We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mojito in town”
Review of Pegasus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Certificate of Excellence
donegal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Mojito in town”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First of all, Roda is a small, quiet resort which seems to be suffering from the recession in Greece, but is still a great place to go for a quiet, relaxing break with some great bars and tavernas and lovely sunsets over the bay.

Pegasus is a small, family run hotel with a small staff group, all of whom are friendly, efficient and really take time to get to know their guests. We had a slight mix-up with our room which was dealt with by Sharka (Owner) at the first possible opportunity and with little fuss, and this seemed typical to us for a hotel where nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are typical Greek, but of better quality than most I have stayed in. Toiletries are a bit limited but the rooms are cleaned daily to a good standard, and towels and bedding replenished regularly. Aircon is expensive but works well.

The breakfast buffet is limited in scope but is always fresh and well stocked, although some fresh fruit or fruit juice would not go amiss. Special mention here for Eleni (?) who serves the breakfast coffee and starts everyone's' day with a smile.

The pool area is kept clean and tidy. Bar service is great, food from the snack bar is value for money if you don't mind the wait and there are plenty of sun loungers available.

Other guests were mainly families from the home counties, but there were also a few couples as well but nearly everyone staying was English.

The only real downside to this hotel is the noise from the slamming doors that echoes around the corridors. I suppose the management could do something to help here by putting seals on the doors or carpets in hall, but at the end of the day consideration for your fellow guests goes a long way.

In all, a great hotel in spot-on resort and Margrita does the best Mojitoes in town.

Room Tip: Because of the size of hotel you cannot specify a room type, if your booking agent tells you otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonegalDanbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    74
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
57
132
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wton west mids
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and found the service and staff were really lovely ! It is a family run hotel and everyone is so friendly its made us feel at home from day one. The pool area is large and plenty of sunbeds for all and no need to book a bed with your towel (even though some people still felt the need ) There is a lovely snack bar and pool bar so no need to go out if you are having a lazy day by the pool. Breakfast is typical Greek (no bacon) but you can always get a bacon bap at the snack bar for elevensies.
The beach is a short healthy walk (about 10 mins) but pleasant as you get to pass all the restaurants and bars so can see what specials are on and entertainment for the evening so you can make you choice in the day ready for the night. Roda beach is sandy with shallow water so great for kids and people who don't like the shingle.
Our room was on the front of the hotel which at first we thought would be noisy but with the double glazing and ac on we never even noticed any traffic noise, but we did have a sea view (over the top of the trees) and Albania in the distance. We had a fridge in the room and ac which made it pleasant to sleep and always had cold water/beers when we wanted them. Roda its self is a small village with enough bars and restaurants to have a choice but not too rowdy and crowded , If you don't want to go out the hotel has a bar which is really nice and Diamontina always keeps you entertained and helps if you have any queries. Irene is always pleasant in the morning serving the breakfast and even makes the grumpiest holidaymakers smile . We also would like to thank all the staff for making our stay special as it was my husbands birthday while we were there and we had champagne and strawberries for breakfast which was a lovely touch and really unexpected ,,,, thanks Irene and all the staff for being so nice and making it such a lovely holiday. A lovely 2 weeks

Room Tip: any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvWtonWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pegasus. It was immaculate, both the room and the pool area. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced at the snack bar and the staff in general could not have been nicer or more helpful. The owner (and usual front desk receptionist) Sharka even texted the owner of our next hotel for me when my phone was broken to let them know when we would be arriving.
I did notice some people coming out of the pool with a blue chalk-like substance from the pool on their backs etc. from lounging against the side of the pool.
The location is probably a little inconvenient, which I wouldn't have minded if it meant the hotel was in a quiet, remote spot, but the road noise was definitely intrusive at night and in the morning, with motorbikes racing up and down at all hours.
I especially loved the lady who runs the breakfast room. She was always so friendly and welcoming, she brightened your sleepy mornings.
Hotels that charge you for necessities such as air conditioning (it's GREECE in the SUMMER! You need air-con!!) or a fridge that's already in the room get on my nerves and these guys do charge you extra for these amenities. I just feel like I'm being squeezed for every last penny.
I would probably stay here again although there are some apartments closer to town that are also very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back and facing north. You'll get less traffic noise and more shade in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bay_girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Pegasus Hotel at the beginning of June this year and loved it! We were surprised at how quiet the hotel and resort (Roda) was for this time of year but it generally suited us. The room was a good size, we had asked for a double bed but got two single beds next to each other (wasn't ideal but not the end of the world), basic facilities but a nice little balcony overlooking the gardens. The pool was amazing! There must have only been about a dozen people staying at the hotel when we were there so we pretty much had it to ourselves most days. There were lots of sunloungers (can't imagine ever having to fight for a sunlounger at this place actually - definitely a plus) and a good poolside bar. There wasn't a lot of food choice at the hotel. We had breakfast a couple of days but it was basic. The hotel was a 5-minute walk from the beach and main Roda street, so ideal! Overall, couldn't really complain about anything and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is our third visit to the Pegasus and after a ten day holiday, did not want to leave. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Nothing is too much trouble, all of the staff are always smiling which makes you feel happy. Irene is a gem serving breakfast, every day and making sure you have enough tea or coffee. There is always plenty to eat and a good choice of lovely fresh food. If you are lucky to be there for the fortnightly Greek night, do not miss it. The food is superb and entertainment is excellent with a live band and dancing.
The rooms are adequate, cleaned every day to a high standard, beds are comfortable, sheets are changed regularly and fresh towels. If you need anything just ask and the help is at hand.
There is a well stocked bar with quality drinks. Do try champagne and strawberries and the cocktails.
The swimming pool is excellent with plenty of sun beds and a lovely grassed area for a relaxing day. Snacks are reasonably priced and good value. The home made ice cream is delicious.
A five minute stroll takes you to the beach and village where the people are also very friendly.
If you book directly with the hotel, car transfer is included and so is the air conditioning, everything taken care of and wonderful to have a car waiting for you when you land.

The staff are always friendly and smiling and this makes for a relaxing and happy holiday. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillyrOse-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just had a great week at The Pegasus. As everyone says, it is a very friendly, family run hotel and in my opinion the best place to stay in Roda. The rooms are absolutely fine - I've stayed in more expensive hotels and they have been no better, the bathroom is just what you would expect in Greece and the grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The pool is beautiful - spacious, with plenty of sunbeds, set in pretty gardens, with a lovely bar in the centre, hosted by the genuinely lovely Christine - who couldn't be more helpful and always with a smile especially when we went for our 5 o'clock champagne cocktail, (3,50 Euros). Also a handy snack bar run by Costas.
The girls on reception were always helpful and a special thanks to Irene who wouldn't even let us get our own coffee in the morning.
We also loved the location. Don't be misled when it is said that it is a little out of the main village - it is far enough away to be a bonus but not too far to be a hindrance - about five minute walk.
We were three girls and they were very obliging to us. Firstly by virtue of the fact they would let three girls stay in one room and put an extra bed in there for us. ( Many hotel wouldn't allow this) and also, because as it was a little squashed with the three of us, they allowed us to pay for another room directly with them when we got there.
Roda is a great little friendly resort. If you are looking for wild nightlife and nightclubs then it is not for you. Rather there are many lovely little tavernas and cocktail bars, many of which are right on the beach. Special mention to the Roda Park which is a must, as much for the warm welcome as the food, Scouda for their Pina Colada's and if you go, please say Hi to Lisa at Alexandras.
Greece needs you!!! They desperately need tourists and you can't go far wrong with this resort and this hotel for a week in the sun. We were afraid the crisis may mean everything was very expensive but not at all. Most things were very reasonable.
Do be aware of the airport transfers though. We spoke to some who had done the communal bus and it had been ok but we were unlucky and it took three hours as we dropped people off all over the island. We were on the coach for almost as long as the flight. I would recommend a taxi which cost 53 euros and took 50 minutes. Roda taxi's contact details are rodataxi@yahoo.com or 0030 6945 437 128. Generally we found the taxis were quite expensive compared to everything else but this was worth it. They are always in very nice cars and very polite.
So thanks once again to all at Pegasus hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the road. We were at the side in room 111 which was great so can't really comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the Pegasus Hotel in Roda in May. We had a wonderful holiday in Corfu. I recommend it has a holiday destination. Corfu has a lot going for it... Although you might not realise it at the time (it was when we returned from our next holiday in Mallorca, we were thinking how much better was our holiday in Corfu)

About Roda
~~~~~~~~~~
Roda is a small town and a fishing village (although it looked more like a tourist town to me). It has three long streets, which are walkable. Roda has everything you want : Tourist shops, supermarket, excursion companies, bars, restaurants, bakery, quad wheel hire, local car rental companies, DVD rental, disco... It has a sandy beach (though I though the beach in Acharavi was nicer and only 3-4mins by car). The towns Corfu as a lot smaller and more rustic then say you might expect in Spain.

Room
~~~~~
The rooms at Pegasus are good size and have balconies. They have wardrobe, modern ac (with remote), TV (though not sure if reception was good), good sized comfortable bed. Shower and WC. Enough plus and socket to charge phones, fridge (included in our package). (We did not have glasses in the room). Wi-fi was available in lobby and some rooms close to reception.

Our Trip - Independent holiday
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We spent a lot of time researching hotels in Corfu. I am glad we choose the Pegasus hotel.

However, if we had to do it again. I would suggest 12 day duration. I would suggest a 3 day stay in the capital of Corfu (if your budget will allow) or perhaps close by towns in Benitses or Kanoni might be possible alternatives). The remaining 9 days, I would recommend in Roda which are perfect for exploring the sights which are mostly in the North and to try the fantastic food.

(The drive from Roda to Corfu is 45minutes, although it always took me longer about 75 minutes).

We enjoyed seeing Corfu town by night and looking at the Greeks promenading. The last bus leaves Corfu city at 8pm for Roda, however, we had a rental car, so could enjoy seeing Corfu city by night....

Greek Food - BIGGEST SURPRISE
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
In Spain and Italy, the food in tourist areas is often disappointing. However, in Corfu, it is the complete opposite. The best food is in the tourist area. The food is not sophisticated, it is just simply fresh and simple and delicious. Their olive oil is homemade and is awesome. The food is so fresh. I finally 'get' what Jamie Oliver is on about. It is common in Greece to be invited round to the kitchen to see the 'fish' or 'meat' before it is cooked. In Greece, they have to say 'frozen' in the menu, which is why the food is so wholesome. The oregano is straight from the mountains. (Our favourites places to eat: In Sidari - Konaki, in Roda - Afrodite restaurant (under hotel), Petroni steki). In Corfu town (just south near the windmill and hotel) - Nautilus (not on trip advisor, but really nice modern Green food). Do try sauted weeds (Xorta) if you see it on the menu!. If I am to be honest, after 10 days of delicious Greek food, I was craving for a different cuisine. There is an expensive Italian in Roda. However, in Sidari, you will find a Chinese and an Indian....

Swimming Pool
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Before some break hotels, tent to put swimming pools at the front of the hotel. I like the Pegasus as their is as the back

Sat Nav
~~~~~~
My tomtom did not work in Corfu. However, you should download, Google Maps onto your Android phone before leaving home. (use the download offline map option). We missed a lot of turnings, as road signage is not so great for smaller places. You will need a good road map too.

Greek Night
~~~~~~~~~~
Make sure you give it a go! You will be impressed

Excursion Companies
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The are excursion companies, which are very reasonably priced. They have a tour every day. (the ones I took were from nsk travel)


May
~~~
May is still low season... it is a little bit quieter... but it was perfect for us. If you want busy bars.... suggest later months.

Mosquitos
~~~~~~~~
We read about mosquitos at night. It was scary on the first couple of days. The restaurants tended to be open. However, the mosquitos never bothered us. My partner and I were not bitten once. (We went over the top and bought nets and plug-in repellent, but never needed to be used). Just apply a bit of common sense and check the room at night. Don't leave windows open at night. (suggest you seek advice from the hotel)....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flashback1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
33.4 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
18.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
15.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,243 reviews
12.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
487 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel

Property: Pegasus Hotel
Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roda
#3 Family Hotel in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Roda, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing