We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Bueno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bueno
Ranked #1 of 4 Platanias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here a couple weeks ago and had a great time. The hotel is in a good location in the small town of Platanias. Quick walk to the beach and bars and restaurants. It isn't a luxurious hotel. The bathrooms leave something to be desired. But that was more than made up for by the kindness and helpfulness of George, Sophia, and the rest of the staff.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very nice but modest apartment, located near beach in quiet street. Nice terrace bar. Room was pretty much like real apartment. Pay extra for air conditioning and safety box. Good breakfast, coffee, breads, yogurt, fruits etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMiklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As title says we loved the place so much in October last year, we returned again last week (May 15th-22nd).As soon as we arrived Maria welcomed us and promptly upgraded our studio apartment to a fabulous spacious double bed apartment,as a thank you for returning to stay with them!!! Our whole stay was wonderful and we cannot thank Maria and George enough.The holiday was brilliant from start to finish.If we go to Crete again(which is more than likely) There is only one place we would choose to stay.....Hotel Bueno.

Room Tip: As far as iam aware you wont get a bad room anywhere at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iaininkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Came home from Crete on last day of season,had a fantastic holiday in every way.The Bueno Hotel is simply unbeatable.George and his mother are the best hosts you could ever wish for,I could go on forever,but i will sum up by saying,we enjoyed ourself so much,we intend to come back again next spring.....Thankyou Mrs Joanna and George.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iaininkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were greeted by George off the coach who was very friendly and helpful and because we were so late arriving and the bar was closed he went and brought us a nice cold large beer each and a large carton of juice for the children.
The apartment was lovely and clean and was much bigger than we were expecting with 2 double bedrooms, the master one being quite large so we had lots of room. The main living room area was very spacious with a dining table, cooking/cleaning facilities and two sofa/beds which the children opted to sleep on and there was plenty of extra linen available for them to do this.
We could pick up the wi-fi from the bar on our balcony so it was very easy to stay in touch with family and friends at home without having to use costly mobile connections.
There was plenty of choice at breakfast - eggs, sausage, greek bacon, toast, cereals, coffee, tea, milk, cream, jams/marmalades, cakes, cheese and ham and biscuits. The scrambled eggs were absolutely gorgeous! Our 1 year old baby daughter loved them and so did I.
The small pool is fine for the kids to take a dip with a nice safe shallow area although I didn't use it myself because being so late in the season we found all the pools everywhere to be very cold but that didn't bother the kids.
Mama Joanna was very friendly and was always there to help and to keep the breakfast topped up.
We absolutely loved George. His friendly helpful approach was amazing. Nothing was ever a problem for him, he was always happy to give advice about life in Rethymnon and on at least three occasions he ordered us takeaway pizza, gyros and souvlakis - always ordering each one from the place he knew made them best. We had some absolutely superb nights with him at the bar, sometimes arriving late from a long day tired with no intention of staying out for a drink but ending up being there all night anyway because we were having such a wonderful time with him.
He threw a party one night and because it was our daughter's birthday he bought her an amazing big cake and sang happy birthday to her. Such wonderful generosity and kindness. Thanks George!
Our son was ill at the start of the holiday and Thomson made such a drama out of it but George made us feel much more at ease.
In summary, we thought Bueno was brilliant and our room was better than we expected. We and our children loved it and we would definitely recommend it. In fact the kids have done nothing but beg us to take them back since we got home. Book here with confidence.

Room Tip: Some rooms directly overlook the bar so ask for a room away from the bar area if you want a quiet ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisRThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had two weeks of glorious sunshine in a fantastic resort with good food and very friendly people. We were superbly hosted by George and his family, the hotel was clean, the food more than adequate and we were ideally situated for local amenities.
I would recommend both the hotel and the resort to anyone. The beach was a very short walk and we didn't have one bad day with weather.... it all made for a very relaxing and comfortable holiday. As mentioned in some earlier reviews....There is a varying selection of restaurants to choose from and quite frankly we didn't have a bad meal in the two weeks we were there.
On our first day we met people who have been coming to the hotel for years , this is not surprising given the hosting skills of George and his family. We are looking to go back shortly... and the sooner the better......... Gary.... Gloucester

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

As a chill out break this was tailor made!
Just off main road through Platanias is a small road with 3 hotels and one restaurant. As the little road bends back round corner hotels are hidden from road. This means hotel is quiet and secluded.
We had an appartment with large balcony, plenty of storage room and huge comfy bed! Breakfast was plenty and fresh.
Out of front door turn left and beach was 200 yds away. Turn right and reach road with tavernas and shops. Opposite, the Finikas restaurant was excellent.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no sea views, so no need to worry about which you have. We liked 1 bed appartment but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skettytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
1.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 21 in Platanias
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#15 of 21 in Platanias
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#14 of 21 in Platanias
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bueno

Property: Hotel Bueno
Address: Motakis Village, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bueno 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a large beautiful garden, full of trees and flowers, BUENO is only 150m from the wonderful Platanes sandy beach, only 4 km from the center of Rethymno city. Many rest and play areas for the guests, especially for the kids, because they can play free and safe, away from the traffic. We are off the main road, enclosed entirely by our private property, thus ideal for younger children and quiet for the older folks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bueno Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing