We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Peupliers
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Les Tilleuls(Chouze-sur-Loire)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Bussy(Montsoreau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domaine de Mestre(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontevraud L'Hotel(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel L'oree Des Bois(La Breille-les-Pins)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
195
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeauty treatmentsother guestsb bgarden roomperfect hostsloire valleysuperb foodhot stone massagewonderful staydelightful placeenjoy your stayold friendsthird visitgreat conversationincluded breakfastlocal vineyardstucked away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the fabulous Les Peupliers-what a superb find. It is a small renovated farmhouse with 5 bedrooms. Each has been restored in a loving way and certainly feels home from home. The farmhouse is in the middle of beautiful French countryside although within easy reach of small towns, vineyards and numerous chateaux and gardens. Tracey and Mike who own Les Peupliers are fantastic hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Mike, who is a superb chef cooks & prepares all the meals from scratch. Breakfast consists of homemade cereals & muesli (best tasting ever) bread and unusual conserves - the Champagne & rose petal jam is to die for. The evening meal starts at 7.30 with Champagne and homemade nibbles. The 4 course meal that follows is exquisite. All made from either locally or home grown produce. Because it is so leisurely you find yourself still at the table talking at midnight - Mike & Tracey have usually joined you by this time and share with you their wealth of knowledge of the surrounding area and the best places to visit. We fully intended to eat at various restaurants throughtout our stay but found that the food was so delicious and so reasonably priced that we ate every evening at Les Peupliers. Tracey is a trained beauty therapist and if you've time have one of her full body massages which certainly take away the strains and stresses of all day sightseeing and over indulgence! When the weather is good the swimming pool and loungers are extremely handy for a quiet read or a nap before the evening ahead. All in all we had a wonderful holiday (11/10) and would certainly recommend staying here. We arrived as guests and left as freinds.

Maureen & Paul Entwistle. Catforth Lancashire.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DottyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

My wife and I stayed with friends at Les Peupliers for five nights in July. We had previously, on a number of occasions, been to the Saumur area staying in various of hotels and this was our first venture into B&B in this lovely area. What a revelation! In every aspect our expectations were exceeded. The rooms and facilities were excellent, the food was sublime and our hosts, Tracey and Mike (and Max), could not have been more welcoming or helpful. In addition they were a great source of local information.

Over the years we have travelled considerably in France and consider the Saumur area ideal for exploring the Loire Valley. We have now found the ideal accommodation to match the area.

The Loire valley is a wonderful area of France with better weather than the UK, lots of history and lots to see. It is well worth a visit as is Les Peupliers. We shall be returning next year!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

What a wonderful find. Only booked for 4 nights and really wished we had not pre arranged to moved on, the remainder of our holiday became an anti climax. We have been visiting France nearly every year now for longer than we care to admit and can honestly say Les Peupliers is at the top of the list of finds..The location is perfect for visiting many of the chateaux of the Loire valley, the wine tasting and the beautiful scenery. The rooms are excellent, perfectly presented and so clean.
We only booked food for the first night but were so impressed with the quality (and the cost) that we ended up eating there every night.
You simply cannot fault Les Peupliers but let's be honest it is the hosts, Mike and Tracey (not forgetting Max the labrador) who make the holiday. Nothing is too much trouble, they are always around when you need them with their encyclopaedic knowledge of the area.They passionately love what they do and this passion is reflected in their aim to make your holiday as perfect as possible.
Needless to say we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at Les Peupliers for four nights during a short break to the Loire in May and had a wonderful time. Generally prefering to eating out at French restaurants, we surprised ourselves by eating dinner twice at the B&B as the food prepared the first night was just so good!

The couple who run the B&B are very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay with them was fabulous - including providing a beautiful bouquet of roses, local chocolates, champagne and strawberries on request, and giving us plenty of local knowledge for things to see and do.

We stayed in Hayloft 1 which has been beautifully renovated to retain the traditional exposed beams, but incorporating a lovely modern bathroom and tasteful furniture.

We would highly recommend staying at Les Peupliers.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank custardtart72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Loved how easy it was to get there by train. Came by Eurostar from Ashford in Kent to Paris Nord transferred to Austerlitz and by local train to Tours (aprox 5 hrs from start to finish).Picked up a hire car which was an easy drive to the b & b (but not back) will be going to and from Samur next time which is nearer and not so busy! Tours is a nightmare place to negotiate!

Loved the setting of the b & b, Tracey, Mike and Max (the dog!) were great hosts and the food was fab!. Evening meals are available if requested. Mike is an expert chef! The garden room was very comfortable and spacious and the breakfasts filling especially the home made hot chocolate!

We borrowed bikes often to explore the unspoilt rural areas, takng each day as it came and doing as much or as little as we wanted to.

Plenty of picturesque villages to visit and a wide variety to activities to enjoy.

Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyFavershamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews