We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday treat”
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday treat”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As it was a "special birthday" we decided where better to spend it than with friends Tracey Mike and Max at their fabulous B&B Les Peupliers. This was our sixth visit and still we never tire of the beautiful surroundings and fabulous hosts who are always so friendly, informative and attentive. Being their first guests of the season we were able to sample all the wonderful new dishes Mike had been devising during the winter months. As usual these were executed in the most stylish way and tasted sublime. On my actual birthday they spoiled me with Mikes really tasty birthday cake, a version of carrot but replaced by courgette, which I am going to replicate at home and bubbly. This we shared, mid afternoon, in the sun filled garden - a perfect way to get the party started!. Tracey has now sourced some wonderful beauty products by Eve Taylor and as you can now purchase these from Tracey you don't need an excuse to continue the beauty treatments at home.
Each time we go to visit we think they surely cannot have made any improvements, but as usual, on leaving, they have always surpassed themselves.
Many, many thanks for a truly wonderful stay and please continue doing what you do so well.

Room Tip: We always stay in Hayloft 1 which is so spacious and can cope with all our luggage and purchases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you Maureen for choosing to spend your birthday here at Les Peupliers, we are honoured. I'm so glad that you felt we had made it special. We also need to thank you both for visiting us six times now. Mike is happy that you enjoyed his new culinary dishes. As you know, great tasting food is a big part of what we do here and Mike is a chef with a passion to create tasty dishes for our evening meals. Many thanks once again. Tracey, Mike & Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I visited with a friend, not to stay at this lovely Chambres d'Hote, but to sample Tracey's treatment for my back....a basalt hot stone massage.

The massage was executed in a professional manner and was just what was needed.It was perfect and was followed by a welcome glass of lemon water, to flush the toxins from the system.

Tracey is welcoming and discreet and the whole environment exudes friendly professionalism. It is a place which lacks pretension, but has real polish and style.

The rooms look fresh, clean and immaculately decorated with tea/coffee facilities and 'tout confort'....... they all spill out onto the delightful garden which has specimen shrubs, shady trees and lemon trees in tubs in the courtyard.

It is located very near to main routes in the Loire Valley and is 20 minutes from Saumur and close to the beautiful towns of Fontevraud with its historic 'Abbaye' and also the delightful town of Montsoreau. Within easy distance of Chinon, Azay, Villandry etc.

A delightful place in a lovely location in the countryside, with delightful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juridique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am happy that you enjoyed your second hot stones treatment in our therapy room here at Les Peupliers and the relaxing chill out time in our garden afterwards. Thank you for going to the trouble of posting a review. Hope to see you again in the very near future. Many thanks. Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amboise, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a piece of Paradise! Tracey and Mike are the most wonderful hosts! I had booked the cookery class as a surprise for my husbands special Birthday! And to stay the night.
The course was just great!! And so informative! Drinks in the garden before eating our amazing meal was a delight with locally sourced Champagne! Then Dinner in the most stunning dining room! A gourmet meal with beautiful wine and company! Then an amazing breakfast with homemade yogurts, jams warm breads oh! just so wonderful!
Mike and Tracey went out of their way to make this an amazing experience! They are more than just hosts but friends!!! We even had a complimentary bottle of wine as a birthday present.
We only wished we had booked to stay longer!! I could have had a massage and we could have enjoyed our stunning bedroom, The Garden Room, with the largest shower! the room had every detail catered fo! and we could have enjoyed the area and their company for longer! !
This is more than a bed and breakfast! Mike will cook a meal in the evening for anyone who wants to join them!
This is an experience not to be missed! This is a MUST for anyone visiting the Loire area! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room which was just delightful . Massive shower, large lounge very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review! We are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you husband enjoyed his birthday present of a cookery class with Mike. We hope that we helped make it a memorable occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was my second visit to the wonderful Les Peupliers. Having last year visited with friends, this time I couldn't wait to return with my husband for a relaxing few days, just the two of us. We had an absolutely incredible time. Tracey and Mike were such fabulous hosts, our room 'The Hayloft' was beautiful and Mike's cuisine was amazing. Lazy days spent visiting the stunning Chateaux, time for some local wine and champagne tasting, and a chance to wander around the picturesque town of Saumur. A simply perfect break. Thank you so much Tracey, Mike and Max the lovely labrador :) Already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your special break with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We'd love to see you again next year! Best wishes from us all, Mike, Trace & Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Les peupliers was absolutely wonderful. After the chaotic stress of Paris, it was a haven for weary travellers. Tracey and Mike went out of their way to our stay comfortable and easy. They organised a driver for us so we could visit the surrounding chateuxs full of historical significance. But we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of les peupliers the best and were spoilt by Mike's culinary delights and Tracey's relaxing massage. Say hello to Max. Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fornaciari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do try to make our guests' stays a pleasureable one. It was great meeting you and hope to see you again sometime in the future. Best wishes Tracey, Mike & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Tracey & Mike never disappoint. Our third visit and the standard is so high. Glorious décor and accommodation, mouth watering food from Mike and beauty treatments which are so relaxing from Tracey.
Roll on our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you both for choosing to come to us for the third time and that you enjoyed your time with us.
Hope to see you again next year! It was a pleasure welcoming you back and we really appreciate your loyalty. Take care. Mike, Tracey & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a special place simply because the owners understand what visitors to their chambre d'hôte really want.

The place itself is simple - a renovated old farmhouse in a quiet country setting close to everything that the Loire is famous for. It is roomy, comfortable and has all amenities, including a pool, separate sitting area with a fridge, and Max the friendly lab.

Mike and Tracy immediately make new arrivals feel at ease and very welcome in a casual understated way. You soon slip into the relaxed and homely atmosphere of the place.

Breakfast is French and delicious in the dining room, but it is the optional evening meal that becomes the standout experience at les peupliers. Mike is an accomplished chef and he is very happy to show dinner guests each evening why this is so. Excellent and innovative cuisine!

Mike and Tracy are interested in their guests and are very helpful in recommending the best the area has to offer. But more than that, they are very likeable people who genuinely enjoy seeing their guests make the most of their visit. And it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binksy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We always try to offer good service and a welcoming smile to our guests, it is important to us that guests feel at home here. We are happy that you enjoyed your Les Peupliers dining experience. As you know, Mike is a passionate chef who still, after 30 years in the business, gets really pleasure from creating tasty dishes using the best ingredients. It is great to know that it is appreciated. Kind Regards from us all, Mike, Tracey & Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
183 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
5.1 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
397 reviews
11.5 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
271 reviews
8.4 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Property: Les Peupliers
Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing