We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome treat after a long walk”
Review of Taverna Panorama

Taverna Panorama
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Mirthios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A welcome treat after a long walk”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We walked up to Mirthios from Plakias, via the Old Mill, which was 90 mins of steep climbing but as soon as we sat in the Panorama it became worth it.

We eyed up the first place we came to (next to the Panorama) but wasn't sure it was open, so kept walking and found this open and welcoming.

We opted for orange juice and a (well-deserved) second breakfast of bread and jam for me and an omelette for the boyfriend and both were great.

Service was friendly and again, the setting was wonderful - views over Plakias and beyond.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clasmi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    72
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Nice view on Plakias bay. Very good local cuisine. Chief salad is excellent. The only negative is missing complement from owner so lovely in Crete.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redyahont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really enjoyed eating in the Panorama taverna. Great views across Plakias. The manager has a good sense of humour and the grilled dorada was the best I had on holiday. Would definitely recommend this taverna.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunnerChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arosa, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food and view in Greece”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The view is spectacular and the food is extremely tasty. We had several meals at the Taverna Panorama in Mirthios and we where always stunned. We can only recommend this restaurant as the staff and manager goes out of their way, to make the meal not only good, but fantastic. We will definetely come back to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views and delicious food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We hired a quad bike out for the day and took off from Elounda for the most beautiful and scenic drive around the coastline. We stumbled across this little gem on our route. We sat outside with the most stunning views. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a little tour around the spotless kitchen to show us the fresh local authentic dishes on offer for that day. It all looked so good so we shared a plate with a taste of everything. The best moussaka I have ever tasted. Okra delicious . Each dish had its own unique flavour, we would definitely recommend this restaurant , the drive from Elounda is stunning and breath taking and well worth making a trip for lunch.. Thank you to all at taverna panorama for making our last day in crete the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cprst4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Panorama also viewed

 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing