We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cook(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Mono Loco(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,714)
Filter reviews
2,714 results
Traveller rating
1,562
683
277
120
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,562
683
277
120
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantcosta ricahacienda pinillaclosest towninfinity edgecaravan tourbeach clubazul grillkids clubpool staffocean viewbreakfast buffetturn down serviceremote locationbeautiful propertytamarirental car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,305 - 1,310 of 2,714 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful resort I traveled with Caravan tours after a long ride was very surprised to see such a fabulous resort tucked away in a private location. Pools are the largest I have ever seen,infinity pool was spectacular. Beach was just easily accessed, Cabanas located on beach for sun protection. Very hot and warm in this area of Costa Rica. Service and staff was excellent, everyone was so friendly and eager to please. The Marriott beds are some of the most comfortable beds. Our room had a patio to sit on which was nice. I def recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Vitagrl,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience at our resort. All our guest are very special and we always try to give the best of us to make you feel like at home.

I am pleased to know that you really spend a great time at the pool and room.

The Cabanas at the beach are also used for private romantic dinners and they look very nice at night. Next time you should try it.

Warmest regards,

Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I travel as much as possible, and have been to several very high-end resorts. This one is impeccable. The rooms are lovely, the grounds gorgeous and the beach is spectacular! No crowds! Nicer that a Ritz Carleton which is higher up the Marriott chain. One note about some of the negative reviews: there are always complainers and haters. We were part of a group, and there were a couple of people in it that could not be made happy. Ironically, these were the less experienced travelers who complained if things were not exactly as they imagined them to be at home. We have every intention of returning to this lovely resort. P.S. -- the spa is wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris12700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Chris12700,

I am glad to read that you are thinking in coming back. This means a lot for us since demonstrate that your experience was satisfactory.

We really appreciate your wonderful comments about the Spa and the resort in general. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be waiting for your return.

Kindest regards,

Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place was beautiful. One of the biggest pools I've ever seen.It is rather expensive though. $ 4.50 for a cup of coffee. There is a shuttle which will take you to a more swimming -friendly beach next door. ( a beach club ) I would also recommend checking this place out. The food wasn't as high-priced, although there is no gourmet meals. I would highly recommend this place. The only draw-back, you're out in the middle of no-where. You have to take a shuttle to town to do any type of shopping. Make sure you bring plenty of sun lotion, it can be costly there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Don900,

I am pleased to know that you liked the resort and enjoyed your time at the pool.

Avellanas is a great beach for swimming and also to start learning surf. Our location is 20 minutes away from Tamarindo as you experienced and the property is in a very safe environment. That brings peace and tranquility to our guests.

On the other hand in Tamarindo you can find night life if you want to have fun and also a lot of stores to do some shopping before to go home.

Thank you for have visit us and give us a great review.

Sincerely,

Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just returned home last night from 8 fabulous days at the JW Marriott Guanacaste. Not only is the hotel gorgeous and immaculate, the service was 5 Star all the way! The staff was very friendly, always remembered our names and even our food/drink preferences. Rooms are very large, comfortable and the entire resort was kept amazingly clean. I work for a luxury 5 Diamond hotel so sometimes I find myself being too critical however this hotel did not disappoint!! Thank you to all the wonderful people there who made our trip outstanding! Kara S.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Kara S,

Your satisfaction and your comments fill us of happiness since our goal is create these experiences in our guest. I hope we have make you feel like at home during your stay.

We appreciate you have shared your experienced with us.

Please don’t forget that for us it was a pleasure to serve you.

Kindest regards,

Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The 10% service charge and 13% tax puts 23 cent charge on every dollor spent. The employee's work really hard for you and we felt quilty not tipping rhem 15% which means you are now adding 38 cents on each dollar you spend. Their buffet had plenty of quality food and eberyone we meant srrmed to think you got the best meal for your dollar. Their steak house was very good but we were at $200 tax included for two of us with no alcohol. Their spa services amd employees were very very good. Two days out of six we had to have our pool food and drink bill revised because charges were added that were not ours.

Room Tip: Try to get on the third floor where you have the best opportunity to see both the beach and pook and have less people noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanej213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Lanej213,

It is gratifying for me to know that you have enjoyed our Sabanero Restaurant and our Buffet at the Mansita Main Restaurant. We are working in all our menus to bring always the best food and service.

As you have mention the taxes included in our checks correspond to 10% service charge and 13% from the government. I would like to let you Know that give extra tips to the waiters are up to the guest.

For us it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely,

Jesus Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews