We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, lovely village with nice restaurants...”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor Dining terrace (off kitchen)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor Dining terrace (off kitchen)
View from master View from master
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Outdoor Dining terrace (off kitchen)
View from master
View from master
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Top floor bathroom
Top floor bathroom
Double room
Double room
Twin room
Twin room
Upper balcony
Study
Study
Living/dining room
Living/dining room
Outdoor Dining terrace (off kitchen)
Outdoor Dining terrace (off kitchen)
Kitchen
Kitchen
Courtyard
BBQ
Courtyard
Wetroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Caunes-Minervois, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate H
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“house needs an update and is noisy”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I was invited to spend a few days in Caunes by a good friend. I read the online review and was looking forward to a few days of r and r sitting on a peaceful roof terrace.
Unfortunately the house was not really up to the description on the website and I was very disappointed. The house needs an update- and whilst the actual centre of the medieval village is extremely peaceful this house was on the main road between villages and during the day there was a ceaseless trundle of traffic which could be heard all over the house as cars, bikes and big lorries going to the local vineyard up the road went up and down outside the house.
The house clearly has seen better days and needs some money spent on it.... old ikea creaky bed frames, old mattress, stained yellow pillows are not acceptable.
The owner has spent a lot of money n wifi and a good TV satellite system but I prefer not to watch any TV on holiday.
There was no shade as the umbrellas were broken and of such poor quality they could not withstand a small breeze. and the shaded basement area was exactly that... a dank basement with a rubbish area in which was dumped old bits of broken furniture.
This house did not live up to its description and to describe it as peaceful is a misnomer.... the house is situated on the main drag.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Hi Kate
I am really sorry that our house did not meet your expectations. I did actually tell you that it was situated on the main street of Caunes. We spend 2-3 months a year in Caunes and the only time we have found it a little noisy has been during vendange (wine season). I am totally at a loss as to what shaded area you are talking about. There is a shaded garden and the cave below the kitchen and the barbecue area for guests use. Other areas are used for our storage etc. I am happy to look into your complaints about the pillows and other things that may have broken during the season. I would appreciate it if you take the time to read this review from guests just before you " Amazed at the last negative comments because we have had a fabulous time here. The house was fantastically equipped and spotlessly clean on arrival. We have had such a great time that we never noticed any traffic noise. Lovely area to explore. We had a great day in La Cité-Carcassonne. Enjoyed the walks along the Canal du Midi. Olonzac market on a Tuesday is a must visit place. Enjoyable meal out at La Table d’Emelie. So much more to explore next time we visit this area. Thanks for providing a wonderful place to return to every evening. As
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“House not exactly as shown”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The pictures and description of the house on their website iare not true reflection of what we saw and experienced: First impression when we arrived: the house is on a main road and traffic is almost constant. Big lorries drive by this way; the thunderous noise they make as they go past disturbed the peace during the day and disturbed our sleep every night. On opening the front door on the first day we were met by a musty and dusty smell. The front room was dark and dingy, not the light and airy that is described on their website, not the warm welcome that we expected!

On closer inspection, the kitchen walls are covered in dark patches that look like mould and signs of dampness. Heavy dust on most surfaces too. We couldn't use the front room (library) at all as the noise from the busy road was unbearable We had to leave the lights on at all times there as opening the front window would make the noise worse. The terrace adjacent to the kitchen is lovely but even there we couldn't escape the noise. It's a well equipped house but very disappointed by many aspects of it. The "court yard garden" was a rather an exaggeration because it is not an area anyone would want to sit. It was dark, messy and unkept. Old lounger which is broken was dumped in there amongst with other damaged furnitures. We feel we have been miss sold as descriptions on their websit are misrepresentation of what we actually experienced. The peaceful and tranquil holiday we looked forward to was blighted by the aforementioned issues.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
The house photos are in no way misrepresenting the house.They are as all photos are with lights on and furnishings placed appropriately. The house is situated on the main street of a tiny village on a D road. As for the noise
level, not a single person in 8 years of renting the property has complained
about. The house and garden were cleaned immediately prior to the guests's arrival. There is no damp or mould on kitchen walls. The type of lime render can give that impression. The courtyard garden is a shady haven for those who want to get away from the sun. I think for these guests on their honeymoon a villa in the country and not a village house
would have been more appropriate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxine721
Val d'Isere, France
1 review
“Great house, lovely village with nice restaurants & close to Carcassonne & other sights”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The house is spacious with lots of private outdoor space so my friend could sit in the shade of the courtyard and read whilst I was on the sun bathing terrace. There are two other outdoor dining areas on top of this so tons of space out side - v unusual for a central village house. literally 2 mins walk to bars and good restaurant, the 17th century abbey is 3 mins walk and there are lots of artisan shops. large bedrooms and top bathroom is huge. well equipped house with fast wifi. nice touch to have two bottles of good local wine waiting for us as welcome gift.
Perfect spot to base ourslves for seeing everything locally from the Cabrespine caves to the Lastous Chateaux (Incredible!!) to CArcassonne cite itself plus dont miss the Saturday morning Carcassonne food market in the central square.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceri T
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property - perfect for visiting Carcassonne”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in May 2013

This is a great place to stay within easy reach of Carcassonne, very clean and well equipped and with WiFi which makes a difference. The outdoor terrace off from the kitchen is ideal for eating and socialising. The views from the upstairs roof terrace are fantastic, reaching for miles and is an ideal sunbathing spot.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona L
Paris, France
1 review
“well equipped house with good outdoor space in centre of lovely medieval village”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in May 2013

House larger than expected. Really good outdoor spaces for eating / bbq ing / sunbathing / relaxing in the shade. Large spacious bedrooms & well equipped kitchen. It's in the village centre so only few minutes walk to restaurants, the 12th century abbey, pottery and artisan shops and the local supermarket, wine shop, bakery etc.. 15 mins drive from Carcassonne centre.also very close to so many other Languedoc castles and interesting sites. WE went on a great wine tour (details are in the house) for one day and tried lots of really good quality local wines. Overall great week and The house is great value too.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed in 'Maison du midi' in May of 2012 & thought it was fantastic. The house had everything we wanted & the village & surrounding area were simply stunning. A truly characterful village with it's picturesque setting I was pleasantly surprised (my first time in the area). Carcassonne is only 20 mins away & the 'Cite' is a must see for young & old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home
Liked least: Didn't spend long enough there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing