We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed there for 4 nits in total with one of night river trip in the middle. The welcome you receive on arrival with a cold juice and a cold scented towel really sets the tome for the excellent service you will receive at this resort. The staff cannot do enough for you. Their friendly, helpful service is wonderful and made us feel very welcome. The food in the restaurant is lovely and the chalets from the basic through to the more expensive are absolutely lovely, with great views of the forest and the well maintained gardens. The chalets are very comfortable and clean.

If we come back to Borneo we will definitely stay in the Sepilok Forest edge resort again. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The basic valets are lovely but if you upgrade the chalets are even nicer and well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    164
    72
    17
    12
See reviews for
68
229
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My primary purpose for coming to Sepilok was to see the orang utans and to check out some nice places to stay and hang out as i am anticipating a return trip in the coming months with some friends visiting Borneo from abroad. I feel truly lucky that i got myself ended up here at this small resort in the forest of Sepilok !
15-20 minutes walk to the rehabilitation centre and surrounded by greenery, this charming resort offers rooms from dorms beds to tastefully furnished standard and deluxe rooms in tropical garden settings. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the rooms rates are very reasonable. Services from the staff are very personal and the rooms are kept clean at all times.
The restaurant offers a very interesting range of fusion dishes which are fun to check out. a few things on the must try dessert menu included the wanton chocolate & roasted pineapples.
Free Wifi is available and a small pool in the garden is a great place to cool down after a hot & sweaty day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarawaklaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had lovely meals here. Good accommodation and friendly service. The cabins are comfortable and clean, walking distance to the orangutan sanctuary. Relaxing place to stay, beautiful gardens. They have a small pool on site

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PiafSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while we visited the Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary. It was a 15 minute walk to the sanctuary which made it easy to visit for the morning and afternoon feedings. We traveled with our two young boys and were able to book a room with an extra bed. The cabins are comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good but the selection is limited. We also ate lunch at the restaurant. The menu is not extensive but the food was good. The resort was very quiet and relaxing. There are board games in the restaurant and we saw a few other guests hanging out just playing games and having a drink. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJML_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

This is a nice spot within walking distance of the orangutan sanctuary - which is nice as you can go in the afternoon when there are less people. The gardens and pond are lovely and a super place to relax. The standard bungalows were nice with a small porch to sit outside and aircon to keep you comfortable at night. The bathrooms are small but fine. The food was excellent and worth the slightly higher price. Overall a good option in Sepilok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely, friendly staff and a great relaxing place in a very picturesque setting. We stayed in the double room which was basic but fine. The restaurant is nice - not cheap but good food though there should be more selection, especially for vegetarians. The tiny pool is a nice spot for relaxing in. The orang-utan centre is a 10 minute walk away

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcladley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandakan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Came here with a bunch of friends for a small getaway. The wooden chalets are quite a distance from each other which we prefer as it gives more privacy. The beds are super comfy. The staff was really friendly and very accommodative. The food is awesome! Haven’t had anything like this around here. It’s really east meets west kinda feel. What I enjoyed the most was chilling by the pool on the beanbag with the jungle surrounding while surfing the net with the free wifi! Will definitely come here again, the ground is just so open and welcoming.

Room Tip: - The best view is “Menanggul” as it is facing the forest reserve. - try the white fish tamu and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
559 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
#7 of 10 in Kinabatangan District
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Property: Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Mile 14, Sepilok, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort Sandakan Division

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing