We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Derry
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was one of the nicest holiday experiences we ever had. Fabulous food - fabulous people

Room Tip: We stated in a downstairs room which was immaculately clean, bright and very spaceous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
409 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Read what everyone else said- everything is accurate. We are glad we read the reviews before going and we were certainly not disappointed.Great welcome; lovely place ( even in inclement weather). Mike and Tracey know how to please and go out of their way to provide a great stay.Enjoyed Mike's cooking and the wine- thought the communal dining was most enjoyable and good to meet other guests. Wished we could have stayed longer but we were en route South. Really relaxed there- hope to make a return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We found Les Peupliers by chance via a google search - and what a great find! The converted farmhouse has been tastefully, and comfortably, furnished with consideration and care; even the toiletries are lovely! The courtyard area for eating, drinking and reading is sunny and welcoming - and you can guarantee that at some point you will have the company of Max the friendly golden lab. Mike the chef creates Michelin standard meals, with much of the produce grown in the garden and courtyard. his cookery class is great fun and good way to pick up some inspirational tips. Great value for a three course meal - with coffee and wine included - we can't recommend highly enough. Tracey is a skilled beauty therapist - we can fully recommend the treatments (for both men and women) - as well as being an efficient, warm and amusing host. located in a great area for visiting chateaux, caves and 'caves'.

Room Tip: all rooms are well furnished and comfortable - the difference in price reflects the size of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanieandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Once again Michael and Tracey have excelled themselves with the quality of their hospitality. The accomodation is of a very high standard, tastefully furnished and most comfortable. This visit we brought with us 6 friends who all thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Some of us had facials and hot stone treatments with Tracey which were amazing! Another afternoon Tracey arranged an excellent wine tasting for all of us. Michael's cooking was greatly appreciated by all our party,he always produces exciting new dishes. There were many additional personal touches which made our stay most memorable.
We have another visit planned later in the year!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Five terrific rooms, clean, modern and efficient bathrooms.
Good breakfasts in dining area with refrigerator for their guests to use.
Excellent dinners cooked by the charming owner chef Mike, and
wonderful advice about easy to reach destinations from his terrific
fun, and very organized wife Tracy. Great dog Max!!!!

They also told us how to navigate the sometimes confusing roads
of the Loire AND where Not to go. This Virginia visitor would return!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libbymagwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We've just returned from spending a lovely week with Mike and Tracey and Max the dog at this beautiful B&B.

We would normally stay at a gite/villa for a week, but decided as this looked the perfect relaxing break to stay here and I am glad we did. Mike & Tracey are the perfect hosts and Max was a scream with his lazy dog ways, we looked forward to our return from day-trips daily to be greeted by Max and his bone or blanket!

The food was brilliant and the best when we compared it with the restaurants in the area which were twice the price, we ate often at the B&B as the food was delicious and Mike deserves the praise he has on here for good food. We came back with plenty of his home-made supplies of jams and salad dressings, if only we could have brought Mike back too!

The rooms are spacious and luxurious and nothing is too much trouble for Tracey to cater for your needs. We stayed in the Hayloft which had ample room for a week's stay. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but there is also a fridge to keep drinks, bottles of wine etc in the dining room, along with plenty of ice.

The pool was large and heated to about 30 degrees every day, so no excuse not to have a dip. The garden is lovely and secluded and traps plenty of sun during the day and evening. We marveled at the fruit trees and sampled kumquats straight off the bushes. Mike and Tracey's veggie garden seems to grow anything with all produce used in Mike's cooking.

GO and stay as there is plenty of things to do within an hours drive or less and your hosts will advise you on all the best places to see and do. We experienced some great events while there including the Velo Vintage in Saumur and France's annual music festivities, which we would never have known about had Tracey and Mike not been there to guide us.

I cannot highly recommend this place and we've stayed in 5* al-la-carte hotels, so have plenty of experience. I also don't often write reviews, so ignore the low scored reviews on here as they don't know what they are talking about especially the one about better food in London - yes for about 5 times the price maybe! Get yourself a cheap ferry crossing and go stay there - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Haylofts are the largest rooms with plenty space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikerbabe650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Tracey and Michael are wonderful hosts with a B&B that is top of the line! Rooms(Hayloft I and II) and surroundings were excellent. We ate here 3 of the 4 nights and the food was fantastic. They were both very helpful with local information and assisting in what ever we needed. And to top it off we had beautiful weather. The only thing that could have made it better was if we could have stayed 4 more nights!!! Beth Donner/Nikki Smit Haarlem Netherlands and Ken And Shirley Donner Denver Colorado

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artsybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
21.7 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Closerie Saint Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Property: Les Peupliers
Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing