We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Rollestone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rollestone Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Shrewton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in June en route to get a ferry to Spain. We stayed in the Lady Harriet room which is an elegant, spacious room with a large en-suite. The whole house is beautiful. Tastefully decorated and comfortable. We took a pre dinner drink in the small lounge then had an excellent dinner in the dining room. I can thoroughly recommend the cassoulet. I saw a lovely plant from the window of the downstairs loo and asked the owner about it, she wasn't sure but at breakfast told me the name, they had taken the trouble to find out for me. Breakfast was gorgeous. I'd certainly stay again and would recommend this lovely place to anyone. The stairs are steep so if you are unsure ask for the downstairs bedroom.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Rollestone Manor, we are so pleased you enjoyed staying in our grade II listed house and enjoyed all of the character it offers.

It is lovely to hear you were comfortable and were able to make use of our restaurant and lounge area.
We hope you have had a wonderful time in Spain and hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    43
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
170
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Presumably this doesn’t meet an ‘official’ definition of a hotel, but it is really more like a small county hotel than a B&B. As well as breakfast, you can get an excellent dinner in the evening and there’s a cosy bar. There aren’t actually many places to stay or to eat in the Stonehenge area, so it’s great to have somewhere lovely to stay which also does great dinners.
The rooms are lovely, furnished with antique furniture. We booked a room with a four poster bed and roll-topped bath in the room and it was spacious and delightful.
This is a lovely location. It’s just a few minutes drive to Stonehenge so a good choice if you’re planning to book for one of the special early-morning visits to Stonehenge, when you’re allowed to actually walk amongst the stones before normal opening hours. See the English Heritage web page for information on how to do this. This is close enough that you can comfortably make an early morning visit to the Stones and get back for a slap up full English breakfast – a great day! Many people come to Stonehenge and only visit Stonehenge itself, but the landscape is full of interesting monuments from the Neolithic and Bronze ages which can become the focus of some lovely walks. There’s more information about the wider ‘Stonehenge landscape’ on the National Trust website.
Only downside is that we found it a little pricey but it may be that this is simply a more expensive area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for your great feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to hear that you made full use of our facilities along with trying out the restaurant and were not disappointed.
It sounds like you enjoyed visiting the area and historic sites we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed at the rollestone manor a few times now and each visit has been wonderful. Paula and Cyrillic make you feel at home straight away. The rooms are superb and the food is amazing. If you are ever in the Salisbury area and want somewhere special to stay then look no further. Can't wait for the next visit

Room Tip: Stairs a a little steep so it may be advisable to ask for the ground floor if you have difficulty wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review and comments, it is lovely to know that you enjoying staying with us and are comfortable whilst doing so and most importantly keep returning when possible.
We look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay.
Kind Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay, we were sad we only stayed here for one night! The rooms and grounds are stunning, the hosts and waitress are so lovely and can't do enough for you - and the food is to die for!! Absolutely delicious. Dinner and breakfast.
Is around a 5 minute drive from Stonehenge. So convenient. If you are looking for somewhere to stay near to Stonehenge - this is the place.
Faultless. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Mrs Smith room on the ground floor which was set up as a twin. Beautiful views onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire3596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Rollestone Manor, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for visiting the World Heritage site of Stonehenge.
It was lovely to read your feedback and know that you found all of our staff friendly and welcoming. We hope you can visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Cyrille, Paula & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were greeted at the door and taken up to our room by a very friendly young lady. The room, Lady Harriet, was huge. It had lovely views and loads of character through the furnishings. Absolutely immaculate.
We had a pre dinner drink in the lovely garden served by Paula, charming and efficient. We enjoyed an excellent dinner served by two first class young staff. The food was superb. I had a risotto which was just perfect, one of the best I've eaten. Everything was well presented, tasted great, and nothing was too much trouble. After our meal, we returned to the bar where we met Cyrille, our other host. Cyrille is originally from Brittany and we found him to be a very entertaining character. We had a good chat about Stonehenge and Cyrille showed us a lovely book of photographs of it.
After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed our breakfast before leaving to visit Stonehenge. We had a very enjoyable stay at this truly beautiful house tended by hosts with character and that personal touch. There is no doubt that we will return here. Nice one Cyrille (and Paula)!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed in many bed & breakfast places throughout the UK and Europe and this is undoubtedly the best we have ever stayed in. The welcome was friendly and helpful. The room was huge and spotlessly clean. As for the food, the menu choices and the quality of the food would put many top rated restaurants to shame. We stayed for three nights and shall surely be back again. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your three night stay at the Rollestone Manor, we are so appreciative of your comments and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again. It is lovely to know that you were comfortable and your room was spacious enough for you both. We are so pleased you enjoyed dining in the restaurant and found the general service was of a high standard.Kind Regards Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having looked at previous reviews we had high expectations.
Every thing was surpassed. A great full English breakfast was just superb.
But the evening meal even if you are staying it is advisable to book. Was first class.
Well prepared and served.
The staff at all times were friendly but not over attentive. Just first class.
Little extras such as guidebooks and worthwhile reading material in the rooms made its just that little bit special.

Room Tip: This is building is Grade II listed and can trace it's history back to the Domesday Book. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review and lovely comments.
We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at the Rollestone Manor and were able to dine in our restaurant, we hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewton
6.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
273 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
298 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rollestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rollestone Manor

Property: Rollestone Manor
Address: 2 Rollestone Road, Shrewton SP3 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Shrewton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rollestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rollestone Manor is a privately owned beautiful grade II listed historic house, located just 1.5 miles from Stonehenge visitors centre. Our 7 bedrooms have their own individual style and ensuite facilities, furnished with antique furniture and modern technology. We have one room located on the ground floor - ideal if the steep staircase will cause a problem. Evening meals are served each night from 6.30pm, and booking a table is recommended. We are ideally located for touring Salisbury and South Wiltshire and minutes from the A303 - the main road from the East to the South West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rollestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rollestone Manor Shrewton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing