We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Was in this hotel for 5 nights in early January 2013. There were only dirty swimming pools, the beach club was a disaster: trash all over, no staff to service, horrible rest rooms. The all inclusive was a joke. The staff harassed me asking for more money, despite I prepaid in September. Check out for more recent reviews see if they have improved a bit or not.

Room Tip: Go there only if have more recent reviews and/or plan to eat outside the hotel. Good for couple, ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasonDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

It's been a while since I was there, but it wasn't that great. Bad food, Nothing to do, the only locals you meet are people hoping to make a buck out of you, almost all bars on the beach that were a bit fun also were loaded with hookers and ladyboys and some arrogant Brazilians,... (They acted like the average Russian in Phuket). The problem was not the people of the hotel though. The problem is that everybody expects top quality at bottom prices. The people of the hotel get squeezed by the touroperators and make almost no money at all. The cleaning personnel is poor and the hotel management did their best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. most people don't even want to see this and start acting rude to the staff, as if it's their fault, Wake up. A Venezuelan kid who gets paid a few 100 dollars per month working as a receptionist does not even have the time to learn proper English. It's not his fault. And what disturbed me the most were the 50+ Dutch people who transformed the whole hotel into a "Little Holland far from home" and were singing Dutch Schlager songs every night, right under my window. You can't blame any of the local people and if you want something better, expect to pay more than 850 Euro for 2 weeks all-in, flight included in the price. Oh yeah, and the alcohol in the bar is also watered down, because I never drank 15 Rum and cokes without having a hangover before in my life. Still, respect for the hotel people, but they won't see me again, I'll NEVER book a trip with a touroperator again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruud p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We've been there some years ago ! very clean rooms and very kind staff.
Beach very close, swimming pool perfect, enormous buffet very fresh and tasty.
Good rememberance, we will go back there on day !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sundari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We went there for a family vacation in new years eve and it was just terrible. I guess we had some trouble with the reservation and my parents were located in another building, 4th floor, we also were on the 4th floor, no elevator, no one helped us carrying our luggage to the room, eventhough there was a guy from the hotel opening the building door. There was no phone in the room so we couldn't communicate with our parents, nor to the reception. Food was the worst part of the trip, and the new year's eve celebration was very poorly done. Terrible service.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This hotel is too far away from everything especially if you want to do some shopping. Public transportation is almost non existent. We had to pay 20 U.S. for a taxi to go to the Sambil mall. There was no hot water and no cable. When the problem was brought to the attention of management, nothing was done to rectify it. There was no bi lingual staff when we checked in at the reception desk, however on following shifts there was at least one. Electricity on the island goes regularly (sometimes 3 times per day for 3 hour periods. One morning we found a cockroach in the bedroom. I would not recommend this hotel whatsoever to anyone from any country. PLEASSSSSSSSSSSSE PEOPLE.... DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS LOUSY HOTEL. .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleigh_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

dont stay at this hotel. dont go to margarita on a chartered flight.dont go on a long holiday weekend. learn some basic spanish . our day stared when our flght was delailed ,when we got there it took 2 hours to get to the hotel,when we got to the hotel we had to pay to check in ,the aircondition was so loud an when on it was very difficult to breathe so we had to sleep with out it ,there was no hot water not even warm it was cold,no towels,no cridit card machine .the beach was nice,but cold.the food at the hotel was awful lunch was recycled for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

A group of students and I stayed at the hotel for Easter. The staff there is incredibly warm and friendly and always willing to help. The pool was relaxing but the rooms were another story. They were freezing and not very well cleaned. The food could be better but the entertainment at night made up for other faults. The overall sanitation of the hotel isn't that great. But despite the faults i would suggest you return to the hotel because of the friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank gr8hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.9 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
11.7 mi away
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
#11 of 23 in Porlamar
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
LD Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant
#6 of 15 in Playa el Agua
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
208 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
2.9 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#14 of 89 in Margarita Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua

Address: Boulevard Playa El Agua, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range: £112 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing