We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look at the size of my trees!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine de la Breche
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Look at the size of my trees!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I think it was a chaffinch defending the 3 or 4 trees around our static caravan. He was very busy proclaiming (presumably to lady chaffiches) something along the lines of - 'Look at the size of my trees! Why don't you come and join me and have my babies?' Sadly none of the females of his species were sufficiently impressed to do so and shut him up. Actually the soundtrack of this delightful site was pretty good. We could make out (between the deafening bursts of our resident chaffinch) the songs of many different birds in the daytime. At dusk the crickets took over and as night fell the melodious toad joined his many brothers in song. You could almost get close enough to pat the Coypu on the head (they are not gifted in terms of either eyesight or intelligence) and the regular patrols of ducks from the nearby lake ensured that left over bits of croissants did not go to waste.

Our caravan was surprisingly well designed. The single beds could, at a stretch, be descibed as beds (unlike the scaffolding plank with a mattress on top beloved of UK holiday parks). It was clean, adequately equipped and came with a very good shower and plenty of decked space outside. The Mem Sahib was disappointed to discover that the 'mosquito nets' (conjuring up visions of sultry nights of the British Raj, fanned by the industrious punkah wallah) were actually pull-down fly screens in the bedrooms. It should be said the the fanciful 'Safari' tents on site were equipped with real thing. The mozzies were not a big problem - I can be rendered comprehensively disabled by a mosquito bite but Boots 'Repel' seemed to do a good job of discouraging the little brutes.

This is the best kind of French campsite - with huge, shady pitches - all of which are well served, immaculately clean, up to date facilities and three beautifully maintained pools - paddling, graded 0.5 - 1.6M and deep (ish) at 1.8M. There are also water slides and a flume which empty their screaming victims into a separate pool area. The shop has odd opening hours but it is well stocked and not unreasonable for its captive clientele (the site is quite isolated - the nearest supermarket being in Saumur, about 7 miles away). The bar has a lot of attractive and well maintained outside space and, again, doesn't overcharge. There is a take-away offer including good pizzas with proper thin crust bases which the likes of Dominos, with their soggy and mean imitations of the real thing, really ought to come and try.

The British are taken care of by remarkably youthful Eurocamp reps. Despite their years, they were very professional and efficient. There is a well kept approach golf course and archery is available - both for a fairly reasonable extra charge. There is also a great restaurant at the gates of this park - see my review of 'La Grange'. Well be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
118
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Returning home after five wonderful days here, I can't help but wonder how they manage to run this holiday centre so professionally. Public areas were spotless, as were the pools. The camping areas are so spacious and have plenty of shade. In fact an abundance of lawns ,shrubs and trees everywhere, which keeps it all looking so lovely.
The Eurocamp caravan we hired by far exceeded expectations. The young reps work so hard to keep all units spotless, and still manage time to smile and pass the time of day with you!
We are two pensioners, and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley, Lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've been returning here for the last 7 years. Amazed at one of the last reviews that said it was shabby. I have only ever thought it to be well maintained. The only thing I have seen in the pool and foot bath are petals from the site's rose bushes which grow around the pool area

The toilet facilities are always spotless. The pitches are a fantastic generous size. The rental accommodation is always spotlessly clean on arrival.

I've been visiting French camp sites all my life, as a child and now as a parent. This is the only site that I know people return back to year after year, mainly due to how helpful and how proud of her site Bridgette is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I would like to start with the positives of this site are there are some. We stayed in a tent in August 2013. We had a very large and beautiful pitch by the lake. This was extremely peaceful and tranquil, and our son aged 5 enjoyed spotting the Beavers that were doing their beavering around on an island in the middle of the lake - this was all very lovely and very relaxing. There were quite a few midges or whatever around but I would expect this from a waterside pitch and i actally wasn't too much of a problem.

The toilets and shower facilities were practical for instance they were nice large cubicals which is helpful when you were briging a child with you but they were really quite dated and could do with being upgraded and modernised I would say that they were relatively clean considering that it was high season,

Now the bit that we were really disappointed with - the pools. On website these looked really nice however the minute we went there alarm bells started ringing - the first thing we saw was the really grubby foobath that you had to go through - now obviously I do realise that peple get grubby feet when wanderng round in flip flops on site etc but it was really unpleasant to have to walk through it - surely they could have the water more frequently? This was a sign of things to come - the pool had all sorts of debris floating around in it petals/leaves etc (difficult to avoid i guess) but plasters, cigarette ends etc - very unpleasant - I don't know if the filter wasn't working at the time. It just wasn't clean. Also the temperature of the water was very warm - very warm. We instantly felt it was breeding ground for bacteria it was lke being in a bath but with lots of other people you don't know - eurgh! We felt we were destined to get a tummy bug from it. The pool generally looked very dated and shabby - in need of a good updating and was not at all clean. Considering this is a really important element of this sort of holiday the site really needs to pay attention to this area.

The bar was nice inside but as it was high season it was v crowded and we had to wait a long time to be served (fair enough I guess at this time of year) Outside the patio area again was veryshabby and faded, the umberellas were torn and not workig, the tables were shabby and rusted that sort of thing.

All in all this is a peacful site which I would say was probably very nice in the past. Parts of it do however seem quite rundown now and the pool really put us off. Having left the campsite and luckily just got home are several hours of driving we put our son to bed. After ten minutes he sat up and threw up all over his bed. I can not prove that this was anything to do with the pool here, but I know myself that it was. we will not be returning to this site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have stayed here for many years. Bridget runs a remarkable site - so wonderfully relaxing in a beautiful area. Her attention to her guests is wonderful - superb for families or couples. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We are regular visitors and will travel again in 2014 for our annual holiday, I have being coming to this site since about 1990 and I will keep coming back because it is a family run site nothing is too much trouble for the staff the facilities are excellent and the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We've stayed in lots of French campsites over the years and this one is sheer bliss if you're looking for peace and tranquility. Enormous emplacements, offering real privacy. We stayed in a mobile home booked via the campsite and the kitchen was the most well equipped we've ever had. We were spoiled with the weather but loved our spacious decking area- perfect at the end of a long day sightseeing. Situated 4k from Saumur, the campsite is a great base for exploring the region and we visited chateaux, markets, monasteries and of course the river without using too much diesel!
We were travelling as a couple but have holidayed many times with children on campsites before. I'd say this one is brilliant for the under 11's as there is lots of space to roam and at least 5 play areas unusually scattered throughout the site. I am not sure it has much for older children, no animation or evening entertainment.
If we had an initial disappointment, it was that the pool was smaller than we expected for a 5 star campsite but this did not matter to us as there was rarely anyone else swimming!
Wifi at the pitches is really expensive and you pay per appliance. I'd say unnecessary to buy this as the free wifi by the shop is very fast and reliable
We would thoroughly recommend this site and found it very clean throughout. The staff were helpful and pleasant. We did not find the shop to be expensive and it was well-stocked.


.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Adagio
BEST WESTERN Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
2.5 mi away
Demeure de la Vignole
Demeure de la Vignole
#1 of 1 in Turquant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
17.0 mi away
Camping Loire et Chateaux
Camping Loire et Chateaux
#1 of 1 in Brehemont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Breche

Property: Domaine de la Breche
Address: 5 impasse de la Breche, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an estate of 50 acres just a few miles away from Saumur, le Domaine de la Brèche offers a service with a wide variety of facilities : bar, restaurant, take away, superette and various entertainment : heated swimming pools with water slides, pitch and putt, tennis courts, crazy golf, pony club, kids club in summer, bicycle and go karts hire, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Etang De La Breche Hotel Varennes Sur Loire
Domaine De La Breche Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing