We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't actually stay here but stayed at Paganakan Dii based on the reviews on TA and Lonely Planet - and we cried when we came and had dinner here. The resort was beautiful, food tasty, choice of nice drinks and helpful staff. We wished we stayed here instead.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChelseaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

A peaceful place, not too far away from the Sandkan airport. The Chalets are small but cosy, bathroom is a little cramped but they have a private little balcony overlooking the beautiful forest.

The resort has a small path where you can go for a walk. The pool again is a small one, which had a few twigs and leaves because of the trees around but was inviting. The staff is extremely helpful and polite.

Value for money in short and a perfect destination in case going to Orangutan Sanctuary or the Rainforest Discovery Centre is on the agenda as both are walking distance, 5 mins and 20 mins respectively.

The only area of improvement from me would be the breakfast menu: Very little options and limited fare. The food was well made though, worth trying the Tenderloin steak and the Nasi options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhayTilwankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The room was in the longhouse. It had an okay size. The room was very dirty - it looked like it hadn't been cleaned very well for a very long time. The floor in the room was covered with a plastic grass carpet which felt dirty as well.
In the bathroom every crack in/by the walls looked moldy. It didn't seem clean either.

Because of the condition of the room and the rainy weather we decided to stay there only 1 night instead of 2. When we mentioned that we hadn't liked the state of the room to the staff at checkout, she said that it is like that when you book and stay in a budget room. So I guess if you want a clean room you should not book the budget room there?!

The common area was very nice and had semi-functional wifi. The food was okay as well.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lineogchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Perfect little spot. Is is not expensive, when you stay in cheaper lodge, and the staff treats you like a king. The cheaper rooms are super basic, but the breakfast and surroundings make up for that. When you living on a backpackers budget, I think this is your best bet in Sepilok. Even though its a big resort and it also houses some more expensive chalets, its still personal. The owner even brought us to Sandakan! After all the toast and butter as breakfast (if there was any) in all of the other places in Borneo, the breakfast was heavenly. Fresh fruit, cakes and cereals!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I am very sorry for writing a bad review but we were really not satisfied. The garden is heavenly nice, the swimming pool too. The chalets are nice from outside and inside, except the bathroom. Our bathroom in a D-Chalet was very dirty and ugly if you compare to the bedroom. We found a dead mice in the AC-box and during night we couldn't sleep because of the voice of the other mice. Next day we complained and the staff was smiling and promised to solve the problem, but nothing happenned, the second night we accepted that we have to sleep with mice. The breakfast that goes with the package was really very poor, the food is better if you order a la carte but we found it too expensive. very nice that you dont have other choice at Sepilok, as there are no restaurants there. You can go to other resort's restaurants to eat if you prefer, we found it afterwards. I don't advice to choose this resort unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tundiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I think I may have made a mistake in my booking and booked a double room instead of a chalet. I think I would have enjoyed the hotel more if the room was a chalet which I understand has air conditioning. It is so hot it really is needed to enjoy a comfortable night sleep so if you can afford it splurge for the chalet.

I really loved the dining area. I thought the food was okay (although breakfast was sparse) and the staff were nice. I didn't enjoy the pool that much. It is only about 30 cm deep and I'm not sure when it was last cleaned. The atmosphere of the dining area made up for that.

The location is good as it is about 1km from the Orangutan Centre.

Room Tip: Get a chalet
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nestled on the edge of the jungle a short walk away for the Orang-utan rehabilitation centre and a short taxi ride away from the Discovery centre. Villas are great value for money and sit around the main reception/restaurant area which also has a small swimming pool. We ate here as well with sumptuous breakfasts and wholesome evening meals. There are also a number of other hotels and restaurants along the same road which we should have tried - next time!

Room Tip: All room/villas very similar, there is also a main house that offers groups to be housed together.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
11.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
537 reviews
11.3 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Address: Sepilok, Mile 14 Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range: £37 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort Sandakan Division

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing