We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a find.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hummingbird Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hummingbird Nest
Ranked #4 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

A gem of a place set in what turned out to be a fantastic launching pad for surrounding activities. Close to zip lining, hikes to waterfalls, thermal spas, butterfly conservatory and more. Nearby restaurants excellent, one of the best only 30 sec walk away. A great location to stay for a 4-7 days. Room was clean and comfy. Views as advertised. Breakfasts different every day (nice!) and always with fresh local fruit. Ellen's recommendations for activities saved valuable research time and all were first rate. Horseback riding w/Lilander @ Appaloosa an especially recommended way to see the beautiful countryside. Kudos to Ellen for her attention to detail! Will come again we hope.

Room Tip: Two non-ajoining rooms that are rented separately. Both identical in size, facing direction, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saabduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A very charming boutique hotel tucked away into lush surroundings. Clean and quiet with beautifully maintained grounds. The village of El Castillo is sleepy but as much activity as you might want is just a short walk or drive away and Ellen, the proprietor won't steer you wrong. She was very knowledgeable and helpful to my friend and I in suggesting the best places to go for the activities we wanted to do; horseback riding around the lake, zip lining through the canopy, hot springs - it's all there! Oh and the hot tub was great. We had a fantastic time. Thanks Ellen!

Room Tip: Two rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'm late writing this, but better late than never. This was the very first hotel we stayed at on our very first trip to Costa Rica (which at this time numbers in the teens). My husband and I were traveling with friends, so we booked both B&B rooms. The owner was not present upon our arrival, but her grounds keeper checked us in. We were booked for 3 nights. No one showed us how to use the "electric" water heater in the shower, so we had no hot water for the entire stay. After the owner showed up, she informed us that she had double-booked the one room, and since a newlywed couple on their honeymoon would be arriving in 2 days, our friends had to move out of their room for the last night. She arranged for them to stay at a hotel nearby, which was basic basic and way less than acceptable. We tried talking to the owner to find out activities to do in the area, but she was not helpful and her only suggestion was for us to walk into El Castillo (a very small town with one general store). After coming home and reading about all the great hiking and other activities in the Arenal area, I was very upset. Our general impression of the owner is that she was not interested in running the B&B and we wondered why someone who didn't wanted bothered with tourists would get into this line of work. I would never stay here again, wish we had picked a different hotel for this trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokulani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

b&b with only two rooms. Nice location though the roads are quite rough. The proprietor seemed superficially friendly and at times quite rude. upon arrival she had to arrange alternate accommodations for the first night as the previous guests were not checking out for another day. curious that she could screw up bookings with only two rooms to manage.

check out rancho margo a bit further down the road... much nicer atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

A beautiful getaway located in the tiny village of El Castillo overlooking the lake and the volcano. Ellen the owner is wonderful, the rooms are wonderful and the view is simply amazing. It is truly a place to go if you want to get away from all the craziness of the world and just relax and enjoy the world. You should not go expecting 5 star American standards but unique getaway tucked in the heart of a beautiful country with everything you need to have a truly enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Located in a tiny village, the nido del colibri is a charming spot to spend a few days in the calm. To access the house, one has to climb a very steep hill for 3 minutes (and that's if you walk fast). It add to the charm of the place. The room are rather small and would need to be freshen up but the fabulous view largely compensate for that inconvenient. The host, Helen, is a bit distant but helpful. The breakfast are great. A place I would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobano, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This little piece of heaven is located in the center of El Castillo, over looking the lake and volcano. Ellen the owner is more than accommodating and makes you feel like you are at home with family. The views are out of this world while the rooms are not only clean and spacious but provide a great nights sleep on comfy, cozy beds. Ellen opens her home to her guests allowing full use of the house kitchen (which is fully equipped) and stocks the room fridges with all kinds of goodies for no more than $2-3 for each item (which includes juices, wine, beer, snacks and much more).
I have lived in Costa Rica for about two years and every time I need to get away to recharge I immediately call Ellen and make the trip to the Hummingbird B&B.
I would recommend this fabulous bed and breakfast to anyone and everyone who would like to get away, feel relaxed while still wanting a bit of adventure in the jungle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
6.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
1.4 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nepenthe B&B
Nepenthe B&B
#2 of 5 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Nest

Property: Hummingbird Nest
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hummingbird Nest B&B)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, private, 3 bedroom home nestled among the trees w/ lush vegetation, immaculate gardens buzzing w/ hummingbirds & butterflies...direct views of Volcano Arenal & panoramic of Lake Arenal...soak at night in the hot tub watching the volcano and sounds of wildlife. We have a spa onsite with holistic services and massage for your convenience. We can book all your tours to local attractions. Central to the village of El Castillo, just a short drive from La Fortuna. We have restaurants close by and many activities and tours to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hummingbird Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Nest Hotel El Castillo
Hummingbird Nest Bed And Breakfast
Hummingbird Nest Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing