We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven - A Must Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for one night and from the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful, friendly and laughing. We had booked the standard room and we were asked if we would like to be upgraded to the deluxe room. We looked at both rooms and I must say both room looked beautiful, traditional and well kept.

We went for the deluxe room and we had an excellent sleep. The food was beautiful, small tasty traditional menu for lunch and dinner which was good to perfection. We really enjoyed all meals we had here. Breakfast was good too.

The staff were so helpful advising us when was best to go to the different places around the hotel and arranged taxi's for us too. They were always wearing a smile and we really would have loved to spend longer here as the chalet was beautiful, peaceful and enjoyable.

Stay here without hesitation, it's like a bit of heaven.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nicely layout out and clean, the best room is any of the rooms here
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

This small resort is located close to the Orang Utan sanctuary and the Rainforest Discovery Center. I stayed here for 3 days on a business/leisure trip.
Great place to stay. The resort is set in beautiful tranquil gardens, the rooms are great with very comfortable beds, and nice furnishings. Staff are wonderful, plenty of smiles and very helpful. The food in the restuarant was great even with a limited menu and the setting just beautiful.
This is a great place for all types of travellers and for the budget traveller they have dorm type accommodation that still includes breakfast and use of all the facilities.

Room Tip: The climate here dictates that you should ask for an airconditioned room. All rooms have lovely view...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila000_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed there for 4 nits in total with one of night river trip in the middle. The welcome you receive on arrival with a cold juice and a cold scented towel really sets the tome for the excellent service you will receive at this resort. The staff cannot do enough for you. Their friendly, helpful service is wonderful and made us feel very welcome. The food in the restaurant is lovely and the chalets from the basic through to the more expensive are absolutely lovely, with great views of the forest and the well maintained gardens. The chalets are very comfortable and clean.

If we come back to Borneo we will definitely stay in the Sepilok Forest edge resort again. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The basic valets are lovely but if you upgrade the chalets are even nicer and well worth the money
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My primary purpose for coming to Sepilok was to see the orang utans and to check out some nice places to stay and hang out as i am anticipating a return trip in the coming months with some friends visiting Borneo from abroad. I feel truly lucky that i got myself ended up here at this small resort in the forest of Sepilok !
15-20 minutes walk to the rehabilitation centre and surrounded by greenery, this charming resort offers rooms from dorms beds to tastefully furnished standard and deluxe rooms in tropical garden settings. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the rooms rates are very reasonable. Services from the staff are very personal and the rooms are kept clean at all times.
The restaurant offers a very interesting range of fusion dishes which are fun to check out. a few things on the must try dessert menu included the wanton chocolate & roasted pineapples.
Free Wifi is available and a small pool in the garden is a great place to cool down after a hot & sweaty day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarawaklaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had lovely meals here. Good accommodation and friendly service. The cabins are comfortable and clean, walking distance to the orangutan sanctuary. Relaxing place to stay, beautiful gardens. They have a small pool on site

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PiafSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while we visited the Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary. It was a 15 minute walk to the sanctuary which made it easy to visit for the morning and afternoon feedings. We traveled with our two young boys and were able to book a room with an extra bed. The cabins are comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good but the selection is limited. We also ate lunch at the restaurant. The menu is not extensive but the food was good. The resort was very quiet and relaxing. There are board games in the restaurant and we saw a few other guests hanging out just playing games and having a drink. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJML_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

This is a nice spot within walking distance of the orangutan sanctuary - which is nice as you can go in the afternoon when there are less people. The gardens and pond are lovely and a super place to relax. The standard bungalows were nice with a small porch to sit outside and aircon to keep you comfortable at night. The bathrooms are small but fine. The food was excellent and worth the slightly higher price. Overall a good option in Sepilok.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
11.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
539 reviews
11.3 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Address: Sepilok, Mile 14 Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range: £35 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort Sandakan Division

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing