and enjoyed the many bars and restaurants in Roda and especially the Mistral bar/cafe for a cooked breakfast or evening meal.
I know full well that this review will buck the trend about whats said about the pegasus hotel but i can only call it as i see it and warn others of a like mind what truly lies in store.


T

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrierpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

For mine and my boyfriend's first holiday away we chose to stay at the Pegasus Hotel, after reading many reviews on here our expectations were quite high but the hotel definitely did not dissapoint.
When we first arrived at the hotel we were greeted and given our room key quickly, we were also offered aircon (35 euros for a week, 5 a day), a safe (10 euros) and a mini fridge (20 euros) . I would definitely recommend purchasing all these as corfu gets very hot during the day and stays very warm throughout the night. The hotel room was comfortable and a suitable size. The bathroom is small but has the bare essentials, the only thing I would say is the floor does get quite wet after having a shower so be careful.
The hotel is situated just off the main strip of shops, bars and restaurants, it's about a 5 minute walk to the strip and 5-10 to the beach. I would recommend eating at the mexican restaurant, the italian pizzaria on the corner, the restaurant that has glass walls and also the restaurant with a small chef figure out the front. I would also recommend going to the drunken sailor for cocktails and drinks as they are the cheapest (2 for 7 euros) and also have the best entertainment.
The snack bar at the pegasus hotel is cheap and serves really good food for snacks and lunch time but if you prefer leaving the hotel for lunch, any of the cheaper 'grill rooms' do tasty kebabs that are usuall only 2-3 euros.
The continental breakfast also exceeded our expectations, irene worked every morning to serve us and she is a lovely, helpful lady. They provide tea, coffee, hot chocolate, toast, eggs, beans, cake, cheese, ham, cucumber, tomato, greek yoguhrt, honey and jams, breads, rolls, orange juice, grapefruit juice, cerals, milk and butter. You make the toast and boiled eggs yourself and can ask for the beans to be heated for you. Our favourite was the yoghurt, it was delicious.
As a young couple we were worried about what there would be to do, but the hotel has a dart board and pool table to use throughtout the day and night, we would go out for dinner then go to the drunken sailor for some cocktails and then buy some alcohol for a really good price in the local shops and drink on our balcony. The alcohol from the shops is really cheap, my boyfriend drank the mythos beer all week and i bought smirnoff ice's for 2 euros and a bottle of ouzo for 1 euro 50 which was such a good price.
We never actually went to the beach as the pool at the hotel was good enough for us, the only thing i would say is that it is very deep at almost 3 metres so if you have children make sure that you watch them as there is no lifeguard.
We visited aqualand during our weeks stay and i would definitely recommend it, it is so worth the money and actually had some quite scary water slides, it also had plenty of childrens areas and slides so it was perfect for families too.
I would tell anyone considering the pegasus hotel to go there and enjoy themselves as the perfect roda weather and the friendly, safe hotel makes for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12jodiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in the Pegasus hotel for my 21st birthday with my boyfriend and it was one of the best holidays I have ever had, the pool is great plenty of room and sunbeds for everyone and all the staff are so friendly and helpfull. The greek night on wednesdays is a must! it was very entertaining, and Roda it self although quiet compared to Sidari ect very nice with lovely sunsets.
The only negetive things I can possiblly say about the hotel is that 5 euros for air con and again for a fridge seems quiet a lot per night, and the mossies in Roda are very bad!!
Overall I would definetly return it is a great place for all ages and tastes.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the road are quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5445westEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The selling point is definitely the pool - and it is amazing. Massive pool, loads of sunbathing space, ample beds and a great little bar in the middle.

Staff were very friendly, although perhaps not so friendly if you didn't spend lots of money there!

Room was good size, very clean and linen and towels replaced regularly.

We did have a room on the first floor at the front of the building, and the noise could be a problem for some - it is quite a busy main road, but if like us you are usually so tired at the end of the night then you will sleep - you certainaly get used to it after a couple of days - so much so that we slept with the doors open a couple of nights - so it is isn't as bad as some say.

The walk to the main shops and bars in Roda is about 10 minutes, if you stroll and take in the scenery like us! Once there, the bars and restaurants are much the same as in the rest of the Greek islands - typically fish and traditional.

We must recommend a great little place on the front - The Skouna Cafe/Bar. We went every evening after dinner, and were soon greeted like part of the family. It was run by a lovely young family - Hari and Nellie, with brother and mum and the lovely Maria, who couldn't do enough for any of their customers. We would highly recommend it, and very rarely speak so highly of a bar/cafe. The food was fantastic (we sampled meals and snacks - you must try their cakes), the drinks well priced for the area and the service second to none. It's also a great spot to take in the scenery and people watch.

Another great place for food if you fancy something different is the Mexican on the main road down to the beach - the food is excellent. The bars on the same road were a bit cheesy, but there is enough there to find something for everyone.

Roda itself is a fairly lively small Greek village. We can't tell you about anywhere else because we barely left the pool in the day, and didn't venture further than the village at night - great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
0.4 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#1 of 16 in Roda
648 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
20.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ninos On The Beach Hotel
15.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
504 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel

Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roda
#3 Family Hotel in Roda
Price Range: £26 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Roda, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing