We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“margaret and friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christina Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Messonghi
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel has a perfect location right on the beach . Just fifteen metres to edge of the sea.
Dimitris , Vasilis and their families we found to be very welcoming and helpful in every way.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks holiday and are already planning for our next visit.
Kind Regards to Dimitris Vasili and every one . Look forward to seeing you soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

relaxing calm (if you want) but such a lovely friendly atmosphere...you relax as soon as you enter the door and look out over the beautiful beach - food is good too...Dimitris cannot do enough to make your stay as happy as possible..and his lovely wife Barbara is so charming and helpful. I would go again and again...good value and good time

Room Tip: the garden rooms are the best in my opinion - open your door straight on to the excellent beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Location at the beach, the beach is covered with chairs, no room to lay your own towels. Chairs and umbrwllas 6e per day ( same in all the beach). Breakfast the usual "greek" style with cheap ready amde cake slicea and orange juice. Coffee powder with hor water. We missed water served at breakfast as kids dont drink juices. Rooms are bit worn and falimy room is 1room with 4 beds in the same side. Missed also some shelfs and drawers, large cabinet anly had 2shelfs and for 4 its not enough. Bathtub in bathroom, and it would make living more confortable if they would provide something to wipe the floor wihen it geta wet as the föoor does not angle to drain. Balcony wiev great and frienly owners/ staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perhe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There is no swimming pool as Hotel Christina is on the beach and you can walk quite a distance into the calm sea, which makes it excellent for families with children. The temperature was in the mid-20s in May so it's a good time of year to visit for those who want to use mostly the beach for their holiday as well as people like us (retired in our 60s) who prefer to explore the whole island. If you want to listen to the waves at night, which is a lovely sound, make sure to take mosquito spray! There is a bus stop 50 yards away with services to Corfu town & more frequent services a quarter of a mile away on the main road. However as I have reduced mobility we hired a car for 10 days at 30 euros per day (arranged for us by the hotel) which enabled us to see most of Corfu. TP Car Hire brought the car to Hotel Christina where we could park in the hotel grounds. Beware of manic Greek drivers and not so good roads. The hotel itself is basic but adequate. Note - there is no lift. Our room with seaview balcony was clean and spacious, and the air-conditioning was effective. There was a kettle with cups provided plus a hairdryer. The fridge worked but is old and needs replacing. There isn't much choice of food for breakfast & no other meals were available until 2 or 3 days before we left as the hotel only had two or three other couples staying, which was surprising but we liked the peace & quiet. There are good tavernas nearby, a pizzeria which does take-aways, an excellent bakery and 2 good supermarkets which sold tourist gifts, cigarettes in 200 packs, and just about anything else you might need during your stay! Boat trips from the village are available to the Greek mainland and to the island of Paxos.

Room Tip: First floor is best for rooms with a sea view but there is no lift in the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank probearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a fantasic hotel! I have stayed here the last two years and can't fault the place.
The hotel is practically on the beach and if you are lucky enough to have a sea view room, you will be greeted with an amazing view when you wake up in the mornings.

Try and get a room on the 1st floor or above and you can hear the sea at night when you are getting in bed. I was in a ground floor room last year and whilst it was a lovely room, I could hear the vending machines whirring through the night.

The breakfast included in the price is basic but is just what you need after a night of eating 3 courses at the local restaurants. The Christina also has a great menu which we sampled many times and I highly recommend!

The hotel is located next to some fantasic restaurants and the best bar in Messoghi....Oasis bar!!

Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: There isn't a pool but you can use the pool at The Oasis bar down the road. We preferred just g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

couldent fault this hotel . food , staff , and the rooms were very clean well done.the area itself is clean. plenty of choice of restaurants if you want to eat out.the hotel is run bye two brothers . who cant do enouth for you . you step of the hotel , and your on the beach .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Unfortunately the hotel and resort did not live up to expectation for our needs. After some 38 years of travelling to the Greek Islands the litter ridden resort is scruffy even by their standards( especially on the outskirting roads ).
As for the hotel it has obvious problems, but first and foremost I will mention Dimitris & Barbara, who are extremely pleasant hosts and will do their utmost to help in this unusual set-up run by Dimitris and his brother Vassilis. This though is where the compliments end, as the poor working relationship between siblings and their wives is evident, and lack of communication and tension shows through making guests feel uneasy.I found Vassilis and Spouse ( I still don`t know her name ! ) aloof to the point that even when guests are invited to the BBQ on the beach they do not appear even for a short time. Indeed they were never to be seen at any social time and concentrated their efforts on collecting fees for sunbeds.
There is a poor corporate image to front of house with owners and front of house staff dressing in scruffy t-shirts and jeans. I have always found that smart presentation of staff promotes good standards but in this case the food and menu for lunch/dinner reflects the poor quality and extent of what is offered.Breakfast is poor even by continental standards with no yoghurts,fruit ( fresh or otherwise ) being offered and fruit juice ( I use the term lightly ) being undrinkable. There are restaurants close by trading at far higher standards which is a shame because the Christina has got the prime spot and should be overflowing compared to others.
Rooms are standard and kept clean, with air conditioning and fridge included. There is a T.V. ( no english channel ) but you do get french & german !? Large balcony with chairs and table have sea or garden view, but no drying line on ours and the broken table was never replaced even though it was promised on our arrival ( nothing new there though!). The bathroom was o.k. but the towels were now a greyish colour instead of white, threadbare and some had holes in them. Imagine drying yourself on sandpaper ! The shower attachment never stayed on the wall. Why oh why can`t hoteliers understand that these basic things to repair/supply are cheaper than supplying little bottles of smelly stuff that nobody uses !!
Times are hard in Greece but unless problems are sorted then this establishment will in my opinion struggle to keep ahead of the heavy competition.
If you happen to go to this resort then go down the road to Boukari or up to the village of chlomos to see what Greece used to be and how it should look today ( and walk it to get you off those sunbeds for a while !!! ).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Messonghi
10.1 mi away
Arcadion Hotel
Arcadion Hotel
#36 of 404 in Corfu
312 reviews
2.2 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
10 mi away
Bella Venezia Hotel
Bella Venezia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Corfu Town
959 reviews
12 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina Beach Hotel

Address: Messonghi 49080, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Messonghi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Messonghi
Price Range: £41 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Christina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christina Hotel Messonghi
Christina Beach Hotel Corfu/Messonghi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing