We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday, Max”
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've been reading the Trip comments to remind me how much we enjoyed our 4 days there in June and news of Max's 8th birthday has inspired me to write having just found out how to do it! So Happy Birthday, Max, from all us "Les Peupliers" out there.
What a fantastic place to stay which we found online by chance. A wonderful welcome from Tracy and Mike ( and the much loved and admired Max) a couple well integrated into their local community, knowledgeable re the language, culture and the area. Every aspect of Les Peupliers generates welcome, warmth and quality. Needless to say we plan a return visit next year, already looking forward to it.
We also did Alain's wine tour, knows his subject, the area and good company, we came back with some great wine to see us through the winter!
So, thank you, Mike and Tracy, it was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for going to the trouble of writing such a complimentary review on Les Peupliers. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and that you enjoyed all aspects of what we offer here. Hope to see you both again next year. Kind Regards, Tracey, Mike and Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I have now stayed with Mike and Tracy on two occasions and on each it was a most pleasant experience. The quality of the accommodation was fabulous and exuded cleanliness and freshness. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne which we used to celebrate the birth of our latest grandchild in Belfast. It would be impossible to meet Mike and Tracy and not be struck by their warmth and friendliness never mind the quality they offer. We spent most of our time during the day with our grandchildren in a campsite a few miles away and were also able to baby sit children a night when our daughter and son in law were able to come along and enjoy a fabulous meal provided by Mike and Tracy. Allonnes Sur Loire is an easy 15 minutes drive from Saumur where you would probably wish to visit the Castle which dominates the entire area sitting high on a hill. Saumur is full of restaurants which did not appear too expensive. I also thought that Saumur is quite compact and easy to get around on foot. Plenty of places to sit down under the shade of trees. I would strong recommend Les Peupliers as a class place to stay and one you will definitely be strongly tempted to stay at again. Staying with Mike and Tracy also involves the opportunity to have beautiful meals at night cooked by Mike (who is a chef) and to share these with other guests in the most relaxed way possible. On both occasions we met people whose company we enjoyed. Mike and Tracy would be disappointed if I did not give Max a mention who celebrated his 8 birthday whilst we were there. He is a beautiful big gentle Labrador.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review about your holiday this year here at Les Peupliers. It's good to know that you felt at home here and enjoyed the convivial dining experience with our other guests. It was also great to cater for your daughter and son-in-law when they came to dinner. The bottle of Saumur in your room was a token of our appreciation of your loyalty and to welcome you back for the second time. It coincided well with the birth of your latest Grandchild into the family. Kind regards to you both from Mike, Tracey & Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were in Varennes sur Loire for a wedding and found this fantastic place online.
Tracey and Mike are absolutely brilliant hosts and they made us both feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We were there for five nights and at no stage was anything too much trouble.
Tracey's massage was divine - LOVED it ( Amanda )
Mike's breakfasts and evening meals were truly delicious.
Our room ( Stables 1 ) was beautifully decorated, spacious and immaculately clean ( complete with a proper hairdryer )
Max the dog is also equally charming and welcoming.
We had some great laughs including Steve's success in redirecting part of the fountain!!
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your review on your stay with us in August this year. We are really pleased that, as a first time visitor, you felt at home and enjoyed what we had to offer. You were both great company at dinner and Mike appreciates your thoughts on his breakfasts and evening meals. I'm also pleased that you enjoyed your treatment. Thanks also to Steven for help with the fountain!! Hope to see you both again. Kind Regards, Tracey, Mike & Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

You really can believe all the wonderful reviews! We have just returned from our 6th visit to Les Peupliers and the experience just gets better and better. You are guaranteed a warm, friendly welcome from Tracey, Mike and, of course, Max. Passionate about providing the very best for their guests, you want for nothing and a stay here is the most relaxing ever, especially if you also indulge in one of Tracey’s wonderful treatments. What you see on Les Peupliers’ website is what you get – luxury, five star plus, accommodation, beautifully furnished and decorated rooms, a lovely heated swimming pool, large garden to relax in and delicious wining and dining. For us, dining in is a looked-forward-to highlight of our stay, Mike never fails to deliver with superb cuisine of the highest standard. And you can bring a little of it home – Mike’s balsamic vinegar, jams, muesli (best ever!); and/or the lovely Damana toiletries and pamper basket.

All this and the beautiful Loire area to discover too – Saumur, Chinon, Montsoreau, Fontevraud, to name but a few, are all close by. Well deserving of the recent Trip Advisor Excellence Award. We shall be back!

Mo & David (Southsea, Portsmouth)

Room Tip: Hayloft rooms are more spacious and include a bath as well as shower in the en suite but all rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

What can we say but a big THANK YOU for your SIXTH visit to Les Peupliers!!! Your continued loyalty and support are really appreciated and what is so nice is that you enjoyed this year with us as much as the first. We strive to maintain our standards and service, but most of all, to be welcoming hosts to travellers from all around the world. Looking forward to your SEVENTH visit.
Best wishes, Tracey, Mike & Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and I spent 3 lovely days at this b&b in August this year. Mike and Tracey were fantastic hosts and Max the dog was ever welcoming! The b&b is gorgeous, we had the garden room which was just perfect for us. Mike is a professional chef and the evening meals were awesome - dehydrated rhubarb and homemade rhubarb sherbet were incredible! We did the cookery course with him as well and have learnt so much, it was great. Mike and Tracey are also a great source of knowledge on the local area and directed us to some brilliant wine tasting places. The bike path along the edge of the river is also not to be missed, a lovely way to spend a day!
All in all I would highly recommend both this area and this b&b - it was a great holiday.
Thank you Tracey, Mike and Max

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review on your stay with us this August. Mike is particularly pleased that you enjoyed your cookery class with him. We hope that you have had fun in recreating those dishes at home. The cycle tracks and quiet lanes are perfect for borrowing our bikes to discover the Loire countryside and picturesque villages close by. Kind Regards to you both, Tracey, Mike & Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were so keen to stay with Tracey and Mike that we re organised our French road trip for when they had availabilty-we made the right decision!
This place is awesome,Tracey and Mike are perfect hosts sharing their life and lifestyle perfectly with you-thanks for that guys,we all felt very relaxed!
Mikes breakfasts and evening meals are Michelin star standard,my sister and l are coeliacs and Mike catered for us with care and imagination,every evening was just magic!
It is a fabulous place to stay to explore the Loire valley, returning each evening to a heated pool and gourmet food was the icing on the cake.
Max made it all the more special-a waggy tail and a cuddle each time we returned-just love him!!
We are looking forward to returning.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. Mike enjoyed the challenge of creating interesting meals that Anne and yourself could eat as happily as the other guests. We always try and make guests feel at home here, that's our main aim. We are so pleased that you have decided to come back and visit again in 2014. Best wishes from Mike, Tracey & Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 5 days with Mike, Tracey and the very mellow Max. It's the best place we have ever stayed in. The accommodation is superb (our room was one of the Haylofts), the gardens lovely and the pool ever so slightly heated, the breakfasts are delicious and whatever you do you must sample Mike's cooking. We ate out only 1 night of the 5 we were there as we felt we couldn't get better anywhere else. And ladies treat yourselves to one of Tracey's super relaxing treatments. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: The Hayloft rooms are extremely spacious although they are upstairs which may be a problem for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay with us. We try our best to make it an enjoyable stay for our guests and are so pleased that you enjoyed the food, treatments and your room. Kind Regards, Mike and Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
6.6 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
16.7 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
6.9 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
198 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing