We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, dirty, smelly, basic.”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, dirty, smelly, basic.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I visited the silver beach in Roda with my daughter and grandson. We arrived early afternoon and from outside the hotel was ok we got into reception and that to was ok we went to our room and found a bunk bed with a broken ladder and 2 very low single beds. The bathroom was so small I had to turn sideways and try and limbo under the sink just to sit on the loo, which didn't flush for the first 2 days we did tell at reception a few times only to be told it had been fixed! the shower was really small I had to wash with one leg in and one leg out it had a mouldy shower curtain. We went down to breakfast a couple of times but there wasn't much else other than eggs or toast but we found good places to eat just outside the hotel. The evening meal was disgusting we didn't know what half of it was apart from chips or a pasta dish so we ate out. I know it was a cheap last minute booking and people say you get what you pay for but I was at least expecting something that was edible!! The pool bar waitress Alexandria was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for her. Roda is a lovely little place with some nice bars and places to eat I would visit again but not to Silver Beach....

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kwsmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    51
    49
    43
    79
See reviews for
90
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at Silver Beach from, 2/6/14 to 16/6/14 really wish we hadn't bothered, basic, unclean rooms, and bathrooms food disgusting, noisy as near to a road, rooms rarely cleaned, bed changed once in two weeks, shower dirty, toilet badly stained air con extra 5 euro per day, small fridge 3 euro per day, safe one euro per day. paid for fridge for a few days, on last day instead of asking did we want to continue with fridge they let themselves into our room whilst I was in the shower and emptied the fridge even though it was paid for until the evening, staff can be quite rude when you question them over the state of the place all in all very disappointing would not return to silver beach but would return to roda as it is gorgeous please don't stay here there are plenty of other places to stay in roda all reviews that you read are very true, but I must say that there was one good thing about this hotel and that was one member of staff Alex a lovely helpful girl that was very kind to us. LOOK ELSEWHERE FOR YOUR HOLIDAY HOTEL AS THIS ONE WILL RUIN YOUR STAY IN BEAUTIFUL RODA. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roda hotels

renfrewshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

whilst agreeing with some of the previous reviewers regarding the room toilets I have been to Greece may times and was not put off by the accommodation. The hotel itself is well located and has nice gardens and the breakfast was fine as my husband and I are not big on breakfasts. we had a couple of lunches at the pool bar which were fine and good value for money We never ate an evening meal so can't comment The cleaner only missed one day(sunday) We had towels changed once and sheets had to last whole week We didn't use air con as the room was okay at night and we were out most of the time either in the village, on a trip or relaxing on the balcony or pool area. Week from 3rd-10th June was very quiet no loud noise as most of Roda where we were staying was asleep by 11pm. Sleep quality was excellent. Only bug bear was the mozzies and we were badly bitten in the room one night but we blame ourselves for that and learned a lesson. We feel that as a family run establishment it was not at all clear who these folk were .Certainly not a welcoming atmosphere and they appeared quite indifferent to guests unless perhaps you were a regular.
However Alexandra who takes care of the pool bar is the exception. She is a great girl and has good communication skills.She would be best employed on reception and I saw her being called to sort out situations that the receptionist and I presume owner couldn't deal with. She is an asset to this establishment and can offer help and information with ease.
I don't think we will go back as on the way to the airport we noted places at pick ups that seemed worth persuing. We loved Roda have been before and will return Another bit of info is that the Five Roses taverna down by the harbour is good value for food and very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: we were to the front overlooking the entrance and pool area Excellent views and you can see loads go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanaRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

we stayed at the Silver Beach sept 2013, Had read the bad reviews but it was so cheap and we were on a budget! Not anything like as bad as Id thought it would be. We've been to greece for years so I think we know what to expect from a 2* hotel, as long as the beds are clean, the staff helpful and friendly, and the hotel isnt in the middle of nowhere we're quite happy, remember you only sleep and shower in your room unless you've got kids of course The staff were very friendly and helpful,treat them with respect and you will get the same in return. We were in the block just over a small side road from the main building which was older but fine,,quiet,,the bathroom was out of the 70s with a mouldy shower curtain but the water was hot!(just didnt use the shower curtain) and the kitchen was the same, we didnt try to cook. Its cheap to eat out .so why bother when youre on holiday!! The location is the best thing on the road going through the resort(not noisy at night though).Short walk to the beach, loads of places to eat in roda from fish restaurants to traditional greek to the usual full english. a few late bars which close their outer doors at midnight to keep the noise down. The silver beach is great for a cheap holiday if youre not happy with something just ask a member of staff they do their best to help. ps remember to take mosquito repellent, the area is famous for its mozzys I took jungle formula maximum strength (buy it before you go as its expensive in greece,Wilkinsons is the cheapest place I found)and sprayed in the morning,evening and before getting into bed, I only get bit 4 times but there were people covered in bites,(be prepared)!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whuPam1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked through Thomas Cook /Jet2. We only read the reviews after we'd booked but went with an open mind. I must say the comments on the food and the cleanliness ( or lack of it) are all correct. To say this was "basic" is being kind. There is basic and there is dirty. The room was never swept properly so you went to bed with grit and sand etc in the sheets ( which were only changed one at a time and about twice in the fortnight we were there) We had one towel each which had to last several days.as they weren't changed very often either. The bathroom was disgusting. badly in need of refurbishment - even a deep clean would have made a difference. On top of this we were badly bitten and the bites became infected. I don't think the dirty linen helped.

We were glad we'd only booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast wasn't very appealing. We only ever ate the toast.
On the plus side, the location of the hotel was great, close to everything. The staff were friendly enough and the bar snacks were nice. The reception and bar area were pleasant enough. It would have been nice to have a drink there in the evenings but it was always empty - no one went there.

Room Tip: If cleanliness and comfort is important to you, then don't stay here.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good be a good hotel needs updating especially the bathrooms I could just put up with the shower but the toilet was discussing very badly stained. The downstairs shower was also discusting. Rooms not too bad we paid for air con and fridge which was much needed, air con keeps the mosquitos away. Our room was at the back it was very quiet at nig ht and we look on to a pool opposite and a field. The breakfast was ok eggs bread and potatoes which suited us.. Been to Roda 3 times before its a lovely little village it's comes a live at night on the beach front with its bars and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLUE078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a very disappointing week stay at this hotel. Room very basic and cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, especially the case in the bathroom. Toilet seat broken and toilet stained terribly. Shower falling off wall and had to be hand held. Sink tap - Thank goodness I didn't need to drink from it. One towel each changed only once. Bedding never changed. Broken electric socket where bunk beds were, not child safe as within reach. Daylight showing around the built in wardrobe as built over a window. No hairdryer, not helpful when asked if could supply, said I would have to go to next town to buy. Shop on the front very helpful and actually had one left for sale, Life saver. Had booked B+B but didn't visit the restaurant. Roda okay and the beach lovely, water was lovely and warm and youcan walk out quite a way and still be in your depth. Don't think we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#2 of 15 in Roda
236 reviews
33.5 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.5 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 15 in Roda
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 20 in Acharavi
98 reviews
5.5 mi away
Apraos Bay Hotel
Apraos Bay Hotel
#10 of 10 in Kassiopi
96 reviews
33.2 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kavos
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Corfu
Silver Beach Hotel Roda, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing