We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic peaceful place”
Review of Hummingbird Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hummingbird Nest
Ranked #4 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this place. We came here by night and only saw dark forest and hearing jungle sounds. When we woke up the next morning we were overwhelmed by the beautiful surrounding. The owner Ellen is a very nice and lovely woman

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Hummingbird Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed here in December 2013 with my husband and my mother. We really enjoyed watching all of the birds from the upstairs balcony. This was the only place we saw toucans during our time in Costa Rica, and of course there were a plethora of hummingbirds. The view of the volcano was also splendid, the breakfast delicious and the hot tub very relaxing after a day of hiking. We found Ellen to be a wonderful hostess. She was very helpful and friendly and gave us a lot of suggestions on where to go and what to do. I would add a few more lamps in the room as the lightening is not too good for bedtime reading. My family and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanneavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The plus points...set in beautiful gardens with birds and a lovely hot tub ( very welcome as we had a cold and wet day). Good view of the volcano ( at least, in good weather). Very good breakfast. Two pleasant restaurants within walking distance.
The minus points...hostess seemed to be going through the motions and wasn't very welcoming. Room very badly lit, we were groping around at night. Bathroom tiny.
Note that the property is at the top of a very steep hill...you have to park at the bottom unless you ask the restaurant at the top if you can use their parking (we did, as we booked to eat there).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We got here by chance, the sign on the road is rather small and you don't really get to see it, the path through the wildgrowing bush is steep and quite long, if you're coming from mthe street below and not from the hotel nearby, on the top of the hill, but once you get up there it is simply beautifull. Being october we were the only ones renting and the weather was rainier than desired, but the time spent in the hot jacuzzy in the rain, looking at the volcano through the trees was a gift for the soul.

The owner was helpfull but reserved, we felt like we owned the place and nobody bothered us.

Of course it was damp and the linnen had a hint of a smell, but if you don't understand that it is the weather and there isn't much one can do about it, you don't belong there (Costa Rica in the rainy season) in the first place.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, both great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollantaytamb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A gem of a place set in what turned out to be a fantastic launching pad for surrounding activities. Close to zip lining, hikes to waterfalls, thermal spas, butterfly conservatory and more. Nearby restaurants excellent, one of the best only 30 sec walk away. A great location to stay for a 4-7 days. Room was clean and comfy. Views as advertised. Breakfasts different every day (nice!) and always with fresh local fruit. Ellen's recommendations for activities saved valuable research time and all were first rate. Horseback riding w/Lilander @ Appaloosa an especially recommended way to see the beautiful countryside. Kudos to Ellen for her attention to detail! Will come again we hope.

Room Tip: Two non-ajoining rooms that are rented separately. Both identical in size, facing direction, etc.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saabduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A very charming boutique hotel tucked away into lush surroundings. Clean and quiet with beautifully maintained grounds. The village of El Castillo is sleepy but as much activity as you might want is just a short walk or drive away and Ellen, the proprietor won't steer you wrong. She was very knowledgeable and helpful to my friend and I in suggesting the best places to go for the activities we wanted to do; horseback riding around the lake, zip lining through the canopy, hot springs - it's all there! Oh and the hot tub was great. We had a fantastic time. Thanks Ellen!

Room Tip: Two rooms to choose from
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'm late writing this, but better late than never. This was the very first hotel we stayed at on our very first trip to Costa Rica (which at this time numbers in the teens). My husband and I were traveling with friends, so we booked both B&B rooms. The owner was not present upon our arrival, but her grounds keeper checked us in. We were booked for 3 nights. No one showed us how to use the "electric" water heater in the shower, so we had no hot water for the entire stay. After the owner showed up, she informed us that she had double-booked the one room, and since a newlywed couple on their honeymoon would be arriving in 2 days, our friends had to move out of their room for the last night. She arranged for them to stay at a hotel nearby, which was basic basic and way less than acceptable. We tried talking to the owner to find out activities to do in the area, but she was not helpful and her only suggestion was for us to walk into El Castillo (a very small town with one general store). After coming home and reading about all the great hiking and other activities in the Arenal area, I was very upset. Our general impression of the owner is that she was not interested in running the B&B and we wondered why someone who didn't wanted bothered with tourists would get into this line of work. I would never stay here again, wish we had picked a different hotel for this trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hokulani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.3 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
232 reviews
6.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
1.4 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 76 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Nest

Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hummingbird Nest B&B)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, private, 3 bedroom home nestled among the trees w/ lush vegetation, immaculate gardens buzzing w/ hummingbirds & butterflies...direct views of Volcano Arenal & panoramic of Lake Arenal...soak at night in the hot tub watching the volcano and sounds of wildlife. We have a spa onsite with holistic services and massage for your convenience. We can book all your tours to local attractions. Central to the village of El Castillo, just a short drive from La Fortuna. We have restaurants close by and many activities and tours to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hummingbird Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Nest Hotel El Castillo
Hummingbird Nest Bed And Breakfast
Hummingbird Nest Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing