We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little oasis in Turda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Turda
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little oasis in Turda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It's a very cool little hotel, with great decor. We went with 2 very young kids and the staff was sweet and kind with them. The eldest enjoyed the little fish pond and our general stay. The hotel/ restaurant has its own private parking, which helped as it is in the middle of town. We went to the Turda salt mine, the whole purpose of our trip and it was close by.
Our waitress at their restaurant was a little forgetful on one of the evenings, even though we were the only customers left, but she was nice enough and knocked the forgotten item off the bill. The food is really good too.
As for whether we would stay again or not, perhaps, but not with the kiddies! If we were to go the salt mines again for an extended period of time (5-7) days, we would probably opt for a cheaper pension instead nearby. Unfortunately the little town doesn't offer too much else to do.
We didn't book ahead of time, we just popped in, which caused some (expected) little problem (we were staying Wednesday & Thursday night, which pushed into the weekend bookings); it was resolved with us getting a slightly larger & pricier room for the two nights. It would've been slightly cheaper had we only stayed one night in a slightly smaller but equally nice room. This we expected, since we drive around without plans!

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you don't like climbing, ask for a floor on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmteodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were surprised to notice on arrival that the price displayed in the reception is less than that we had to pay as Booking.com clients, despite the "Guarantee of the best price" advertised by this site. We received the explanation that Booking charge a fee. I have asked an explanation also to the reservation site and thay answered that we had to claim before making the check out. My advise is to check the price on the hotel site, don't trust in the "Guarantee of the best price" offered by Booking.com. They even refuse to display my review on their site, on the site appears only the score awarded (8,8) and "There are no comments available for this review".
The hotel is very interesting, nice and original arhitecture and design in the style of a medieval castle. Breakfast is continental and poor considering tarrifs applied (as beverage, only a glass of juice, and a tea or coffee; preferably seek water because you get a one liter bottle) . The food is very good but much more expensive than other places in Turda.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Give, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having been to Romania many times and enjoying every trip immensely, we never went to Turda before this year ans stayed in the most fantastic, exciting, peculiar and original hotel we ever stayed in on one of our many travels. Strongly recommended! Do not let the access to the hotel in the narrow back street keep you away, go inside and see! And the food! And where in the World can you choose a menu item called (please forgive me, but that's what it's called!); a Vampires Dick! It's great!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olsen153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Its like a hunters castle inside.... the rooms are well designed with rustic stone walls and feel. We had a huge stags dear head and antlers looking at us as we lay in bed ready to go to bed! Kids liked it. It was very clean and service was was very good. Dinner was a bit expensive but good to try some 'bear meat' sausage...Breakfast was basic but good. Great for a one night stop-over with kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101Tourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
226 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Hotel itself it's realy nice, a lot of impresive paintings and sculptures and so on.... very good food and nice staff for a slamm city in Romania.
But the service for this hotel , like food and drinks, etc..... are to expensive. Much more expensive in comparation with other good places in Turda.
I supose you pay more to eat inthat place and to sleep in that tematic rooms. If you can afofrd it you can try this interesting experiwnce, but if you are short of money do not go here, they will rip you off.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RaduCostea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Enjoyed a single night in this slightly bonkers hotel, good food and service, located close to the very pleasant town centre. 2-3 miles from the Turda salt-mine, which is a must see and not at all what we were expecting!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenname186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I was visiting Salina Turda (the salt mines) and stopped by for dinner with friends on our way back to Cluj. The food was excellent and the menu most interesting -- my dish - Tired Dracula's Dick -- sort of a pork meatloaf with mushrooms. The hunter's plate for two was also excellent - bear, boar, deer, rabbit and quail served up very nicely. The staff was superb - the waiter spoke excellent English and was very friendly. A relaxing environment with rich Transylvania hunting lodge décor. Well-recommended as a place to get a flavour for old Transylvania in a relaxing, friendly environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turda
17.3 mi away
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
#2 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#15 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SunGarden Hotel
SunGarden Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#11 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Tudor Turda
Casa Tudor Turda
#4 of 16 in Turda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel

Property: Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel
Address: Strada Sulutiu Sterca 4-6, Turda 401076, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Turda
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Turda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hunter Prince Castle & Dracula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing