We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect holiday location”
Review of Eveline Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eveline Apartments
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect holiday location”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Brilliant holiday from day one, from meeting leanne the thomson rep and the welcome from christina at the apartments, mama evelyns cooking was fabulous, the staff were superb in every respect could not do enough to make you feel more welcome. The evelin divers who share the site were brill, the apartments were always kept clean and tidy.even the locals that visited the hotel made you feel at home a truly superb holiday location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    35
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just returned from our brilliant holiday , we stayed at the Evelin apartments for the first time and i would like to say it was GREAT best holiday ever . its a family run apartments and as soon as we got there we were made to feel very welcome and part of the family . the rooms were very clean , bathroom very clean , there was a kettle microwave and a 2 ring cooker , but even if you dont want to cook , there were lots and lots of tavernas where you can have meals and not to expensive , there is a Lidl right across the road handy for all your shopping . all so if you dont want to go far just stay at the apartments because they do meals to , mamma makes the best meals ever we had all our breakfast's there and some lunch times meals to , BBQ night was great mamma did that to with her husband yum yum .best meals in crete , the pool and bar area was very nice and clean the grass was like walking on a carpet very well kept area . Christina was very helpfull we love her and our bar man Andrea's was great love him to . from the owners to all the staff and cleaners were wonderful to . there is no doubt that we will be going back next year there was not one thing to complain about . GREAT PLACE FOR YOUR HOLIDAY..

Room Tip: room 207 206 or for a cool room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just returned after a week at the evelin in july, Had a pool facing appartment 101, which was more than big enough for my wife, daughter and myself. Made some great friends, dave, allison and chris, not forgetting jan, gwen and bob ( who could! ). Great laid back atmosphere, very nice food at the evelin, cooked by mama and of course the bbq on wed night, which is a must. Plenty of sunbeds on the lovely grass, to go around. A few wasps while we were there, but not a problem. Cracking pastry shop around the corner, and then 2min from there is the Vergina restaurant which is superb ( complete with resident parrot ! ) . Lidil right next door to the appartments which is very handy . Evelin staff , christine, andreas , very friendly and helpful. All in all, a great holiday , cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backbarrow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our eighth stay at Evelin appartments. As always we have had a completely relaxing fortnight, chilling by the lovely pool and enjoying the great food and bar. There is a separate baby's pool for the very young ones and the beach is less than 10 minute's walk away. For the more adventurous, Evelin Diving School operates from the appartments. Evelin's Greek salads in particular are superb and most of the snacks use local very fresh ingredients. The sunbathing area is large - no need to make a special trip to put towels on the beds early doors - and is grassed. The rooms are basic, spacious and clean with the option of air conditioning, mostly with balconies overlooking the pool and hills. There are plenty of friendly local (3 to 10 minutes walk away) tavernas for good quality evening Greek meals. Our favourites are Finikas, Garden Taverna and Kellari but there are many others, it just depends on your preference. We highly recommend Evelin's Wednesday evening Greek evening, which has superb food (prepared by the family) and Greek dancing and is an excellent way to meet your fellow holiday makers. Finally a mention for the very hard working and friendly staff who will do their very best to help you enjoy your holiday and feel welcome. Christina who runs the bar (and diving school bookings!) during the day, as well as breaking the ice by introducing you to other holiday makers. Andreas who makes a mean cocktail until the early hours of the morning. Evelin who makes the the snacks and the rest of the family - Manolis, Nikki, Domitris and Vangelis - who also work hard to help you enjoy your holiday. Yammas.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seasider_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Eveline Apartments for a week in June. The apartment was basic but clean, spacious and had everything we needed. There are plently of good tavernas within walking distance so there was no need to do much cooking in the kitchenette. Fridge, kettle, microwave and 2 ringers were more than sufficient. The staff were very friendly and quickly fixed our shower when it the shower head came away on our first night.
Having Lidl just across the road was handy for carrying back heavy water bottles but did not impact on the relatively quiet location of the pool and bar area.
Would recommend getting a taxi out to Fantastico Taverna up in the hills above Platanias. Great traditional Greek food and fantastic views over the northern shoreline. We enjoyed watching the sunset from this vantage point.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhughes382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

First of all this is a well-run and excellent place to stay, we have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Evelin. Christina, manages the site, she works incredibly hard & will try everything within her power to help out if you are unhappy for any reason.

The rooms are pleasant bright and clean not to mention spacious, however you MUST be aware of this fact, even if you have already booked your holiday @ the Evelin or are planning to book keep this point in mind:

You must avoid rooms (204 + 203) or (104 + 103) we stayed in 203. why must these be avoided? unlike the rest of the rooms which all have a pool facing balcony or terrace that overlook the wonderful mountains and olive groves, bizarrely these FOUR apartments all face the opposite way, they have a balcony looking onto the busy road (about 200 yards away) + (road noise is unbearable) the view you also get is less than impressive, and you will be disappointed.

Even if you have already booked or are planning to book seek to contact Christina at the Evelin and request that you are not put in these rooms, by doing this you will ensure you have a fantastic time at the Evelin as many of the reviews bear out.

Other facts:

It will take you about 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the beach depending upon your fitness and about 5 minutes to get to the many wonderful Tavernas in Platanais. Right next to the Evelin apartments is a Lidol shop and you can get all you need.

Unfortunately because there was no room available we had to move to the Bueno hotel which was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 204, 203, 104, 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from a lovely fortnight here. Very friendly family run apartments where you are all made to feel very welcome. Went to BBQ and Mama's food was the best meal we had during the holiday. Great pool area, loungers on comfy grass, never seemed busy and was a quiet peaceful place to chill with a book. Handy book swop too.
Everywhere spotlessly clean and if you do encounter a problem with your room this is resolved as soon as possible.
Really liked the resort, plenty of restaurants all very reasonably priced for food and drinks, you are spoilt for choice. Really handy having Lidl next door to apartments too.
The beach is excellent, sandy apart from some pebbles at waters edge. The sunbed sets are cheap at 5euros. We used the ones in front of Pavlos bar. Nice to have a drink there as self-service and cheap for snacks and drinks and nice shady place to sit.
Only downside of beach if you have young children is water shelves down quite steeply.
Easy to get bus into town, you buy your tickets at BP garage 1.20euros each way and bus stop just there.
Would be happy to return to Evelin apartments again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillhaylingisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.3 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#15 of 21 in Platanias
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#52 of 175 in Rethymnon
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#14 of 21 in Platanias
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eveline Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eveline Apartments

Property: Eveline Apartments
Address: 17 Samou Platanes, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#6 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eveline Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eveline Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eveline Apartments Hotel Platanias
Eveline Apartments Rethymnon
Eveline Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Eveline Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing