We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Risor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Risor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Risor
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We got married in Risor in July, 2011. Lunch, a boat trip and diner on our wedding day were arranged by Risor Hotel. Lunch was at a small island called Stangholmen (7 min. by taxi boat), and the place is amazing. The food was excellent and it's nicely situated. The owners of Risor Hotel took care of everything and all staff members were super friendly.
In short, our wedding day would not have been this much of a success without the excellent care and enthusiasm of the whole crew at Risor Hotel.

Tusen takk! Thanks a lot!

Bernard en Marie-Louise
The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpwillems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is the place to stay when you're in Risør, a picturesque coastal town in the southern part of Norway. In fact, Risør is one of the most beautiful places to go to in Norway. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights with our three kids, with another family from Brazil who visited Norway for the first time. We were taken good care of by the staff and they were very friendly with the kids.

The rooms were nice, clean and recently refurbished. The breakfast was good and we did not lack anything, but our Brazilian friends thought it's a little strange to eat herring for breakfast as we do in Norway.

The hotel is situated on a quiet part of the harbor, with a fantastic view from the rooms and the outside terrace. A great place for a drink in the evening.

We never tried the restaurant but went to the island Stangholmen and had an excellent dinner, which is a must-see-place if you're going to Risør.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Bad hotel, bad rooms, no elevator, too expensive, breakfast ok. Bathroom stench was unbearable... will NEVER return

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josephken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

This was our first time to Norway and the decision to visit was a family commitment in Risor. We travelled as a group of 5 flying via Ryanair into Oslo (Torp) where we hired a car and drove down to Risor for a long weekend. The county, or the small bit we saw, is very beautiful with stunning views of steep sided granite valleys with crystal clear lakes. Everywhere was clean, well signposted and well organised. Everybody seems to stick to the speed limit as the pace of life is that bit slower.
We stayed in the Risor Hotel for three nights at the end of May and occupied three rooms on the second floor that overlooked the Sea. The Hotel appears to be the only true hotel in the town with the alternative being Det Lille Apartments where other family visitors stayed. The Hotel is best described as being a simple county Hotel that was clean and inviting. The staff are more than helpful, the young lady that seemed to run the place was Swedish and spoke perfect English. The breakfast was obviously continental with a plentiful and varied mix of cheeses, meats, breads, spreads, hot and cold beverages. The Norwegian twist being smoked salmon and fish paste that I did not try. We did not eat in the Hotel other than for breakfast eating locally from a choice of local restaurants. The twin bedded rooms were clean with a small en-suite bathroom. The rooms were well heated but the curtains and blinds failed to keep out the early morning rising sun and there were no beverage making facilities in the room. When we asked for an iron and hair dryer, they were made available immediately. The Hotel was quiet being located right on the quay edge at the end of the main road through the town.
We were fortunate with the weather at the end of May; no rain, bright sunshine with a 24hr light chill breeze. It was interesting to see young people sitting outside cafe’s wrapped in blankets provided by the establishment. Night life even in May does exist and at one in the morning, one local hot spot still had a queue of locals outside.
The Norwegian people are very friendly and without fail all we met spoke good English that was not a barrier to communication or conversation. Norway is a lovely county but very expensive in comparison to the rest of Europe. A half litre of beer was £6.50 and a Burger and Chips £21 although the portions are large. Consider ordering a snack meal even in the evening and especially if you intend to have more than one course. The only commodity that was on a par with the UK was the price of fuel. I doubt we will not be visiting Norway again. If I want pine trees and valley’s with views I have Austria and Switzerland where the prices are more reasonable, easier to get to and the weather more reliable.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — No beverage making facilities in room.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risor
0.3 mi away
Det Lille Hotel
Det Lille Hotel
#1 of 2 in Risor
61 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tvedestrand Fjordhotell
Tvedestrand Fjordhotell
#1 of 1 in Tvedestrand
39 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kragero Resort
Kragero Resort
#1 of 2 in Kragero Municipality
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel Kragero
Victoria Hotel Kragero
#2 of 2 in Kragero Municipality
50 reviews
24.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
321 reviews
9.6 mi away
Heimat Brokelandsheia
Heimat Brokelandsheia
#1 of 1 in Gjerstad Municipality
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Risor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risor Hotel

Property: Risor Hotel
Address: Tangengata 16 | Tangengata 16, Risor 4950, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Risor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Risor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Risor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Risor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing