We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Christina Apartments
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

When you go to Christina's it is like visiting family!! Everyone is so warm and friendly and you are sure to bump into people who have been going there for years !! The appartments are clean and airy and all the staff and family will go the extra mile to help you in any way. Can not recommend this place highly enough!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a fortnight stay at the christina apts and i can honestly say the owners kostas and nikos and all the rest of the staff made it one of the best holidays we,ve been on!! Plenty to do lots of lovely tavernas in the area great value for money.will definately be going back as made some great friends there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharonrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

had a great holiday ,had a wonderful time up the mountains,plenty of real greek food and lots of laughs.rep dan was great fun and great fun with sharon and jim from bolton,rooms were clean and cleaning girls were realy helpful.plently of place to go. from party animals from leicester.

Room Tip: rooms on front a bit noisy because of bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I would like to share our experience of fortnight stay at Christina Apartments in Adelianos Kambos, Platanias, Crete.
We arrived at about 1 a.m. and were given a double bedroom apartment overlooking the pool area and the overcrowded bar with very loud music. The bedrooms were not properly prepared as there were not any towels or a single toilet paper roll and we found ladies’ pants on the floor by one of the beds. After complaining to the member of staff about the noise we were advised to shut double glazed doors, but it did not help to get rid of the noise. As it was very hot and stuffy in the rooms we tried to switch the air conditioner but found out that it did not work and to switch it on costs 4.5 euros per each room per night (it gets switched off at 9 a.m.).
After sleepless night on the next morning we talked to Thomson’s representative Dan and described all the issues we had. He talked to the receptionist and we were given another room on the backside of the hotel. It turned out to be a basement apartment facing the wall and with a main waste pipe put in a sewage hole covered with dirty rags located in 2 meters from the bedroom window. The room was quiet but there was a terrible smell coming from the sewage and a lot of mosquitos.
Dan assured us that we would be moved to another back room on the ground floor as soon as it gets free (next Sunday).
On the next Sunday morning we came up the reception and reminded about the promise asking for changing the room. The receptionist looked very surprised and answered that no any spare apartments were available but shortly she informed us that changing the room would cost us 20 euros and she needed to speak to other members of staff. Two aggressive men burst into and started shouting and bullying us. One of the men who named himself as an owner of the place grabbed my wrist and screamed spitting to my face that we had to get out from his hotel and threatened us with the police. We were terribly shocked by that nasty scene and replied that we had had nothing against calling the police. Thomson’s representative Dan was out of reach and did not help to resolve the issue (actually we have not seen him ever again). To stop this nightmare and save the remaining week of our Holiday we agreed to pay them for changing the room and finally moved to the apartment which was quite satisfactory compared with the previous ones despite the cockroaches in the bathroom. Later we were said by the owner that they were given just 19 euros from Thomson per room and what we expected to get.
Considering all above we can state that it was the worst accommodation we have ever had and we would not recommend that place to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose the room in other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AlexeyFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Apartments are no better than average though reasonably equipped with fridge, kettle, microwave, toaster and two hob plates. The apartment was clean and beds were reasonably comfortable. However there was no soft seats to relax in. There was a small patio which had a table and three chairs and a dryer rack.
The bar area was good and the staff in all parts of the complex were friendly and welcoming. We met quite a few people who said they had returned to the Christina apartments year after year.
Rethymnon centre is a 15min bus ride away and is worth a visit. The area around the Christina apartments has plenty of good eateries within walking distance and are also just 300m from the beach. Heraklion is about an hour away and a visit to Knossis is a must.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool may be tempting as they face to the south. However, they also overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasper303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The staff are all friendly. You get a drink when you arrive to start you off.
The rooms did need a little updating but generally comfortable. The one bedroom apartments could do with a convertible setee in the living area and an extra wardrobe in the bedroom.
One problem we had was resolved quickly and without any fuss. Thank you.
The pool is reasonably spacious with normally spare beds.!
The beach and tavernas are nearby. Lots of choice.
The beach. Look out. It is not always easy to get into the sea. There are a number of pebbles going in then a very steep introduction to the sea. If you are confident swimmer then it is fine, if not, be careful and just make sure the kids are alright.
All in all a nice friendly place

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clactonwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just got back from an excellent holiday. Although we didn’t spend much time in the apartments apart from sleeping, the staff could not have been friendlier. There is nothing any of them wouldn’t do to make your stay as good as they can. Nikos and everyone really helped to make the holiday special.
The rooms are cleaned every few days, and they are good for Greece (I am sure you know what I mean). The little touches were nice, like a bottle of water in the fridge when you arrive and tea bags and milk for that cuppa after a long journey.

There are some lovely restaurants and taverns nearby and none of them are expensive. I recommend Alexanders for a nice afternoon drink and meal. The cocktail bar opposite the apartments serves good cocktails at excellent prices.

All in all, an excellent holiday destination. Next time we go, and we will. We will explore more of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killamarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#15 of 21 in Platanias
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 21 in Platanias
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Eveline Apartments
Eveline Apartments
#6 of 21 in Platanias
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#14 of 21 in Platanias
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina Apartments

Address: Adelianos Kambos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Platanias
#8 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Christina Apartments Hotel Platanias
Christina Apartments Rethymnon
Christina Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Christina Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing