We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Salisbury”
Review of Hillside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillside B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Odstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a nice stay. The owner was very pleasant. Quaint place close to Salisbury. You'll need a car to enjoy area and drive to town, Stonehenge, and Bath. Nice pub and restaurant (Yew Tree) next door. They had in room continental breakfast, so convienent for making your own schedule. However, not conducive for interacting with other guests or owners to gather travel tips. Rooms and bathrooms are on the small size, but acceptable especially with reasonable price. Our only issue had to do with electrical outlets. Several did not work, and the main one with surge protector actually drained my tablet instead of charged it. I actually thought it killed my 2week old,$500.00 device, until we got to our next hotel a day later and realized in 30 minutes it went from 50% to 0 %. Overall, a nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a fantasic place to stay so homely friendly good value for money lovely surroundings yew tree pub next door parking when ever I visit this area again i will be booking in here we loved it Jane and josephine Leicestershire

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josiedragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Excellent small village just outside Salisbury. Helpful and friendly proprietor. We liked the format of small but compact rooms, but would not want to stay there for more than a couple of nights at a time, due to the space consideration. There was good breakfast facilities and a fridge. No traffic noise but near to a pub that apparantly serves meals although we did not partake. Although it would be more expensive to provide brown bread in the morning that would have been welcome rather than the white loaf provided
We felt that the owners were slightly resting on their laurels and a daily inspection of all the facilities and services would make it perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthur092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed at the Hillside for 2 nights over a weekend. Even though the weather was terrible the B+B was lovely. In a very quiet location in Odstock village. The chalet was lovely and warm and clean, with a nice supply of continental breakfast, with a fridge and a microwave. The Yew tree pub 2 doors away had superb beer, and meals, and a lovely atmosphere. Situated 10 minutes from the center of salisbury we used a park and ride (5 minutes drive from the B+B). Made visiting salisbury so easy. We had a relaxing stay and would definatly recommend the Hillside. Thankyou very much to the hosts Carol and Jeff.
Rik and Erica

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riik_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed at The Hillside in Odstock, very near Salisbury for several days on our honeymoon in March 2009. We highly rate the town, the proprietors (Carol and Jeff) and this lodging! This was an ideal, central location from which to see Salisbury and use as a convenient point to reach Oxford, Bath and Beaulieu and a few other areas. The rooms are very private, baths ensuite and all is new and extremely well cared-for. There is also a larger “cabin” suitable for larger families, and a large garden in the back to relax. This would be an ideal place to stay for several days, and see nearby attractions and museums - as we did. Salisbury itself is a very quick drive, full of plenty of attractions in addition to the cathedral. The hosts are very interesting, know the area well and really were quite attentive. The hosts have a very interesting history in Odstock and the area is very quiet. This was the ideal stay in the region. We would return and we'd suggest a stay! Thanks very much, Carol and Jeff, for being very gracious hosts!! Jon+Linda

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed at the Hillside while driving from London to Bath.
It was nice and clean, and the owner had set up an extra bed in their family cabin (as we are a family of 5).

they had supplies available for a continental breakfast, and the price was right.

All in all, this is a good option around Salibury.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JonnyOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yvan33100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odstock
2.4 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
585 reviews
3.0 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
321 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Address: Hillside Whitsbury Road, Odstock, Salisbury SP5 4JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Odstock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Odstock
Price Range: £61 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside B&B is in the heart of the Wiltshire countryside in a village called Odstock, around 3 miles south of Salisbury. There is a Scandinavian cabin and three rooms which are separate from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing