We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but OK”
Review of Risor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Risor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Risor
Reviewed 26 July 2012

When you stop in Risør, its for the town, not for the hotel. As destinations go, Risør can be from great to uttrely drab - it is very much a summer place, with events like the annual wooden boats festival, and various cultural happenings all through the summer months.
The location couldn't be better; it's right on the seafront, just the necessary half a block away from the bustle of the hardcore downtown area. Boat people can be a rowdy lot, but they are 200 meters away, so you never notice them.
Of the only about 25 rooms, the real seafront rooms get taken first. There is no price difference, so shoot for one of those if you can. You will find a bed, a couple of decent easy chairs, a TV, and that's it. No minibar, no safe, no toiletries kit; no hairdryer, iron or ironing board - but many such items are available from the reception on request.
The terrace/restaurant is a great place to be on sunny days; not so much so on windy and rainy days, of which Norway has had its share this summer. Inside it's dry and quiet, and the food and service will satisfy most travellers and budgets.
Breakfast was better than expected, containing all the stuff we basically eat in the morning. There was not a lavish display of items to suit all tastes; just plain good breakfast things with a variety of bread and cereals, hams and cheeses, and no doubt pickled herrings if you're into that sort of thing.
Considering that they have like two months to do a full year's worth of business, room rates on a par with Europe's major cities are only to be expected.

Room Tip: Seafront, absolutely, but only a select few rooms have it, so you need to book them specifically and...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank permorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Risor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a old building by the sea and in the sent er of Risør. We were lucky and got a room with a really nice sea view. The service is good and the room was clean. The hotel has a really nice back yard with a nice restaurant also with sea view.
Nice location and service. Average rooms (with nice view if you're lucky :) ).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AneOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Me and my family stayed the whole weekend attending a wedding on this same hotel. We visited this hotel for the first time a couple of years ago. The standard at that time was not particularly good, so this time I didn't expect to much. I must say I was quite surprised when we arrived. I learned that the hotel recently had a change of owner. The new owner clearly has a larger sence of quality than the former owner. The small hotel lobby and restaurant/bar was transfered from shabby to charming. They have renovated most of their rooms. The family room we stayed in was spacious, nice and clean. The bathroom was not yet renovated but clean.
During our stay we had one supper, one breakfast, one brunch, one lunch and one wedding dinner. The food was excellent. The wedding dinner was really high standard, as beeing in a fancy gourmet restaurant. The wine just perfectly fitted each course.
Staff was very friendly and serviceminded.
Location of this hotel is the best in Risør, down by the harbour. This time we didn't have a seeview room, but will ask for this next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Yes, this is my second visit to Risør Hotel, and I must say this has vey good service. The rooms a very quite and roomy. The restaurant is very good, with a good selection, of both food & wines. In the morning a good solid breakfast.

Room Tip: A view to the sea / fjord
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

As mentioned by others; there are not many hotels to chose from in Risør. Still, this is a very nice place with friendly staff. On check-in staff handed out internet access without me having to ask for it. Big plus since on business trip!

I had a room overlooking the seafront, and if you have the possibility this is what you should ask for! Nothing like looking out at the beautiful seafront in Risør (don´t know how it is in summer with noise/traffic etc. - but still; the seafront is the best!).

Room was large and spacious. I had dinner in the restaurant. Ok food, and staff gave very good tip on wine to go with the food.

Overall; a nice alternative in Risør on business, and guess it also will be fine for holiday :). Aquarium just across the hotel, and location in town centre with kayaking and diver centre "next door".

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room (maybe not in main season if you are sensitive to traffic and noise)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsorvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The setting of this hotel is the best in Risør (not that you have many hotels to pick from in Risør) You'r right down by the water in this lovely little town. The hotel and rooms feel a bit dated, but it's all clean and you will find what you need here. Breakfast and food was from average to good and service was personal and friendly.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are going to Risør!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerfectStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I know. I have used Risør Hotel for my business-trips for a couple of years and consider this my second home. I live at the hotel on my trips every third week.

It is small, clean and cosy, and the staff is very serviceminded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helangaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risor
0.3 mi away
Det Lille Hotel
Det Lille Hotel
#1 of 2 in Risor
70 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kragero Resort
Kragero Resort
#1 of 2 in Kragero Municipality
228 reviews
24.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel Kragero
Victoria Hotel Kragero
#2 of 2 in Kragero Municipality
57 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tvedestrand Fjordhotell
Tvedestrand Fjordhotell
#1 of 1 in Tvedestrand
50 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arendal Maritime Hotel
Arendal Maritime Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arendal
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Risor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risor Hotel

Address: Tangengata 16 | Tangengata 16, Risor 4950, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Risor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Risor
Price Range: £126 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Risor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Risor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing