We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Traditional Taverna”
Review of Taverna Dionyssos

Taverna Dionyssos
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Mirthios
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Chichester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Traditional Taverna”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Run by a family, every customer is invited to visit the kitchen to see what has been cooked that day. The food is different every day although there were stuffed zuccini flowers every day. As we saw the flowers being picked and prepared every morning, it was fantastic to eat them in the evening. We could not praise this taverna enough. It was about 50 meters from our apartment door - very convenient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadRunnerChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    43
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

a tour of the kitchens so you can chose your dishes. wonderful view, friendly staff, plus the great food. highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingabroad672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very good food which you are invited into the kitchen to choose which we like to do. Ate here twice and were not disappointed. I ate vegetarian , plenty of choice and my husband ate beef stifado and lamb in tomato sauce, both he said were good. The Dionyssos Salad is great and a meal in itself. Cold beer, nice wine, free pudding and raki completes the picture. Lost out on 5 stars due to very smoky atmosphere and waiters(both good) being overly preoccupied with 2 blondes at other table although it was quite entertaining seeing their efforts fall on stony ground!
Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerwhinger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unfortunate start to meal”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Situated in Mirthios, Dionyssos makes a special point of inviting you into the kitchen on arrival to view the local dishes available. We arrived at about 20.30 and there was not much too left view in the kitchen, we were also not impressed with the headwaiter exchanging heated words with a waiter in the background.
My wife picked up on this, which made her more aware of smaller things thereafter, like having to ask for serviettes, and indeed reorder our drinks which were forgotten about..
We finally dined on a Greek salad, lamb cutlets, spaghetti Dionyssos (shredded beef and tomato)
The food was lovely with the spaghetti a real stand out flavour. Despite the hesitant start we promised to return, as others spoke highly of this restaurant and we did enjoy the food.
With drinks our bill was 35 Euro.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TWRyan.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Taverna ”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best Taverna around Plakias. Original greek dishes, nice staff, beautiful view. It's not expensive, but reasonable and the lamb is tasty!

Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Dionyssos also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Dionyssos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing