We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Scrummy!!”
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

So......where to start reviewing Les Peupliers,basically it's all fantastic!!
As you step into the courtyard the greeting from Tracey and Mike is warm and welcoming and the draught from Max's tail just delightful!
They are amazing hosts and the accommodation is stupendous, Mikes cooking is exciting and delicious,three courses each evening with canapés and fizz to start,book to eat with them you won't find better anywhere in France! Mike offers cooking courses, my hubby couldn't rate it highly enough saying how helpful AND patient Mike is!!
My sister and I are coeliac-we have a gluten free diet,Mikes attention to detail and kindness were overwhelming and we both enjoyed dishes we hadn't been able to have before-thanks Mike, such a treat!
Tracey's treatments are wonderful and refreshing -we just wish we had booked one at the start too!

Tracey and Mikes knowledge of the area is invaluable and they are only too pleased to advise and recommend trips and sightseeing treats.
So many many thanks guys for a very special time spent with the three of you!
Can't wait for our next visit.
Liz,Mike,Anne and the one and only Colin!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

After spending three days in the hustle and bustle of Paris for our honeymoon, we arrived at Les Peupliers weary travelers unsure of what to expect. Well, Les Peupliers blew our expectations out of the water! Getting to know Mike, Tracy, and Max was such a pleasure. The room was fantastic - spacious, comfortable and with all the amenities. Mike is such a wonderful chef, locally sourcing all of his ingredients and preparing them beautifully! Tracy is a wonderful hostess, attending to your every need and making sure you are comfortable and happy. Unfortunately, we were having so much fun, we ran out of time and were unable to partake in any of her treatments, but will definitely do so on our next visit! Max is the unofficial greeter and one of the sweetest dogs we have ever met! There are plenty of things to do around the area and there are two bicycles available to tour the countryside. Highly recommended are a wine tour with Allain, the cooking class with Mike, exploring the little town right across the river, visiting the Abbey, and taking a trip to Saumur (the largest town in the area). Coming from New Orleans, Louisiana, we are accustomed to good service and Mike and Tracy provided that and more. Thank you for making our Honeymoon one we will never forget and we will make an effort to try and come back one day!

- Trey and Kellyn

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellynelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and i have just come back from a week at Les Peupliers - it was the most beautiful, relaxing and fun holiday we've had. We have stayed in many B&Bs and hotels, this was by far the best!

The location is perfect if you want to be somewhere quiet but a short distance into town. Its a 15min bike ride to the nearest village, and a 15min drive to the nearest busy town. The B&B has a large garden, pool, water fountain, a wooden swing and hoards of roses. Its impossible not to unwind.

Tracey, Mike and Max welcome you like family, they are always on hand if you need any help or advice on the area, they arranged a wine tour for us to the local vineyards, recommended must-see attractions and provided breakfast like no other.. If you are foodies, like us, this is the B&B for you - Mike is a fabulous chef, the breakfast spread is delicious and all homemade, plus, you have the option of booking the 3 course dinner (cooked by Mike) in the evening - it was divine! Our only regret is that we didnt have time to book a slot with Mike to learn how to cook some of his recipes.

I'm a big fan of spas so I booked a hot stone massage with Tracey which was lovely, the treatment room made me feel like i was in a spa. When my husband saw how relaxed i was, he hot-footed straight over to book one for himself! There were a range of treatments to choose from, a mini sauna in the room and soothing music to really help unwind :)

We also just loved being able to spend time with Max (dog), he was never intrusive, just happy to sit nearby or, in our case, to be cuddled and played with whenever we saw him!

We can't wait to go again! 10/10 in every way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have visited Les Peupliers before . It has not changed. Tracey and Mike are wonderful hosts and always make our stay so very special. They know so much about the area. One could never be bored.
Mike,s cooking and Tracey,s beauty treatments are fabulous.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from our second visit to Les Peupliers which confirmed my original review posted in 2013, Tracey and Mike continue to be wonderful hosts making our second experience as memorable as our first. We also met some wonderful fellow travellers and the annual "Easter Egg Hunt" was a blast. I have no doubt but we will be back in this area of Loire again. Max the very friendly Labrador continues to be an integral part of the experience who revels in greeting the guests..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

So pleased that you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first. It was great that you took part in the The Easter Egg Hunt again this year. Hope to see you next year again, but I'll have to find some new hiding places I think! Best wishes from us all at Les Peupliers. Mike, Tracey & Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As it was a "special birthday" we decided where better to spend it than with friends Tracey Mike and Max at their fabulous B&B Les Peupliers. This was our sixth visit and still we never tire of the beautiful surroundings and fabulous hosts who are always so friendly, informative and attentive. Being their first guests of the season we were able to sample all the wonderful new dishes Mike had been devising during the winter months. As usual these were executed in the most stylish way and tasted sublime. On my actual birthday they spoiled me with Mikes really tasty birthday cake, a version of carrot but replaced by courgette, which I am going to replicate at home and bubbly. This we shared, mid afternoon, in the sun filled garden - a perfect way to get the party started!. Tracey has now sourced some wonderful beauty products by Eve Taylor and as you can now purchase these from Tracey you don't need an excuse to continue the beauty treatments at home.
Each time we go to visit we think they surely cannot have made any improvements, but as usual, on leaving, they have always surpassed themselves.
Many, many thanks for a truly wonderful stay and please continue doing what you do so well.

Room Tip: We always stay in Hayloft 1 which is so spacious and can cope with all our luggage and purchases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you Maureen for choosing to spend your birthday here at Les Peupliers, we are honoured. I'm so glad that you felt we had made it special. We also need to thank you both for visiting us six times now. Mike is happy that you enjoyed his new culinary dishes. As you know, great tasting food is a big part of what we do here and Mike is a chef with a passion to create tasty dishes for our evening meals. Many thanks once again. Tracey, Mike & Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I visited with a friend, not to stay at this lovely Chambres d'Hote, but to sample Tracey's treatment for my back....a basalt hot stone massage.

The massage was executed in a professional manner and was just what was needed.It was perfect and was followed by a welcome glass of lemon water, to flush the toxins from the system.

Tracey is welcoming and discreet and the whole environment exudes friendly professionalism. It is a place which lacks pretension, but has real polish and style.

The rooms look fresh, clean and immaculately decorated with tea/coffee facilities and 'tout confort'....... they all spill out onto the delightful garden which has specimen shrubs, shady trees and lemon trees in tubs in the courtyard.

It is located very near to main routes in the Loire Valley and is 20 minutes from Saumur and close to the beautiful towns of Fontevraud with its historic 'Abbaye' and also the delightful town of Montsoreau. Within easy distance of Chinon, Azay, Villandry etc.

A delightful place in a lovely location in the countryside, with delightful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juridique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

I am happy that you enjoyed your second hot stones treatment in our therapy room here at Les Peupliers and the relaxing chill out time in our garden afterwards. Thank you for going to the trouble of posting a review. Hope to see you again in the very near future. Many thanks. Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing