We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mantenia
Nearby Hotels
Cretan Sun(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galeana Beach Hotel(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Castello Bianco Hotel(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eveline Apartments(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ariadne Hotel Platanes(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Leoniki Residence(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Axos(Platanias)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nefeli Hotel(Platanias)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Amaril(Platanias)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
83
80
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
80
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely villagefamily atmosphereclean roomshotel roomhome away from homeminutes walk awayhotel is locatedyogurtswimming pooltennishoneybalconyhire
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Mantenia hotel near Rethymnon. Our agent told us that it was the best place to be in Creta, right in the middle of the island. The hostest was the kindest women we met in Greece. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the beach. 10 minutes by car to Rethymnon. We will get back their for sure the next time we visit Creta !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I rarely write reviews but this hotel deserves my very best. I recently spent one wonderful and very relaxing week in hotel Mantenia. The hotel is set within leafy well-kept grounds, only few minutes walk from the beach. The hotel is family run and they happily go out of their way to please and accommodate everyone. Their knowledge of the local area was invaluable when it came to getting information about where to eat, what to see, how to get around on the local transport, how to get the cheapest car hire or sightseeing tickets. The hotel is very well kept, my room was spacious, clean and quiet. The pool is very clean but if you prefer the real thing, the sea is only a few minutes away. The centre of Platanias is a few minutes walk away and Rethymnon town is a short bus ride away although I walked to Rethymnon and back every day, by the sea. There are also plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. All in all it was a very pleasant experience so I recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to have a quiet and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are best
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I spent two wonderful weeks in this hotel. I chose a north facing room, with views of the sea which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel itself is small and quite private and offers a swimming pool and disabled access. The location is ideal because it offers easy access to Rethymnon town while also being a short drive away from Knossos, Arkadi monastery, Chania old town and many other must-see locations in Crete. I would recommend hiring a small jeep when there. The hotel is very popular with Europeans (Swiss, German, French, Italians,...) and the staff (it is a family run hotel) is very friendly and helpful. Restaurants and supermarkets are about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, in Platanias centre. The price was very competitive, I would happily have paid double for this (as indeed I have often paid triple for less than this in my holidays.) I hope to be able to return next year, work permitting.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views of the sea!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Ideal for those who want to spend a few restful days in a quiet hotel within a very short walking distance from a beach (with a good fish taverna there) and a lively village of Platanias and a short drive from the picturesque town of Rethimnon. Unpretentious but comfortable, clean, charming and well run by a lovely family.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter and cooler, with a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hotel Mantenia is recently renovated. It has a beautiful lounge, clean rooms (each with a little balcony) and decent bathrooms. It's about five minutes by car (there is room to park your car by the way) from Rethymnon.
The breakfast is simple: three types of cornflakes, bread, cheese, different kinds of marmelade, yoghurt, honey, fresh fruit, coffee. Nothing special but enough to start the day.
The owners of the hotel were very friendly and made sure the rooms were daily cleaned.
The pool and garden were well kept, but not that big. So this hotel is not ideal if you plan to spend your holiday just relaxing by the pool. But if you plan tot visit a lot of things, Mantenia is an ideal location to start from.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilke_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews