We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was winter time but enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durbach
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It was winter time but enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

It has not been my wish to travel to Germany at this time of the year since I do not like the cold weather. However, business sometimes doesn't leave you a choice. This hotel is nicely located in the 'Badische' wine yard area of southern Germany, well known to many foreigners. It is advisable to have a car when travelling from airport to the village of Durbach because with public transport it might be difficult and by taxi it will cost a bomb.
Check-in was fast and efficient, they even managed to get me a smoking room, which is meanwhile rare in Germany. The room was big enough, bed was comfortable, bathroom well equipped and, most important to me, the heaters were working.
However, the beat I remember from this stay was the breakfast spread, with all sorts of bread, which is unite typical for Germany. Beside the bread you can chose between home made marmalade, ham, bacon, cheese etc. the coffe they serves was better than usual hotel standard. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and even smiling.
Have been staying there for 3 nights, no regrets - just be aware that the next city is at least half an hour to z45 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    94
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
267
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed for two nights and really loved it. The hotel is located in the centre of Durbach: a small village in the Baden-wine region and therefore we visited Durbach. We booked an arrangement with one evening at the standard restaurant and one evening in the Michelin star restaurant. We were upgraded to one of their suites and it was one of the biggest rooms we ever stayed in: simply super and spacious over 2 levels with a private terrace. You can’t have anything to complain in this room! The service level of the staff is great (help with luggage, room service for the kids practically for nothing) and so are the extra’s that make the hotel worth the money: the pool, the fitness area and the 3 different restaurants. Dinner was perfect as well, the Michelin star especially since it is modern, light and very tasteful without the formal stiff atmosphere. Okay the stay wasn’t cheap but worth every euro and I would love to back. Great service for our kids as well (free baby cots and diaper/changing equipment for our baby). The only thing we missed was sekt (German bubbles) at breakfast: expected at a hotel at this level but that was the only small remark.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite large in various types: the map is perhaps helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed for two nights last summer. Rooms were large and well appointed, with a seperate bathroom and WC. Our only complaint was that the pool/hot tub were closed for yearly maintenance while we were there- that had not been communicated to us prior. (Note: I think this is to blame on Hotels.com, as they probably received the notification).

The staff at Hotel Ritter was probably the warmest and most genuinely caring that we encountered in Europe during this trip. As an example- when we asked where the pool was and couldn't hide the reaction on our faces when they said it was closed, they gave us the keys to a suite that had a Jacuzzi in it...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for a single night due to a business trip to Offenburg and was pleased with my stay. Just don't expect this place to be something extraordinary.

Check in was smooth, (standard) room a bit crammed and rather small, but spotlessly clean. Bathroom was tiny but featured nice fittings. Some of the facilities seemd to be in need of a renovation such as the worn out lift to upper floors.

Had dinner at the "Ritterstube" and was not impressed. Food quality not bad, but I was bothered with the somewhat stale odor of the restaurant when entering. Service was keen on doing a good job but not overly professional.

Did not make use of the spa facilities so I cannot comment on them. Breakfast buffet was of good choice and quality, service a bit sluggish.

There was nothing to complain about although I don't see, what makes this hotel an outstanding place (what other reviews seem to imply). Did not understand what all these celebs from the reception gallery have been looking for either.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmith0179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We've stayed here for only one night. It was a dream. I had booked a comfort room for 1 night.
When we arrived, the very friendly girl at the reception said to me that our room was up-grated to the spa suite !!! It was valentines day ! The room was brilliant. There was a living room and toilet downstairs and upstairs there was a big sleeping room with a bathroom and a spa room with sauna and a fireplace ! For diner you can choose between 3 restaurants. One of the restaurants has a Michelin star. We had a diner in the Ritter Stube with a traditionel kitchen.
The waiters were very friendly and help full !!! The food was Ok and the wine (of Durbach) was good. The spa we didn't used because of 1 night, but it looked very good and very clean. The next time we will take our time for this. We will certainly come back when we have our next business trip. Hotel Durbach team congratulations !!!!

Room Tip: The Spa suite is a dream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davylavreysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed in this elegant yet cosy place in mid December 2011. The suite we booked was huge and equipped with its own sauna and fire-place.The spa offered everything to pamper the body and soul and the service was very attentive. The food in the Michelin starred-restaurant was tasty and different and was matched by a very modern and stylish setting. Their other restaurant, the Ritter-Stube is more of a traditional yet elegant character. Very recommenable for a weekend-break!

Room Tip: The Spa Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obiwan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Tucked away in the middle of the wine country, the Ritter is a nice expression of German hospitality. the restaurant was very good, the front office staff was unfailingly courteous (and un-pretentious!), and the bar staff was attentive. the rooms are spacious and modern(the down quilts were nice.), the bar downstairs was fun to be at with a group. the town itself is very nice, but things shut down fairly early. the weinstub across the street closes at 20:30...
WIFI is only available in the lobby, but that is not a bad thing in itself, you are here to relax. the spa is a good size and very clean.

the breakfast buffet is typically German, but with many selections of really good quality, you may also order eggs and omelets or make a fresh waffle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzaelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbach
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rebstock
14.3 mi away
Hotel Bareiss
Hotel Bareiss
#1 of 32 in Baiersbronn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
20.8 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Linde
Hotel Restaurant Linde
#4 of 4 in Durbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritter Durbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritter Durbach

Property: Hotel Ritter Durbach
Address: Baden Wine Road - Valley 1, 77770 Durbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Durbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ritter Durbach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradition-Hotel Ritter Durbach, idyllically situated on Baden's designated Wine Route ("badische Weinstrasse") between Alsace/France and the Black Forest, has entered its next historical era. After more than 100 years, the hotel changed into the Muller family hands in January 2008. As a bridge between tradition and modern, a "4 Star Superior Design Hotel" with 87 rooms & suites, three gastronomic highlights, a 1.200 Square metre SPA and 5 conference rooms has come into existence.Awaiting you is a unique and innovative concept.Let the Hotel Ritter Durbach fill you with enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Ritter Durbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing