We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Cheddar, Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights in July, after having spent 2 nights in Burgundy for a wedding. I cannot fault a thing - we stayed in the Garden room and although this is the chapest of the 5 rooms you would never have guessed. It was a very good size with excellent facillities (including the all important wine glasses!!), it was extremely clean and kept that way all week. The house is relativly secluded (20 mins walk from village) however this was just what we wanted - peace and quiet.

Tracey and Mike are so welcoming and never once did we feel that they'd rather we were out and about rather than sitting by the pool or eating lunch in the garden. They had a wealth of knowledge of the area and were very helpful in recommending things to do. We ate 3 times in the evening and the food was so nice - not once did we have a bad meal. Saumur is only 15 mins drive and we ate their the rest of the time.

I had a facial and back massage from Tracey which was heavenly and would recommend.

Tracey and Mike go out of their way to accommodate you and i would throughly recommend Les Pupliers to anyone looking for a peacful yet fun holiday with excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We received a very warm welcome from Mike, Tracey and Max the dog! We initially informed Mike and Tracey that we would be making our own arrangements for the evening meal, but after speaking to the guests that had already sampled Mike's cooking, we quickly changed our mind and decided to join everyone for dinner. Mike was happy to accomodate us at short notice, and he even amended the menu for my partner due to her dislike of the proposed starter (she tells me that the last-minute duck liver parfait that Mike knocked-up was very nice too!). You could definitely tell that Mike is a professional chef.

We stayed in the Garden Room - it was crisp, modern and clean, as was the bathroom. The location of Les Peupliers is ideal for exporing the Loire Valley, and Tracey kindly recommended a few local attractions for us to visit, as well as arranging a tour for us (and discount on any wine purchased) at a nearby vineyard!

My partner also sampled some of Tracey's beauty treatments which she thoroughly enjoyed, although i never got to try any myself unfortunately!

In response to the other reviews - we didn't hear ONE train; and yes, the pool was covered but Tracey made it clear that we only had to ask and she would be happy to let us have a swim if we wanted to. Surely keeping the pool covered helps to keep it clean??

We hope to visit Les Peupliers again sometime. The highlights for us would be the hospitality shown by Mike and Tracey, the fantastic evening meal - and the whole socialising aspect of eating and chatting with Mike, Tracey and the other guests over the evening meal.

An easy 5 stars all round!

Paul & Jess :o)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessPaulDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Les Peupliers. Our hostess and host, Tracey and Mike, were so friendly and easy to talk to that we felt like old friends on the first evening. They were very helpful providing suggestions as to what we might enjoy doing during our brief stay in the Loire region. Our room was very clean and comfortable and it was obvious that a lot of thought was put into making it feel special. The property itself is beautiful and provides a peaceful setting for those wanting to relax and enjoy the moment. The meals by Chef Mike were great and it was amazing to taste the fresh (and often home grown or home made) ingredients used in his cooking. We highly recommend Les Peupliers and hope to stay here again in the future.
Thanks Tracey and Mike!

Jeff & Lori B

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-LoriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zuid-holland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

At our arrival we felt immediately very welcome.
We stayed in one of the lofts including a bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. The room and bathroom are very clean. The garden (with swimmingpool) is more than big enough to relax.
At breakfast you can choose about bread/croisants or cornflakes, tea/coffee, cheese/saucage, orangejus and homemade jams and yoghurt and fruit (often from their own garden).
Another highlight is diner. Mike is a professional cook and he proofed that every evening. It was more than fabulous.
The location is a good starting point for discovering the Loire valley.
Tracey & Mike are very charming and great hosts.
We had a great time. We arrived as tourists and left as friends.

Riet and Hans van Egmond
Holland

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Max the labrador has a massive smile to great you on arrival and that is an indication of how you will feel about your stay here. Tracey and Mike are just the best hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Mike's food is a gastronomic delight, whether it's breakfast, dinner, or an emergency "feed your guests" knock up dinner on Ascension when dumb tourists don't realise that you can't get food elsewhere because France is closed. Tracey is a qualified beautician and gives the most wonderful facials and massages in her gorgeous little treatment room. The infra red sauna is just being finished as we speak and that will be the next offering to sample. Superb cleanliness, comfort, attention to detail and idyllic surroundings. Tracey knew I was interested in drawing and even put a Loire Valley Sketch Book amongst our reading selection, how thoughtful. We had a really great 5 nights and could have stayed much longer, and departed felling that we have made new friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMD1Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deux-Sevres, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Tracey & Mike have the best B&B ever. They are warm and friendly hosts, the rooms are excellent and Mike is a fantastic chef.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

This place is an amazing find, the rooms and the food are fantastic. We had some amazing wine tasting in the area and lovely walks,what more can you ask for ? The standards are superb and the food is far superior to most in France. We will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butzWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
21.7 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Closerie Saint Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Property: Les Peupliers
Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing