We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Was Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Turda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner Was Excellent”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I was visiting Salina Turda (the salt mines) and stopped by for dinner with friends on our way back to Cluj. The food was excellent and the menu most interesting -- my dish - Tired Dracula's Dick -- sort of a pork meatloaf with mushrooms. The hunter's plate for two was also excellent - bear, boar, deer, rabbit and quail served up very nicely. The staff was superb - the waiter spoke excellent English and was very friendly. A relaxing environment with rich Transylvania hunting lodge décor. Well-recommended as a place to get a flavour for old Transylvania in a relaxing, friendly environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
32
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My partner and I actually stayed here quite a while ago, in the summer of 2009, for one night during a pretty hectic tour of Romania, and what a fantastic place to stay! Even though all the places we stayed in Romania were fantastic, the food wonderful and hospitality second to none, this place was particularly special and memorable.

The hotel decor was very much in keeping with the Dracula / hunter theme throughout, and although some may describe as OTT it was not tacky like you would imagine if e.g. the UK tried such a thing, but beautifully done to a very high quality.

Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable and, like the rest of the hotel, and beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, including the bathroom, which was spotlessly clean.

The hotel staff were incredibly welcoming, friendly and accommodating, not to mention professional. They spoke fluent English (and a number of other languages too, it seems) yet were patient with (didn't laugh in our faces, anyway!) our pitiful attempts to speak Romanian!

The restaurant was on a covered 'patio' in a charming garden, and the hunter theme ran through here. The food on offer was awesome! We had (what I think was called) the hunter's platter - enough food for 4, not just the 2 of us! I had to go and lie down afterwards because I was so full, so I didn't sample a dessert, but the selection looked fantastic. Shame, but my fault for being such a pig (and theirs for offering such delicious fayre!) The platter included venison, wild boar (my partner often talks about this still!) and bear (yes bear!), as well as a number of other divine meats and accompaniments. The service here was again excellent. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous too, and the staff happy to prepare e.g. eggs to your liking. Bearing in mind we had eaten so well the night before I did not have much, but it was lovely. My partner, a 6'6" rugby player who eats constantly, did, though, and was not hungry again until lunch time - unheard of!

After our mammoth dinner went down, we had an incredibly restful night's sleep; the bed was divinely comfortable, the room quiet and cool... Perfect.

We were very sad to leave and were considering seeing if we could book in for a second night, be we had a tight schedule to keep so, sadly, went on our way, but we certainly plan to return!

While the hotel may be seen as expensive compared to Romania's average, for the experience, quality and hospitality it is well worth it, and comparable in price with vastly inferior accommodation in other EU countries; to find comparable accommodation / service in another country you would pay much, much more.

In summary: absolutely fantastic, thank you so much Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula House!

Room Tip: None; room we were given was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

After reading a few reviews we weren't sure what to expect but we were very impressed with this hotel!
We loved the Dracula hunter/castle theme since we were in Romania during halloween. Everything about this hotel was great. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The decor throughout the hotel was perfect, in keeping with the Dracula theme, even the bathroom with the stone work on the walls.
The food was good and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prairiegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

we visited the town last week with our little daughter(almost 5 years old), what can I say, I could 't take her out of the room.She was fascinated from the stonewall witch separate the living area from the bedroom area. When we arrived in the restaurant, she could't take her eyes from the animals, witch are exposed. I sincerely suggest to try the venison( if you like game). It is family owned hotel, it is not big, it has a fabulous garden.

Room Tip: room number 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hotimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very fake Transylvania castle verging on Disney -but this is Transylvania! Fascinating rooms with spiked cast iron beds and bare stones walls a bit on small side. Rooms are quiet as hotel is down a side street. Wireless internet works in all rooms. Nice garden area to sit out in. Dining rooms also quirkily furnished. Food at dinner was surprisingly good, good wines -breakfast fairly standard fair.Be aware smoking is allowed in parts of restaurant (we never discovered precisely which) . Staff very friendly and helpful.
Turda is a quiet, pleasant town - very Romanian. Looks lovely in the night time as it is well lit.
Overall is was a very memorable experience a change from the bland, the ordinary. It is probably one stay you will remember long after most others - which is why logically it should be 4* but the experience lifts it to 5* - and my wife found the whole experience memorable/different!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I visited the place after I found out about it in the salt mine area. Me and my friend had some dificulties in finding the location according to GPS, but when we finally reached, we declared that the search was 100% worth. The castle is not as big as in the pictures, but it is decorated in details, everything was chosen according to good taste and the owner saved no resource in doing this job. We didn't stay over niight, just went there in huge hunger. I declare the soups great (I had beans soup with smoked pork, smashed potatoes and Cordon bleu, my friend ate beef soup and traditional pork stew with polenta). The pickles were a miracle. Service - A+. Everything in that place was so welcoming that we hardly left. I recommend the place to anyone who wants to indulge himself in good taste, good environment, good people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rothma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

After we got over a huge deer head with antlers looking over our bed in the matrimonial suite, we had to deal with remains of bears, pigs, cats etc adorning the walls of the dining room. But hey, it's different. There was an overlay of a Dracula theme - completely irrelevant of course, but again adding to a weirdness. I like a little wierd / different in hotels. And underlying all this was a friendly service and comfortable hotel. It certainly seemed the best of the hotel options in Turda and it was wonderfully located in the middle of town - and walking distance to the old entrance to the great Turda salt mine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turda
0.9 mi away
Salis Hotel & Medical Spa
16.6 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#10 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
126 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunGarden Hotel
SunGarden Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turda
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
407 reviews
17.2 mi away
Deja Vu
Deja Vu
#22 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
79 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#11 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel

Property: Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel
Address: Strada Sulutiu Sterca 4-6, Turda 401076, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Turda
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Turda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing