We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning a trip back! Heaven!”
Review of Nepenthe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nepenthe B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Already planning a trip back! Heaven!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a find! It is way up a winding steep road in already secluded El Castillo, but I promise you it's worth it.

We stayed in the cabinas located just below the main house. They were very spacious and clean. There were 2 beers in the fridge and some popcorn waiting for us when we got there! My favorite thing about the cabinas was the hammock and chairs on the porch where you can sit and enjoy an incredible view of the lake and volcano. It is paradise.

On your way up to the main house, you will see a spa that is run by the costa rican manager's wife, crissia. She is not only a very sweet person, but you can sign up for one of the best massages of your life at half price if you are staying at nepenthe. It also has a hot tub for guests use that we spent way too much time in. People we met all around knew nepenthe for their massages.

At the top of the hill you arrive at the main house where Nancy and Gordon, the owners from California stay along with two side rooms guests can rent. It is adjacent to an infinity pool looking out over the amazing view. It's quite a piece of property. Every morning a large breakfast is served (coffee, pancakes, eggs, sausage, beans, rice, and fruit) in Nancy and Gordon's kitchen.

Despite how much we enjoyed the view, massages, relaxation, and food, our favorite thing about nepenthe was the people! Gordon and Nancy, owners, are hilarious and fun. We ended up spending an hour after breakfast each morning on the porch talking to him. One night, they offered to take us to pizza johns, a friend of their owns. It was one of our favorite nights in costa rica. The owners themselves drove us and ate with us! With pizza johns entertainment added in, it was a blast. Then there is Agustin, the costa rican manager they hired. He is one of the nicest people you will meet and helped us arrange everything we were doing. He is professional, kind, and runs the place great. We loved getting to know him as well.

I didn't want to leave at all when it was time. I was ready to move my wedding that is in a few months there! Stay here! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTexas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    44
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I awoke with the view of beautiful Lake Arenal to the left and smoking Volcan Arenal to the right while still in bed. Standing outside my room was a beautiful infinity pool with a views of the Lake in the background. The staff was incredibly hospitable and sat us around the breakfast table as if family invited into their home.
Very affordable and a great alternative to staying at the Observatory. Owned by retired couple from Modesto, California.
-Wais

Room Tip: top of hill, closest to Volcan Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The drive up to Nepenthe may be a little challenging, but arrival more than repays the effort. On a clear day the views are astounding, both of the volcano and of Lake Arenal, and the aura of peace is disturbed only by the tropical sounds from the nearby forest. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed, the pool is situated to take advantage of the panoramic scenery, breakfast was tasty, substantial and convivial, and supper (on request) was one of our best meals in Costa Rica. The on-site manager, Agustin, and the hosts Nancy and Gordon,were exceptionally welcoming and friendly, helping us to relax with beers in the mini-fridge and happy hour by the pool, and a little effort walking further up the hill brought sightings of toucans and howler monkeys and further amazing views. We chanced upon Nepnthe as other accommodation in the area was full, and we left wishing that we'd planned a much longer stay in this hillside paradise.

Room Tip: Room #2 on the corner has vista windows in 2 walls .. great views and air-flow through the louvred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanandSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryne, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at Nepenthe for 2 nights in march 2012. Because of the area roads in El Castillo we would recommend that you drive inn at daytime, preferable with a 4x4.
But when you finally get there its absolutely worth it! The silence, the nature, the birds and the view is fantastic. Not to mention the owners Nancy and Gordon and the friendly staff led by manager Agustin.
Our room was clean and basic and had a wonderful view. The scenery from our window was just amazing! The massage we had at The Blue Lagoon next door (at half price for house guests) was also one of the best we´ve had in a loong time! The in-house dinner we had was also great.
Pizza John was worth the visit of its own! Great guy with a fabulous Pizza!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarl Ove F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I did a lot of research on B&Bs in Costa Rica and this one had a few good reviews on Tripadvisor. I was NOT disappointed and would LOVE to go back if the volcano ever becomes active once again. The drive up to the B&B is rocky and at times steep - a vehicle with clearance is definitely recommended. (We never actually turned on the 4x4 function, I doubt it's necessary unless it's the rainy season.) The view once you get to the location is spectacular, and for the price of $85 a night, you can't beat it! The B&B overlooks Lake Arenal and has a wonderful view of the Volcano. It's located close enough to La Fortuna to take advantage of the main attractions around town, but then drive back to your own peaceful, secluded paradise. Agustin, the innkeeper, is very friendly and helpful. He made sure there were two cold beers in our mini fridge to welcome us when we got there. He had good insight on what to do and where to go if you were interested in more off-the-beaten path activities, which my boyfriend and I are. When we wanted to be typical tourists and take advantage of the hot springs around town, he recommended and made us a reservation at Eco Termales, a much less crowded hot spring that was perfect after a long day hiking. For the 3 nights we were there, we woke to a traditional delicious Costa Rican breakfast and strong smooth coffee. After our day out around Arenal, we'd return to soak in the hot tub and listen for the birds and howler monkeys. The rooms are clean and basic and everything we needed. I was nervous when I saw that there was no air conditioning, but on the first night realized it wasn't necessary because we were high enough on the mountain that the nights were quite cool. I can't recommend this place enough and would love to return on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhan-Ai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in one of the cabinas for 3 nights. The rooms were clean, comfortable, with amazing views of the volcano and Lake Arenal. We got massages by the hosts' wife which were amazing. Breakfast was eggs, gallo pinto, fruit, coffee, pancakes - delicious. Very helpful host Agustin who knows all restaurants and sights in the area and is very helpful with suggestions. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The pool and hot tub were lovely!! If we ever find ourselves back in El Castillo or near Arenal we would go back here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was an unexpected gem. At the top of an unpromising drive, we found a little piece of heaven. Up in the hills overlooking Lake Arenal, we were treated to wonderful service, excellent accommodations and home-made food to order. Agustine, our host, was friendly and helpful. He even lent us his own phone so we could have Internet WIFI. The serenity and beauty of the setting sun, over the lake, which we enjoyed from our veranda, was just what we needed after a long drive. We extended our stay and were sorry to leave at all.

Room Tip: We liked the cabinas at the bottom for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.6 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
11.2 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nepenthe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nepenthe B&B

Property: Nepenthe B&B
Address: | 100 m east and 1.6 km from the school, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nepenthe B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepenthe Bed and Breakfast is Beautifull piece of paradise located in the little town of El Castillo of La Fortuna in Costa Rica. Surrounded by the rain forest and exuberant wild life, you can appreciate the magnificent Arenal Volcano and the mistic Arenal Lake, enjoy beautifull sunsets from our infinity edge pool or relax in the jacuzzi or with a Massage in The Blue Lagoon Spa after a day of adventures and fun in the area. ** Also, the Phoenix Restaurant at Nepenthe is located on the grounds of Nepenthe and serve a daily dinner menu with handmade food and fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Nepenthe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nepenthe B&B Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing