We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo Di Montereggi
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in the Il Casale apartments in late September (caught the last of the hot and sunny weather). Il Casale is just down the road from Borgo di Montereggi. We much preferred Il Casale location which is a farm house converted in to 6 apartments. We had stunning views over beautiful green gardens and landscape. The pool (whilst cold at times!) was a lovely size, well maintained and we often had it too ourselves. The apartment we stayed in was clean, fitted with all basic necessities, and our apartment had a wonderful veranda/patio area to ourselves. The owners were friendly and always on hand to help. A car is essential but it's only a short drive to the nearest small town Montelupo where there is a train station with direct routes to Pisa and Florence, and a useful co-op supermarket! We did struggle to find good places to eat, however on our last day we visited Artimino (a lovely, small and quaint village) and found a number of great looking restaurants which we didn't have the opportunity to eat in. Vinci is another place we would definitely recommend a visit to also. I think these apartments are ideally made for groups or couples, looking for a very quiet and relaxing holiday escape.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rsmith08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in Girasol 1 with 2 bedrooms upstairs and 2 bathrooms. We were there in August and it was very hot (over 35°C every day) but with the pool and the quiet fans in the bedrooms the heat was surprisingly bearable and the evenings were lovely to sit outside and eat. There were communal bbqs and a washing machine and a shared room which had a selection of English books and magazines and a rather ancient video recorder (but no films) but this was too hot to be in. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils, gas hob and an electric oven. The road to the property is rough gravel, very dusty and full of pot holes but once you arrive, you do feel very private. Most of the apartments were let for the whole week but even so we never felt crowded and there were always times we had the good-sized pool more or less to ourselves. Easy to get to the nearest large Coop in Montelupo and good train links from here as well. About 30 minutes to drive to Florence on the Fi-Pi-Li dual carriageway.

Room Tip: Worth taking a larger villa with 2 bedrooms if there are four of you, especially with larger teens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in the other apartments owned by the same family, Il Casale, which are a very short drive from Borgo di Montereggi. We actually preferred our location as there are only 6 apartments and a pool, so it is extremely quiet and, since there was only one other couple for most of the week, it felt as if we had the place to ourselves!

The apartment was a one storey one bedroomed place, very nicely furnished and very clean. We found we had plenty of space for the week.

The area itself is stunning with amazing views and everywhere seemed easy to get to. We hired a car and used this to go into Montelupo where we had a couple of lovely meals. We also got the train to Siena and to Florence, both of which were stunning.

We drove to Vinci and to St Germignano and found driving easy and straightforward and we visited Lucca and Pisa on our way to the airport.

Tuscany is breathtakingly beautiful, the people are all so friendly and the food is out of this world! Wine is reasonable (around €4 a bottle in the supermarket) and we didn't drink a bad drop all the time we were there!

I highly recommend Il Casale if you want a peaceful getaway and the freedom to explore the surrounding area. n.b. We did visit the Borgo apartments and we were equally impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossiefrufru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Travelled mid June 13 and stayed in 2 bed apartment -Girasol 1
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.
Everything was clean and well maintained. Amazing views, quiet location but easy to travel to many beautiful places Tuscany has to offer. Park free in Montelupo train station for very cheap trains to Sienna, Florence, Pisa and many more. Volterra is a must but drive by car only. Sundays Pisa parking is free.
Management were on hand to give you great tips of local restaurants. Be aware that you must either have an Italian in your party or a phrase book due to restaurants speak little English - fun though. Ask about the restaurant that is out of the way - fantastic ambience, food amazing, views great but drive to it is for the brave only.
We had no problems with mosquito's as they have plug ins in all rooms.
Pool was not heated but didn't need to be. Quiet and tranquil.

Would travel here again as there was nothing negative about the apartments at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very well located for touring Tuscany. the views are lovely and a good sized pool.

We stayed in a two bedroomed villa, on two levels. Overall the accommodation is good; although the twin had little space to move around the bed area and no bedside table for one of the beds. The shower in one of the bathrooms was very small and the villa could have been better cleaned before our arrival. Otherwise, a good time was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 485KarenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We've just come back and really enjoyed this property. We stayed in Apt 1 (Girasole) which was a two bed, two bath apartment with the bedrooms upstairs and a living space downstairs. It had a full kitchen with an oven (something other self catering places didn't have) which made it easier to cater for 2 small children. There was a shared BBQ and washing machine which was great. The swimming pool was excellent and there were plenty of chairs and parasols.
As other posters have said there is a problem with mosquitos but they did provide the plug in repellents that helped. We did have to sleep with the windows open as it was too hot to do otherwise and bug screens on the windows would have meant we didn't have to go to bed covered in bug spray. The apartment was clean and the beds really comfy. All the apartments have table and chairs outside which makes for lovely alfresco meals. The location is excellent, really quiet but close enough to some local restaurants and supermarkets and very easy access to many of Tuscany's must see sights. As our first time to Italy, we were surprised how reasonable the food in restaurants in this area.
We booked through meon villas rather than Citalia and have a lovely welcome pack of bread, cheese, ham, fruit, water and wine which was really appreciated after a long day of travelling

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank kt3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have visited this property before and absolutely love the location. Great swimming pool and views over olive trees, vines and hills. Very peaceful but with other holidaymakers around for company. Some very good local restaurants if you look hard for them. There is an efficient train station three miles away in Montelupo with direct trains to Florence which we would recommend. However the apartment really needs updating as it is getting shabby and had not been cleaned well. The owners are charming and sell wine and olive oil and are very helpful. No sign of a Citalia rep which was surprising.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank grownupUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limite Sull'Arno
21.1 mi away
Artimino Apartments
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
10.9 mi away
Agriturismo Colleverde
Agriturismo Colleverde
#1 of 19 in Terricciola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Borgo Filicardo
Borgo Filicardo
#6 of 15 in Montespertoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Querciole
Le Querciole
#4 of 14 in Casciana Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
23.0 mi away
La Rocca Del Maestrino
La Rocca Del Maestrino
#7 of 8 in Quarrata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Di Montereggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Montereggi

Property: Borgo Di Montereggi
Address: Via Guido Palandri n. 20, 50050 Limite Sull'Arno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Limite Sull'Arno
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Limite Sull'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Di Montereggi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the green of the hills of the Arno valley to approximately 1 kilometer from the country of Limite - in the beautiful center of Tuscany - the Borgo di Montereggi is placed in the heart of an estate of about 100 hectares mostly cultivated by olive trees. CasaleUntill 1970, the estate was inhabited from numerous families that, like it wants the tradition of the peasants, had in use not only the house but also an immense plot of land cultivated by olive trees and vineyards called in its entirety " the podere". With the advent of the industry in the course of the last years these presences have gone disappearing leaving the houses empty and destined to the degradation. The will not to disperse our history has stimulated us in converting the village - whose origin dates at 1600 - in 12 apartments that are perfectly integrated with the surrounding atmosphere and conserve the taste and the typical typology of the Tuscan architecture, all the rooms are supplied of own bath. So still today it is possible to rediscover those feelings, emotions and scents that belong to our tradition and history. The compound is situated in panoramic position and to testimony of its optimal location the Etruscan settlement of the Parco di Montereggi rises in the immediate vicinities, dated at the 5th century BC, today a center of extraordinary interest for archaeological studies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Di Montereggi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Montereggi Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing