We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, relaxing place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in a double room chalet at Paganakan Dii for two nights. The room was lovely and incredibly comfortable with a nice en suite bath room with view out into the rainforest. It was very clean and had good a/c and a fan. The location was beautiful with lovely views over the rainforest. The food was good. Overall this was a lovely retreat which I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    150
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
71
231
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Paganakan Dii had amazing views, and their doubles room was very cute, with an AC and fan that we came to greatly appreciate. However, be aware that it is a cabin in the middle of overgrown oil plantations, and the critters <i>will</i> come inside. We had an ant colony in our bathroom (though fortunately not the red ants), lizards and their droppings, cockroaches, mosquitoes, etcetc.

The staff was nice but sometimes disorganized. We booked a day trip through them, and asked for repeated confirmations. Yet we only found out the day of our trip that it had not, in fact, been booked. (That said, they were able to book it right away.) They didn't give us any information about the things that we could do in the area. Instead, when we arrived, we were told that we'd have to move to the dorm rooms on the second day, because another group needed our room. It was only when we protested that we'd booked a double room for our entire stay, that they moved us to another double.

The wifi never worked, we had to ask for towels and soaps, and at dinnertime they forgot parts of our order. Also, their breakfast was very basic -- two slices of white bread, one egg, one bacon -- and they have a limited dinner menu (that often becomes even more limited because they don't have certain things available). I disliked their vegetarian dinner options so much that after the first day, we paid to go to town and eat there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirtiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at Paganakan Dii in January this year. What a gorgeous retreat! We arrived in the morning after VERY heavy rain. I was worried considering the outdoors is the focus there. The rain turned out not to be a problem as it rained really heavy each morning then cleared up after breakfast. I would recommend that you arrive prepared with wet weather gear and insect repellant especially if you are there in rainy season.

We stayed three nights and found the staff so helpful! They organized us to take the shuttle to the Orangutan Rehab Centre and a private car to see the proboscis monkeys, an overnight tour to Turtle Island, and accommodation at The Nak in Sandakan.

The meals were great. We pre-ordered our dinner at breakfast time before heading out for the day. There are not any other places around to eat. Please note you will need to arrive at Paganakan Dii prepared with plenty of cash for your stay. There is no opportunity to get out cash. You will need cash to pay for any taxis, private cars, meals, drinks, and your accommodation bill.

Although we were traveling as a couple there was a very large group there at the time of three or so families. The kids had a great time chilling and playing cards in between activities. I heard one of them say it was the best day of their life!

The retreat was just that. A chance to relax with nature all around us. The wall of our room slid open to the jungle. We lay on our bed reading for half the day and just relishing the surroundings. I couldn't recommend this more to nature lovers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nznw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We decided for Paganakan Dii after having read all the great reviews presented here. After having spent three nights in the double lodge, I must say we were totally disappointed with the stay. Yes, the cabins are quite nice and have the 'jungle feel' to it, but that's about all. Although all the sheets were clean, if you look under the pillow case you'll find out that they are mouldy. That was not such a big deal, but it just added to our disappointment. When we arrived on the first day it was around 3pm. We didn't manage to have a lunch before coming to Paganakan and thought we could have it there. However, they only serve lunch from 12 to 2, so we had to wait till 5.30 for the dinner with no snack or anything. Note that you are totally separated from any civilization here, so can't buy anything around. When we finally got the dinner, it was so small (although I must admit really delicious) that I had to order it twice (for 2x10 ringgit...) - and not only because I didn't have the lunch, I (even my gf thought it was a small portion) felt like having to meals every day. As for the breakfast, they must be kidding. You get A scramled egg (or boiled or whatever) and A sausage. If you order two eggs, you don't get the sausage... You also get two toasts, you can have some jam from a jar or some really smelly mouldy butter from a jam jar as well... When we wanted to have something from their manu, there was always high probability they didn't have it - watermelon (okay, the next day they had it), the coconut that you can buy anywhere in Malaysia or even 1,5l bottle (again, there's no shops...)! Also, you are too far away from the orangutans and the rainforest centre and have to take their shuttle, which is a bit limiting. Go for the Sepilok Jungle Resort instead, it is cheaper, you get good meals and most importantly, they have a pool (5 MYR for guests, 35 MYR for others), which is great in between the orangutan feedings when there's nothing to do... (the wlaks were closed when we were there and we planned the rainforest centre for the next day). I have almost forgotten - the WiFi is usually either way too slow or not working at all... I wouldn't mind, but they advertise it, so it should work or they should give you discount. To be fair, this hotel is great for backpackers (30 MYR a bed), for doubles it is pretty poor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zap150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Fantastic location, great views from the ridge bungalows - you can pull back the wall and watch and listen to the rainforest from your bed! You can do the same from the shower! Lovely laid back place, friendly staff, and delicious food served in the open sided wooden hut which is great for letting a bit of a breeze through on those balmy nights. The sweet and sour monkfish was to die for! We just stayed 2 nights and spend the day at Sepilok and the rainforest centre, just the perfect amount of time. there's not much to do at Paganakan Dii itself except chill out and enjoy the peace, which is most excellent way to spend the evening after a sweaty day out looking at the orang utans. One of our favourite places we stayed in borneo.

Room Tip: The ridge duplex cabins are more private and have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I was in Paganakan Dii for just one night, but if i had more time i would have stayed here for at least 3 nights. I stayed in the longhouse and in the night you fall asleep with the junglesounds, in the morning you wake up because the sun is shining and you hear all the birds. Because everything is open (with mosquitonets) did it feel like i was sleeping outside, but.. with the comfort of a good bed. I loved the beautiful sinks outside. And the relaxing area has an amazing view over a valley. It is so relaxing there!

The restaurant serves very good meals for 10 ringgit and the staff is very helpfull. You can do some trips easily from here. So i went with the shuttlebus to the orang utan sanctuary. But if i had stayed longer i would also have gone to the probiscusmonkey sanctuary and the crocodile farm.
I was travelling alone, but i didn't eat one meal alone, because of the nice guests. The only negative thing i think of is, that the internet didn't work. It is very quite, but if you love a few days of rest then is this the place to be. .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeliqueHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

OMG amazing only got to stay one night as the place was booked for a wedding but would have loved to say for longer. The location was gorgeous, jungle, lakes, views and wildlife what more could you want in Borneo? Didn't even get too angry by the tree shrew who kept us up all night running round the room and sliding down the roof! Got our own back the next day by waking him up when we found him asleep in the tree outside!!! Food was really good and excellent value for money and the staff were so friendly... Would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Try not to have any food in your room cos the wildlife can sniff it out at a distance of 3 miles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
2.5 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
13.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
13.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6879.8 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Property: Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Address: Mile 14 | Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paganakan Dii is the perfect retreat to experience Nature in its most serene and natural state. Built on a site high above the surrounding foliage, the combination of cool longhouses and cosy duplex chalets makes for an experience worth a thousand images. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Hotel Sepilok
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Sepilok, Sandakan Division

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing