We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LD Le Flamboyant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hesperia Playa El Agua(Playa el Agua)
US$110
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Golden Paradise(Playa el Agua)
US$49
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Costa Linda Beach(Playa el Agua)
US$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Portofino(Playa el Agua)
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
220
270
107
24
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
270
107
24
32
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was the worst hotel experience I've had in MY LIFE!! Mediocre food and unsanitary conditions in the dining room -including stray dogs!!- and kitchen made 5 members of our group get sick for three days, both ends of the pipe; national drinks that are part of the all inclusive deal are one radical away from being raw alcohol, poor maintenance all around (clogged toilets, air conditioners not working, trash left overnight, beach towels are rags, see pictures), only part time maintenance personnel, personnel cussing out loud among themselves even when children were around, water service unreliable, room telephones don't work ... We changed rooms THREE TIMES and still there were problems!! Yes it is in Playa del Agua but the chairs and umbrellas are available only until 4:00 p.m. and after that the beach is unsafe even with the National Guard stationed right there, so you are stuck inside the premises with the pool open only until 7:30 p.m. and the loudest hip hop music ever until 11:00 p.m. Friends can't visit not even for a cup of coffee- unless you pay a hefty fee. If a non-guest friend visits you at the beach and sits on one of the hotel chairs an employee comes over and asks him/her to leave (embarrassing!!!) Complained to the owner who happened to be there and he just answered "I'm sorry"... Front desk personnel useless... We found out that this hotel has been fined a couple of times recently for serving substandard food. On top of all this, employees are being overworked and cut short of benefits, they were about to go on strike as we were leaving!!! STAY AWAY!!!! DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: No fitness center, no room service, no good rooms!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GinaS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel is not very big – despite the name – so it’s easy to avoid swarms of tourists. It has a wonderful, well taken care of garden.
The meals in the hotel were very good – and varied from day to day, and so were the drinks both in the hotel bar and the beach one.
Rooms seem to be better in the newer part of the complex, there is air-conditioning in the room, a fridge and the bathroom even has a hair dryer :)
The nearby beach is just gorgeous – but the waves can be dangerous.
I cannot say a bad word about the afternoon staff, but the bartender working the morning shift sometimes seemed unnecessarily judgemental.
There are trips to be made: I strongly recommend the Orinoco Delta, Canaima Park and the Jeep Safari. You can book them at the hotel or with local tour agencies – the latter are cheaper and you can use a part of the saved money to tip your guide.
If I were to come back to Margerita, I would gladly stay in Le Flamboyant again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not for families!!! if you like to party and want to travel very cheap, this is the place. Do not expect good food and be prepare to listen to the music all night long. yes right in front of Playa el Agua, good location.The swimming pool had mold inside, very slippery. Not good for American standard!!!

Room Tip: away from swimming pool or better look for a different hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MariMcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Spent one week from Feb. 21-28/2012 at the hotel. A smallish hotel with nice rooms, a smaller but very nicely maintained garden area with a pool. I tipped heavily but kind of gave up at the end as most showed no appreciation ...a "thank you" or "gracias" would have been nice to hear once in a while. I found that the tours the hotel promoted were way over priced, you are better off getting trips booked from one of the tour operators outside of the hotel. I think the best deal and most fun was the jeep tour and the most expensive tour was the most boring, (was not worth the money), which was the kayak trip. Thepublic beach was across from the hotel, which was nice but I did not find it safe hanging out there from late afternoon and on. A lot of stray dogs occupy the beach which broke my heart as most were starving and diseased. Part of my day was spent stressing over these dogs and trying to feed them from restaurant left overs. Also, I was astonished to find the beach littered with garbage which was a problem for the whole island. Considering this island main income comes from tourism, it is hard to believe that there are hardly any efforts are made to clean up the island from the garbage that was scattered all over. The islanders should be educated about the human treatment of animals and by that I mean to try to solve the masses of stray, starving, sick dog population along with proper garbage disposal. But I regress...back to the hotel. Nightly entertainment was dull and boring, aside from that however, I would definitely recommend the hotel for your vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A beautiful hotel next to the breathtaking beach. The hotel is not too big but it offers one of the biggest rooms I have ever seen in a hotel. Each well equipped, with a balcony and a beautifully green garden view. Wireless internet connection works only in a small area next to the main restaurant, but I think it is enough, after all you are on your vacation. Be careful with cocktails- they do not add water like in Europe . Food is good but not much varied. The pool is quite small so if you are late there can be lack of deckchairs. You can always go to the beach which is very nice to sunbathe and stroll but definitely not for swimming- too big waves, too strong currents. You will be happy if you are a surfer… On the beach you will find a lot of people trying to sell you something, I recommend not to buy- you can find all the same stuff on the market but half priced.
Near the hotel you can find a lot of restaurants with local food, a small market with souvenirs and pearls, a few travel agencies where you can exchange money (FEB 2012 official rate 1$=4vef, nonofficial 1$=8vef).
Be prepared that you will have to leave at the reception more or less 100$ for different deposits (TV and A/C remote controls, safe deposit key, beach towel card, etc.). Don’t worry it will be given back at the end of your stay- if you don’t break anything.
Every evening there is an animation show but it is much below average. Also not much to do for children.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piciex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews