We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Village Pub”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

The Roebuck Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sixpenny Handley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roebuck Inn
St Ives, Ringwood
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Friendly Village Pub”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I finished back at the Roebuck for lunch after a morning walking in the area. The affable landlord was happy to engage us in conversation and told us that the food served is freshly cooked by his wife. The menu was what you would expect for a non-pretentious village pub, with the addition of a specials board. I had the peppered pork casserole with rice, whilst my wife had a well filled tuna mayonnaise baguette. Although not an exciting menu the portions were good and my food was hot and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Roebuck is the centre of the Dorset village of Sixpenny Handley wich revels in its narrow main street and 20mph speed limit.
The Roebuck itself is plain but it benefits from a particularly friendly landlord who is eager to please. He delivers in spades. Beers available include those from the local micro brewery as well as Ringwood. The food lacks pretension, is tasty, reasonable and homely. I had the peppered pork casserole with rice and a poppadum (£7.95), which was absolutely delicious. We also had a basic sausage, egg and chips (£6.25). Many of the pubs in this area delight in being gastro in style and charge accordingly. The Roebuck is a pleasant and plain alternative.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We popped in here for a meal on Saturday night. We received a very warm welcome. The menu was non-standard pub fayre which was good to see. Our meals were excellent and my OH is still going on about the chicken sauce! The beer was excellent also. We'd love to come back sometime when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilsaB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great food, great beer (6d Gold and Ringwood 49er). Very friendly landlord and Boxer dog. Very pleasant, small garden. Beautifully kept. Can recommend the minted lamb shank.advisable for larger groups to book

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Probuspilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

you will love all the home made on the menu i have been a chef all my life just retired.so i do know whats good.from sunday roast to fish in beer batter i wish i could find as good on the i.o.w..richard allen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1946to2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I live in the village, if your looking for fish and chips or home made meat pie their great. John and Ann are welcoming and the locals are friendly. If your camping in the area or passing through and are looking for good value the Roebuck is a good choice. Closed Mondays.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stopped here for lunch whilst attempting an 18 mile walk in the area. It was exactly what we wanted - home cooked food and very friendly hosts. They didn't mind us leaving a car here while we walked either. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sixpenny Handley
6.1 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#2 of 3 in Sixpenny Handley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Home Farm House
Home Farm House
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Saint Giles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.5 mi away
King John Inn
King John Inn
#1 of 1 in Tollard Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Property: The Roebuck Inn
Address: 22 High Street, Sixpenny Handley SP5 5NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sixpenny Handley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sixpenny Handley
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Sixpenny Handley
The Roebuck Inn Sixpenny Handley, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing