We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a fabulous stay we had with very friendly and welcoming hosts.”
Review of Newton Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Whiteparish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a fabulous stay we had with very friendly and welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Do yourself a favor and try this BB you will not look back...

.... WE WILL GO BACK...... 100% IN EVERY WAY.
Could not fault this bb in anyway.Would give it an extra star in fact.
So friendly and helpful hosts, breakfast is the best we have had by far with so much choice. Rooms are romantic 4 poster beds which are so clean with everything your need for your stay. We booked two nights here at the end of Jan 2011. well worth the money...
Denis and Michelle Hubble

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellehubbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    11
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
167
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break, with one other couple at Newton Farmhouse. There is a happy atmosphere, the location is good and rooms lovely. Lizzie and family and staff are so friendly and effortlessly make you feel at home. The food is excellent too. I mentioned I wanted to write some Christmas cards and immediately the fire was stoked up in a comfy sitting room and coffee and homemade biscuits provided, without needing to ask! We hoped for a comfortable and relaxing break and this was exactly what we achieved! We'll definitely make time for a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I was searching for a romantic getaway for my partner and I in the run up to Xmas, and found the Newton farmhouse by searching for four-poster beds on the enjoyengland website. I specifically asked for the Trafalgar room which is definitely the grandest and most romantic.

The price had seemed a little over-indulgent at first, but on arrival we were welcomed by David, Lizzie, Poppy and Guiness, and when we were shown to our room I realised it was worth every penny! That feeling didn't end when we were treated to a lavish home cooked breakfast in the morning sun in the conservatory. Not only that, the night we stayed there had been a foot of snowfall, and some of the other guests were struggling to meet their arrangements for the day, and Lizzie and David could not have been more obliging, offering alternative directions and lifts in some cases! You couldn't ask for more gracious hosting, and you would certainly never see that in a hotel!

My partner and I loved our stay. It was very conveniently located with the New Forest on your doorstep, very clean and supremely comfortable. We even took a sneaky peak at the other rooms on the day we left, and whilst the Trafalgar was definitely the most luxurious, there wasn't much in it - all had very similar tasteful fittings, and I think every one had a four poster bed. I can highly recommend this wonderful farmhouse retreat for any purpose, but especially if like us you are simply looking to get away from everything for a day or two. We will most certainly be back in the New Year!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipx69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I travel widely through the UK and prefer to stay in more local friendly B&Bs than large hotels, so I have experienced many different places throughout the UK. I have to say that David & Lizzie and their staff are the most welcoming, thoughtful and friendly hosts I have met. The farmhouse is very close to Salisbury but also very rural. David & Lizzie have a large field with sheep, hens and three newly aquired Alpacas. The standard of the accomodation is quintessential country farmhouse but to a five star standard. There is a lovely selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, seeds, pastries and local produce full English cooked breakfast. The rooms all have a full range of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, horlicks, biscuits and bottled water. The beds are sumptuously comfortable with lovely thick feather duvets and feather pillows and top quality linen. I stayed in the Trafalgar room - which is like a suite! It is a large bedroom with a large sofa and four poster bed, huge built in wardrobe, small vestibule, large separate toilet and large spacious bathroom - all top quality fittings and an excellent powerful shower. Although I was on buisness it felt like a holiday!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I've stayed at Newton Farmhouse several times now - and finally I'm getting round to writing a review! (Sorry Lizzie and David!) What a wonderful place to stay - an ideal location for Salisbury and Wiltshire to the north, and the New Forest and the coast to the south. The immediate surroundings are well worth exploring too - we've done a lovely walk near Downton (great pubs there too), and the walk from the guesthouse to Whiteparish is well worth doing as well (and more great pubs).
You're treated like long-lost friends or one of the family - I've never had a warmer welcome. We've only ever stayed in one room - the former garden room C, now converted into a swish suite, which is really lovely (if a little indulgent). It means you get your own private entrance, and a beautiful view straight out into Lizzie and David's lovely garden. Great to wake up to in the mornings.
I think the main reason we keep going back to Newton Farmhouse is the breakfast! In fact, it's the fruit salad and the huge dish of yoghurt and berries that's there each morning. Delicious. Of course, the full cooked breakfast is great as well. And the selection of cakes and pastries... And everything else!
It's a really lovely, warm, welcoming, peaceful place to stay, with plenty to do nearby and also a great place to go and unwind a bit. The dogs are a joy (hilarious). Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Ideally located to discover the New Forest or the hidden gems of Wiltshire, this bed and breakfast deserves all the heaps of praise it is receiving. Lizzie and David are such welcoming hosts, the breakfast is fantastic and the rooms are classy and so comfortable.
We have been there 5 times and every time has been a pure pleasure. I can't wait for next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in this B&B. The owners David & Lizzie were very welcoming and David really helpful with ideas on places to visit and directions! The cleanliness was excellent. The location was ideal for the New Forest, pretty villages , Salisbury and many other areas to explore!
The B&B was just set back from a busy road but the road noise was not too excessive and the house was well hidden from the road.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiteparish
7.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
285 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
12.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Farmhouse

Property: Newton Farmhouse
Address: Newton Farm Moor Lane, Whiteparish SP5 2QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Whiteparish
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whiteparish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated 16th Century farmhouse B&B, 10 minutes south of Salisbury, 5 minutes north of the beautiful New Forest. 4 Rooms with 4 poster beds, a suite overlooking the garden with private patio area, sitting room and bunk room for children. An outdoor swimming pool and large garden. Fabulous breakfast with fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, yoghurt, traditional English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Newton Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Farmhouse Whiteparish, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing