We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the Pub”
Review of Hillside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillside B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Odstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This B and B on the south side of Salisbury has a unique style. The accommodation is outside the main house in either a large cabin or in an adjacent building which has been modelled to provide three rooms. Breakfast is a do it yourself job provided from an in room kitchenette equipped with a fridge, kettle. toaster, microwave and provisioned with fresh sliced bread (white and wholemeal), fresh milk, butter, jams and marmalades, cereals and plenty of clean crockery and cutlery to get on with it. This is quite an unusual model for a bed a breakfast and judging by some reviews, is not to everyone's' taste but it worked for us for one night as the sun was shining and we could sit on the lawn with tea and toast and read the morning papers right up until 1030am.

We arrived late but were made welcome. We were allocated room 3 which is a twin and yes, it is small and I think the lack of space would be challenging in the longer term. The beds were clean and comfortable but very low so if you have creaky knees, beware!. The consequences of a long drive were kicking in and we slept comfortably and well. The en suite is also very compact but you can get the basics sorted without the need to linger too long. Given the limited space, Mrs B would have preferred a small dressing table for the morning beautification process but there is nowhere to place one. There are some janitorial bits and pieces needing attention (en suite door and lavatory seat in particular need attention) and the room needs regular doses of good Wiltshire air and a lick of fresh paint.

In summary, if you hanker after space and all the trimmings, then there are plenty of budget hotels and pretentious bed and breakfast establishments in Salisbury - but you will be paying more. One real plus point is that Hillside B and B is right next to the pub and that can't be bad!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BasilOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend have recently been in this hotel. The guests are very polite (we were late but they waited us without any complain).The room is simple but nice and the most important thing very clean. There are micowave, cattle and other stuffs usefull for your breakfast/nosh.
Easy to find if you have a car, 5 min. from the center.
The room has is own entrance with a nice lawn in front of it.
I'd reccomend this accomodation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara_pi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked a room at the Hillside B&B for myself and my husband for one night, following a day surgery at Salisbury District Hospital. We found it clean, comfortable and the garden was really lovely. The owner was very friendly and even asked what type of bread we liked (having arrived early and just called in to explain that we may be arriving later than expected due to the surgery).
Room no 1 was ready and we were given the key and the owner said we could make tea/coffee and sit in the garden if we would like. The fridge was stocked with 2 pints of fresh milk, a carton of orange juice, butter, jams and marmalade, as well as the bread and plenty of cereals to choose from. After being discharged from the hospital we enjoyed a superb meal at the Yew Tree pub. Sat at the next table were 2 people who sounded Scandinavian. When they stood up they had to bend their heads to miss the old beams in the pub. They spoke to my husband and asked about his bandaged hand and when they left they wished him well. When we went back to the Hillside, they were also staying there. They obviously had showers and couldn't have had problems with height. I certainly didn't and the shower was great, hot and excellent pressure. I think the previous rating was truly unfounded and will hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is more like a motel than a B&B. Granted, mein host Jeffrey was quite friendly, the room was reasonably clean, there were plentiful (but very basic) in-room breakfast supplies, and there is a great little pub next door. The price and location were also good.

However, Room 1 was extremely pokey, the bed took up 90% of the available space, we had nowhere to put our bags, the bathroom was ridiculously small, the shower head was contrary and we challenge Jeffrey (a healthy 6'4" chap himself) to take a shower in the cubicle built for midgets.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 1 unless you are under 5 ft in height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quokka_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffreyD186414, Owner at Hillside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We find this review unjust from this guest. We have been an established B&B for a number of years. The measurements of the rooms are on the website. We would advise Joules to study the website before booking so he could book to suit his personal requiremnets. We do have the large log cabin which sleeps 6 The rooms all have a kitchen with a fresh loaf of white and brown bread, fresh orange juice, jams and honey, 6 varieties of cereal fresh milk, sugar coffee and tea. There is also a microwave and fridge. This idea is very popular with our guests and does say on the website. A good proportion of our lovely returning guests come back specially for this service and some have their breakfast in our delightful garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really lovely Scandinavian style cabin in the garden of the house, lots of space and excellent facilities. Really lovely people and right next door to a pub.
Only thing I would have liked more would have been a small gas hob or such like for cooking, but there's a microwave and kettle etc so all good really. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feralpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A warm welcome from the owner after arrival. The is a good size bed, shower and kitchen.
The breakfast was served in the room, altough small, it worked out well.
The garden is spendid, and there is a good pub next door!

Room Tip: Out of three, we had the front room, no complains. Quit a lot of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed with my parents and adult sister in Nov 13. The log cabin is excellent, clean and spacious. Perfect for us 4.
Lovely pub next door for dinner and the owners are lovely.
Loads of food for breakfast inc loaf of bread and variety of cereals.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyEdwards8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odstock
1.8 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
604 reviews
2.4 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
2.8 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 59 in Salisbury
266 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Address: Hillside Whitsbury Road, Odstock, Salisbury SP5 4JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Odstock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Odstock
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside B&B is in the heart of the Wiltshire countryside in a village called Odstock, around 3 miles south of Salisbury. There is a Scandinavian cabin and three rooms which are separate from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hillside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing