We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sepilok Nature Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night 15th March in a standard room which was spacious but fairly basic. The setting of the hotel however is quite stunning, with all of the rooms and the main building surrounding a 'lake' with bridges crossing the water and loads of plants. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and a very wide choice on the menu and very good prices. Breakfast was a'lacart and againg very good. The rooms may be basic but the service, surroundings and food make this hotel. It is also just a few minutes - walk from the Orangutan and sun bear centers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BucksKeentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Nature Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We felt this was the most 'touristy' place we stayed on our trip - I guess it didn't help that one of the guests was making a documentary at the Orang Utan sanctuary and proceeded to inform everyone else by particpating in loud video conferences every meal time.
The food was disappointing - rubbery & bland, possibly this was because the resort was in the process of building a new dining room at the time.
All in all I'd rather have spent the 2 nights we were there somewhere else - maybe the centre of Sandakan would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy_Fruitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I thought this was a great place to experience the nature sanctuary. The rooms were a very high standard, food decent and its very conveniently located. Naturally its not a place you'd stay for an extended period of time and more a staging post for the near by attractions. But for this I'd highly recommend it. Watch out for the flying squirrel who lives in the tree near the restaurant!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FBrown1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay here in February. Staff was very helpful in arranging tour and bus ticket to Kota Kinabalu..rooms are clean and updated. Grounds are incredible, pool area is great, although they charge extra for using pool, which wasn't much but kind of irritating. Overall really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed her before heading to Lankayan Island. It has a nice 'lodge type' set up, but without the animals and tours, it almost feels a little fake. The staff were extremely friendly, and we found the outdoor area nice to relax in the evening. Food was good and cheap. Rendang and Pad Thain were lovely. Breakfasts were very nice too. (preferably it would be 3.5 stars - good)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unbiasedview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ok, so it's not a 5 star resort, but if you are looking for a beautiful and peaceful location this is it. Looking at all of the other resorts within walking distance of the Orangutans this was definitely the best. Free Wifi in the restaurant and a great deck area to relax in the afternoon.
Staff are really friendly and helpful. This food is good if you want to eat local food and our rooms were good ( we stayed in rooms 13 and 7). There are always going to be some strange things like a blocked drain or no shower curtain but that's just this part of the world.
Only 5 mins walk to the Orangutans, 20 mins walk to the Discovery centre and 20 mins drive to the Proboscis monkeys. All 3 are worth a visit.
We found the food good at the resort - menu much better than the buffet dinner, however there is also good lunch at the Orangutan sanctuary and discovery centre cafe.
A 20 minute drive from the airport and 40 min drive to the city from the resort. Also worth visiting Turtle Island for 1 night and the Sandikan war memorial is a must.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Damian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Came back again in December 2013, stayed at Chalet No. 12.
The room smells and the water pressure is very poor, almost need to stick myself to the wall just to take a shower.
Do not recommend having breakfast there, they charges RM37 per person for buffet breakfast that comes with very limited selection. I suggest for them to revise the buffet price as it may only worth RM25 per person, looking at what they serve.
Just an option, for those who wishes to visit Sepilok Rehabilitation in the morning, maybe you could check out the cafe at the Rehab itself for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabah_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
148 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#23 of 32 in Sandakan
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Nature Resort

Address: Jalan Sepilok, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range: £13 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden amongst a veritable treasure trove of tropical plants and grasses, hug trees and spectacular orchids in bloom, the quaint bungalows of the Sepilok Nature Resort are within walking distance of the world-famous Kabili-Sepilok Forest Reserve, precious home of the last wild Orang Utans of Northern Borneo. Combining rich traditional style with contemporary luxury, Sepilok Nature Resort is the ideal starting point for most other wildife land destinations in Sabah such as the fauna rich Kinabatangan River and the surrounding Sukau area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Nature Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Nature Resort Sandakan Division

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing