We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hotel City View(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
MJ Hotel(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
279
164
42
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
164
42
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleoutdoor bathroomair conorangutan sanctuaryopen airdeer parkmosquito netrainforest discovery centrewooden hutshuttle servicedouble bedjungle viewstayed here for nightslong houseprivate roomlocal attractionssmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The dorms are long house (traditional form of housing in Borneo) inspired and all made of wood. It's clean, spacious and a nice place to stay.

While mosquito-free (when we were there), their dorms are open to a forest with no windows, but the whole side of the dorm is a huge mosquito net. so you can hear the jungle sounds throughout the night and the morning. Really charming.

Breakfast is simple and a second egg on the plate would be a definite plus. Ask for more toast if you need. The common area is all open. Enjoy watching the squirrels and ask the staff about some board games. It's jungle, so there'll be some creepy-crawlies.

While located away from the other hostels, it offers 2 daily free shuttles to the Orang Utan center.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This resort is very lovely with a clever and unique style. It is well suited for both honeymoon couples and individual backpackers. The rates are absolutely fair. Obviously, the chalets are a little bit more expensive but will certainly impress you. The dorm rooms are for a lot of people, maybe up to 20 I would guess, and without aircon. Yet, the dorms are clean, have comfy beds and during off peak season are very likely not fully booked. Be aware that there are no shops around the hostel. However, the dinner served by the Paganakan Dii staff is excellent and free drinking water is available. In addition, the free breakfast was delicious, too. For free is also the Wi-Fi in the common area. There are no lockers, but you can give them your valuables and they put it in a safety box.

All in all, if you want to visit the Orang Utans and stay in Sepilog overnight, Paganakan Dii is a very good choice.

Some minor things: They can make your laundry, but it’s a little bit more expensive than in other hostels on Borneo. The Sepilog Orang Utan Rehab Centre and the rainforest discovery centre can be reached within 15 minutes by car and the resort provides a free shuttle service. Also the Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary is worth a visit (even better, actually!), despite bing a little bit farer away. The resort can organize a drive for you (minimum number of people required), which is useful because you can’t go there by public transport. If you are not interested in monkeys, there is no reason to stay in Sepilog, of course. There are only palm oil plantations around Paganakan Dii.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Cannot relate to the review below. We just checked out after 3 fantastic nights. Staff were excellent and helped us arrange a great to the kinabatangan river. No complaints with the food. We recieved towels and the toilets had toilet paper. It is remote, but thats why you go here and what makes it incredible. Excellent accomodation and facilities, nice eating and chill out area, and hammocks to lounge in. Its 5 mins to the orang utan sanctury (and the resort runs a free shuttle). Give it a try, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Where to start? This was obviously once a beautiful place to run that is now running into the ground. The staff were the only unhelpful people we found in our 2 week Borneo stay. The food was very limited and terrible and the place is not walking distance from any other options. We ate at the Sepilok Forest Edge and saw the potential off a great jungle resort.

The overpriced chalets are hard to access with no one assisting with your luggage. So after we had to walk down a dirt path, climb the giant hill we then were taken to the furthest chalet from reception. There was signs about turning off lights and AC and they are Eco friendly yet the chalets have gaping holes so the AC runs out and never really cools the room. If you want to be Eco friendly you need to design better rooms. After all the effort to get to our room in the hot sun, I immediately had a shower but they do not provide towels or toilet paper. You have to ask! Really? The bugs get in the room and the outdoor bathroom is also - you guessed it - full of bugs.

Reception area is depressing. If you ask for any of the facilities they claim to have like fishing etc don't bother because it won't be available. The staff don't even pretend to try. Breakfast is one egg, chicken sausage and bread. That's it. Do yourself a favor. Stay at the beautiful
Sepilok Forest Edge resort with beautiful grounds, great food and drinks and helpful staff. We were so uncomfortable we checked out after one night of our 2 night stay. The only good bit was that they didn't kick up a stink about the early check out. I guess they are used to it?

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChelseaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a lovely 2 days here. We would have stayed longer but our inward flight wS cancelled. The ridge chalet had a wonderful view overlooking the river and jungle but the location was also very convent for bird watching, orang utans, proboscis monkeys and the charming grey leaf monkeys. Very easy access from Sandakan airport. All round good value.

Room Tip: The ridge chalets were lovely but I understand from other guests that the longhouse was also good value.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews