We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly outstanding B and B”
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this beautiful property last week, June/July 2014. Tracey and Mike have got the recipe just right to ensure that guests have all the touches that help to make a memorable stay. Mike's cooking is just sublime and we would have stayed longer if there had been room. We look forward to going back soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paatsyjmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place lived up to all my expectations, and more. We had a very warm welcome from Mike and Tracey (and Max the dog!), and throughout our 5 night stay, they were the perfect hosts. They looked after us no end, produced scrummy food in the evenings and at breakfast, and nothing was too much trouble. They were always available to offer recommendations on which chataeux to visit, or which vineyards to taste, which was a great help for our cycling routes! I highly recommend staying in for the dinners cooked by Mike - we did a mix of eating out as well, but no restaurant we went to even cam close to the quality of food Mike cooked up. We also did the wine tour with Alain - which was far better than any other tastings we did organised by ourselves! This was a perfect location for relaxation (including Tracey's facial and massage - a MUST!), fun evenings with other guests and the hosts, and to explore the best of the Loire Valley. We will definitely be back!.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room which is the cheapest room, but was perfect for us - doors straight out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireaustin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Les Peupliers is an excellently renovated farm on lovely grounds with spacious 'motel' style accommodation close to the Loire. A real must for 'foodies',as Mike the chef is Michelin trained and his wife Tracey has various therapies on offer. Good swimming pool and bike riding are also on offer. We have stayed there 3 times now, and have never been disappointed. Three qualifiers: no children are allowed; you need to stay a minimum of 3 nights, and, if you want dinner there (highly recommended), you eat together with the other guests (numbers can range from 4 - about 10). Tours of the local vignerons can also be arranged (without you having to drive)..

Room Tip: This hotel is off the beaten track, but you are within ten minutes drive of Saumur, and close to a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

So......where to start reviewing Les Peupliers,basically it's all fantastic!!
As you step into the courtyard the greeting from Tracey and Mike is warm and welcoming and the draught from Max's tail just delightful!
They are amazing hosts and the accommodation is stupendous, Mikes cooking is exciting and delicious,three courses each evening with canapés and fizz to start,book to eat with them you won't find better anywhere in France! Mike offers cooking courses, my hubby couldn't rate it highly enough saying how helpful AND patient Mike is!!
My sister and I are coeliac-we have a gluten free diet,Mikes attention to detail and kindness were overwhelming and we both enjoyed dishes we hadn't been able to have before-thanks Mike, such a treat!
Tracey's treatments are wonderful and refreshing -we just wish we had booked one at the start too!

Tracey and Mikes knowledge of the area is invaluable and they are only too pleased to advise and recommend trips and sightseeing treats.
So many many thanks guys for a very special time spent with the three of you!
Can't wait for our next visit.
Liz,Mike,Anne and the one and only Colin!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After spending three days in the hustle and bustle of Paris for our honeymoon, we arrived at Les Peupliers weary travelers unsure of what to expect. Well, Les Peupliers blew our expectations out of the water! Getting to know Mike, Tracy, and Max was such a pleasure. The room was fantastic - spacious, comfortable and with all the amenities. Mike is such a wonderful chef, locally sourcing all of his ingredients and preparing them beautifully! Tracy is a wonderful hostess, attending to your every need and making sure you are comfortable and happy. Unfortunately, we were having so much fun, we ran out of time and were unable to partake in any of her treatments, but will definitely do so on our next visit! Max is the unofficial greeter and one of the sweetest dogs we have ever met! There are plenty of things to do around the area and there are two bicycles available to tour the countryside. Highly recommended are a wine tour with Allain, the cooking class with Mike, exploring the little town right across the river, visiting the Abbey, and taking a trip to Saumur (the largest town in the area). Coming from New Orleans, Louisiana, we are accustomed to good service and Mike and Tracy provided that and more. Thank you for making our Honeymoon one we will never forget and we will make an effort to try and come back one day!

- Trey and Kellyn

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellynelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and i have just come back from a week at Les Peupliers - it was the most beautiful, relaxing and fun holiday we've had. We have stayed in many B&Bs and hotels, this was by far the best!

The location is perfect if you want to be somewhere quiet but a short distance into town. Its a 15min bike ride to the nearest village, and a 15min drive to the nearest busy town. The B&B has a large garden, pool, water fountain, a wooden swing and hoards of roses. Its impossible not to unwind.

Tracey, Mike and Max welcome you like family, they are always on hand if you need any help or advice on the area, they arranged a wine tour for us to the local vineyards, recommended must-see attractions and provided breakfast like no other.. If you are foodies, like us, this is the B&B for you - Mike is a fabulous chef, the breakfast spread is delicious and all homemade, plus, you have the option of booking the 3 course dinner (cooked by Mike) in the evening - it was divine! Our only regret is that we didnt have time to book a slot with Mike to learn how to cook some of his recipes.

I'm a big fan of spas so I booked a hot stone massage with Tracey which was lovely, the treatment room made me feel like i was in a spa. When my husband saw how relaxed i was, he hot-footed straight over to book one for himself! There were a range of treatments to choose from, a mini sauna in the room and soothing music to really help unwind :)

We also just loved being able to spend time with Max (dog), he was never intrusive, just happy to sit nearby or, in our case, to be cuddled and played with whenever we saw him!

We can't wait to go again! 10/10 in every way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have visited Les Peupliers before . It has not changed. Tracey and Mike are wonderful hosts and always make our stay so very special. They know so much about the area. One could never be bored.
Mike,s cooking and Tracey,s beauty treatments are fabulous.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
6.6 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
21.7 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
310 reviews
16.7 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
569 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing