We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here with three other persons form 4th to 8th august. The pools was ok but food was disappointing. Same bland food, with not much choice, everyday. We arrive 1.15 am and did not get anything to eat since we were at the airport from 4.pm the previous day. we went to sleep hungry. The same on our exit. We have to check out at 12.00 without lunch. They told us that lunch was not included and had to pay 250BS each if we wanted lunch. We sat in the lobby from 12.00 to 6.00 for our transport without food or water.

Instead of a wonderful, memorable trip, it was a disaster and would never recommend this hotel to anyone again. I was so looking forward to having a nice time that it left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer building were better and upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Lowteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    436
    279
    111
    85
See reviews for
425
414
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Request rooms near the main lobby if you want wifi in your room
The food have no taste
The snack bar doesn't have a variety
The bar doesn't have premium alcohol
Use the taxis outside the hotel to get around because it's much cheaper

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I've visited this place several times in the past. This time is the last one.
Food was scarcy and poor. Services late and downgraded. Entertaiment lost the splendor of recent years.
Front desk attention uncourteos and rude.
As I said, no more Portofino for me and my family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixiviplix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa el Agua hotels

Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Hotel is quite clean and fresh. Has lovely views. Has varying levels including cabanas on the ground floor which has patios with chairs for hanging out in the evening. Several swimming pools which gives the place some diversity. And the beach, another source of variety for bathing and meeting the locals there who sell a variety of things at reasonable prices. There are 3-4 restaurants and 3-4 bars all free, day and night. 3 very healthy meals every day. And even though it is far from the city, the city is accessible by taxi to and from. Taxi is available right on the hotel grounds. In the night, there are concerts and locals selling jewellery and mementos of the island.The hotel area is like a little city within itself.

Room Tip: I personally love the cabanas on the ground floor. As there is a little patio on the outside where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Riviere, Saint David, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

5 friends and I decided to take a trip to Margarita where we decided that we will stay at Hotel Portofino, not for the reviews but because overall it looked like a ideal getaway. Getting there was long because its on the other side but when we got there the place was nice, staff although could hardly speak English was very welcoming and warm. The beach was right at the back of the hotel, three restaurants to choose from, bars and pools. The only thing the drinks were lacking alot needed a more variety. Meals was ok, snack bar nice. The Ac wasnt real cold just cool. The environment was nice. Getting to travel n explore the island was great. But all in all Portofino was a good travel experience.

Room Tip: Because there is no call services available staying opposite the main entrance is better for wifi or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaleem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

i went to margarita with some friends in 2012 booked through a travel agent stayed at portofino hotel,i must say it was a good experience, the food was good, fresh fruits daily, the snack bars was good, not much choice from the bars for non drinkers besides fruit punch, rooms w2ere cleaned daily.staff can hardly speak English but we got by

Room Tip: room with pool view great to look out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erica834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 5 enjoyable days,one little down side was after getting there about 11.30,we had to pay 100 Bs to get our bands if we want to eat because check in time is 3.00pm. Staff was very friendly,food was fine,rooms were cleaned daily,in the room had one big bed and one smallll bed,expect that,dont think about rolling, lol,
Got 25bs for one us on the bus but 30 on the beach,shopping was great at the flea market,make up your mind to spend alot travelling too and fro, 180 to 200bs each way,so its best if you have friends with you to split the cost. overall it was a great holiday,the pool was great,water sports,I won a competition there but did not go to claim my price because my pardner was a spanish man and we were to have dinner together,what can i say to him. lol

Room Tip: Our room was 231 we got wifi their.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.8 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
7.8 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
19.1 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#16 of 91 in Margarita Island
216 reviews
12.1 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
12.4 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: Prolongacion | Guarenas, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 501
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Playa El Agua
Portofino Hotel Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing