We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food and warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Inn

The Fountain Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Whiteparish B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good pub food and warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Called in here with friends on Saturday 23rd Feb 2013 just before the rugby match and wondered whether it could be too late to eat. No problem, the owner checked with the lady chef and all was well. We ate the home made curry dish in front of the fire and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Good beer in good company we could not want for more. The TV was not intrusive and it was fun listening to the odd locals comments too. Thankfully The Fountain saved our day after the shocking experience at the Green Dragon, Alderbury. (see my review elsewhere). We will be back again later in the summer. Thank you!

Room Tip: Although we only visited here to eat on this occasion I have stayed here many years ago and found ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tono88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
16
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

i recently stayed at the fountain inn for one night. I could not check in until 6pm as they were not open and i was not made aware of this at the time of booking. It was a major inconvenience. Upon arrival the owner i presume was very rude and unwelcoming. The room was was small and very cold, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, leaving you with back ache in the morning. I could also hear everything from the pub below. When i entered the bar for some food everyone just stared, cleary obvious i was not a regular and did not belong. Traveling as a single female, this was very intimidating. The only saving grace was the food. My dinner was delicious and presented well, same for the breakfast. I wouldnt recommend this as a getaway!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseylou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We came here for three nights to get away from it all with the dogs. The rooms were spotless. The cleaner even cleaned the dogs food bowl! The room was lovely, the village quaint and community spirited. The locals were friendly and welcoming in the pub too. Food plentiful and breakfast wholesome while at the same time accomodating any dietary requirements. Wonderful to find somewhere that served outdoor bred (free range) bacon etc. I was able to eat ethically.
The dogs were welcomed and given dog treats in the bar too. We are responsible dog owners and we towelled them down and wiped their feet before bringing them through the door and always kept them with us but you'd never believe dogs had been there; not a hair or a whiff.
What a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabzmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights, could not get into accommdation until 6pm due to the fact that the pub isn's open in the day. Liked the Pub its self , not impressed with rooms. First night we eat in the bar was very nice so was looking forward to trying something diffierent the next nite . but was not as good. breakfast average. would not rush back.

Room Tip: not at the front facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at the Fountain for 2 nights with my mum and my 9month old daughter. The room was lovely very clean and beds were very comfortable. Very accomadating with regurds to my daughter offering to provide a bed guard ( we had brought a travel cot) providing a highchair. The food was very very nice and were good portions, people were very chatty and made you feel a home. would stay again:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmah208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I booked the hotel through booking.com and when we got to the pub at 2300 hours was told that the hotel had been fully booked for months even though we had booked the room that day. They did find us another room at a thoroughly unsuitable noisy place nearby but we had to drive home. They were entirely unpleasant - would avoid in future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

stayed here for bank holiday weekend ,cannot recomend this place enough, food was great ,friendly staff ,nice quiet location, thanks val and co for making our stay a good break
bill & hayley

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: The Street, Whiteparish SP5 2SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Whiteparish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whiteparish
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Whiteparish, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing