We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right hotel in the right place.Just what we wanted.”
Review of Det Lille Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Det Lille Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Risor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were encouraged to book this hotel in the south after a successful visit to Tromso last year. We were not disappointed. The hotel comprises a number of suites around Risor with breakfast and administration taking place in the central hotel unit. We were made most welcome from the start and the accommodation is of an excellent standard. We quickly became hooked on the fresh bread and the pancakes prepared by David.
Risor is a quiet town (except July & August) and the harbour, shops, restaurants and a super coffee shop are within easy strolling distance. The town is beautiful, with its white buildings and we recommend a visit.

Room Tip: All the suites are available to view on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stampman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We picked this hotel simply because we wanted to break our drive from Oslo to Stavanger where we were taking a boat to Bergen. Risør was recommended in a guide book as a good place to visit on the south coast and there were only two hotels in town to choose from. We booked for one night and ended up staying for two and only just made the boat!

The hotel has a number of individual suites or apartment situated in the old wooden town, I guess it is a "boutique hotel" - we had one called NAL suite.

It is not the most luxurious hotel we have stayed in, other hotels have luxury spas and marble floors, but this hotel was just the most wonderful experience from the moment we arrived.

We were greeted by the most charming young man (my wife's words) who showed us to our suite, which had a huge open log fire that he proceded to light for us. He then came back in ten minutes with wonderful freshly baked Norwegian cinnamon buns, by which point my wife had fallen completely in love!

This was true comfort, space and privacy to completely relax, attentive and genuinely service minded staff. We were made to feel so special, and the surroundings and style of the hotel just transported us to a different era - and it felt like a genuinely Norwegian experience which is what we were looking for from our trip.

Our suite was huge, a full kitchen with some great touches like an original dinner service from a historic Norwegian boat, very comfortable furniture and bed. It also had modern facilties like a big plasma TV, music player and internet.

We ate breakfast at the hotel, which I should mention was served a short walk from our suite, but actually we didn't mind this because they served until 12:00 so we slept until 11 and then had a lazy walk down to late breakfast! It was not a huge breakfast but just enough, very good coffee, freshly baked breads, and eggs cooked to order exactly as we liked them. Again the service was second to none, with the staff taking time to talk to us about the hotel and the history of the town, suggesting places to explore.

The town is very pretty, quite quiet in the Autumn when we visited but an achingly beautiful setting - we walked up to some cliffs about the town to watch the sunset, definitely recommended if it's a clear day. We didn't eat out, choosing to cook and relax in the suite, but there were a few bars and restaurants that we saw.

This was a boutique hotel as a boutique hotel should be - genuinely original design, attention to detail, and most importantly attention to us! We will definitely come back if we can - and perhaps try another suite next time.

Room Tip: I think some suites are larger and therefore more expensive, we just went with what was available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked to stay here as part of a weekend kayaking trip round the nearby islands and were just blown away by the style, character and comfort. We stayed in a suite just out of town and cycled in, using the hotel's bicycles for meals and company. The Sjomanns suite is beautifully decorated and has a cosy "Welcome home" feel with has a kitchen so you can cook if you wish. We ate meals in the hotel in town and they were outstanding and if you like seafood, stop wasting time reading this and get yourself booked in.
I've rated the fitness suite by accident but we swam in the sea nearby and had a brilliant kayaking trip with a local guide who provided all the boats and kit, so, the fitness suite is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveRollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We planned to stay at Risør for two nights and picked det lille hotel because of the good press. We were not disappointed. We had the shipowners suite on Solsiden and loved it: spacious, clean, practical. He harbour right in front it oozed a sense of history. Our hosts were helpful in any way they could, bicycles are free to use by the guests and the decentral layout across the village did not bother us a bit. Rather we liked the authenticity in living in the quarters of someone else a few generations before for a few days. Downside: the hotel really has no restaurant facility so you need to look elsewhere, which also affected the breakfast offered, which was comparatively basic.

Room Tip: Solsiden is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyBerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Arnesen, Manager at Det Lille Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the very kind review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Henriksen Suite! Also thank you for the feedback about breakfast, we now offer a good breakfast in Seilet beside reception, instead of the self service breakfast provided in the suites, we still provide tea & coffee in the suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stumbled upon Det Lille Hotel in October 2012 by chance and as we had not booked in advance were surprised to find that they had vacancies which met our requirements of being able to provide for myself, my mother and my grandmotherin one easy access self catering apartment.

The business owner was exceptionally accomodating as were other staff, we were promptly shown to our "apartment". A beautifully furnished converted period property right on the harbour. We stayed in the Henrikson suite which dates from 1860 and was furnished with an eclectic selection of furniture, some new, some old - all beautifully chosen to compliment one another.
A "piccy" breakfast of kaviar, cheese, eggs and orange juice etc was provided in our fridge and the house contained all other things you might need for a short stay, tea, coffee, towels etc. There were plenty of candles and it looked like there was wood outside if you had wanted to light the Jøtul(s) also.

All beds were comfy and we all slept very well, a very cosy home from home which for Norway was reasonably priced for all that it included but to be honest the views were priceless.

The suite consisted of entrance hall leading to private front door which lead into single room. Access to the sitting/ dining room and kitchen were from the single room. The twin room is accessed off the sitting room. The kitchen can again be accessed from the twin room. The bathroom is accessed off the kitchen - it does sound like a parculiar arrangement but worked exceptionally well for us as it meant my mother and I could talk the night away in our twin room and leave my 91 year old granny sleeping peacefully at the front of the house.

The single room and sitting/ dining room have the most spectacular harbour views.

Most if not all of Norway is breathtakingly beautiful but Risør is truly picture postcard and our experience at Det Lille Hotel just further cemented our love for this wonderful town.

Thank you for an exquisite stay - an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roxibillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Really nice hotel in a charming old town. The rooms are spread around the place, they are converted houses and apartments, furnished with period pieces from the shipping era of the last two centuries. Incredibly well done, spacious, warm and welcoming, loads of room to entertain. I can honestly say I can't remember a more charming hotel room and I have stayed in hundreds! Very hospitable english hosts, free internet. Self catering, which can be an advantage, as the town still lacks upmarket eateries, but go fishing and fry yourself or buy some top quality shellfish and grill. Word to the wise: they don't have a license as yet, so stock up before you arrive. Slept like a baby. The town does have quite a few bars and come alive in the summer season and weekends. The winter season is quieter, but has it's own charm and the rooms have large, cosy fireplaces.

Room Tip: The NAL Suite is great, but they all have their charm. Ring ahead and ask what fits your needs, as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The small hotel in Risør is a very charming and different hotel. Each suite is different, but they all have a marine interior which makes it's very special. They are very well equiped and it's perfect for a longer stay if you wanted to take care of the meals by yourself. Or of course eat out in Risør if you prefer that. The suites are located in the centre of Risør and is perfect for enjoying the town during day-time and in the evenings. You don't need a car or to take a taxi. You are right where everthing happens. The suites are nice and like a small flat and most of the have outdoor space where you can relax on warm summer nights. We have tried two of them, a week each time. This is the best place to stay if you are in Risør.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phrederic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risor
10.7 mi away
Kragero Resort
Kragero Resort
#1 of 2 in Kragero Municipality
234 reviews
24.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 3 in Arendal
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Risor Hotel
Risor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Risor
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Bokhotellet Lyngorporten
4.4 mi away
Sorlandet Feriesenter
125.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel24
#1 of 1 in Sandnes
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Det Lille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Det Lille Hotel

Address: Storgata 5, Risor 4950, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Risor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Risor
Price Range: £135 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Det Lille Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning boutique hotel in the beautiful town of Risør on Norway's south coast. The hotel has 14 comfortable suites each with a unique maritime theme. There are 10 suites in the centre of the town and four suites ten minutes walk from the centre, in a beautifully restored wooden building from 1750.All suites have kitchen, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Breakfast, WiFi and parking are all included in the room price. Bikes are available for guests to borrow, there is an outdoor pool in summer, and boat rental is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Det Lille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing